We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous place for a nice walk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coronado Island

Coronado Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Private Tour: Coronado Sightseeing from San Diego
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A mere two-mile drive from cosmopolitan, downtown San Diego, across one of the world's most distinctive bridges, is Coronado Island - a world away. Developed in 1888 as a beach resort town, and home to the famous Hotel del Coronado, the island is blessed with one of the finest beaches in the world and bathed in endless sunshine. Coronado today is a vibrant beach community loaded with charm.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place for a nice walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Decided to take a boat across to Coronado island for a walk along the beach and boy I was not disappointed. There are small shops and a few restaurants to see and oh yeah the beach! The water views were awesome. I have been to San Diego before but never to here. I was very glad I made the trip. There is a great seafood restaurant there you have to try. Just a great place for a sunny afternoon visit. Oh and the Hotel Del Coronado is there, the place from the movie Some like it Hot! Just a great place all around.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TFish1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,674
    457
    58
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I'd live there if I could afford it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

It's true, I came back home to New York and looked up the cost of a condo on Coronado. Alas it's mostly retired admirals that live there. But perhaps it's better to just be able to visit. It doesn't feel like San Diego. Lovely street of shops, good restaurants in town. And of course the Del for brunch. I enjoyed biking along the beach and watching the water birds and the Navy Seals as they worked out. January wasn't exactly beach weather but I sat out on the beach anyway and just relaxed with my toes in the sand. it's a gorgeous beach. Definitely a great place to go and get de-stressed. I noticed a number of RV's parked in areas along the beach. Maybe that's the way to afford to live there. I certainly will be back as often as I can. By the way, I was alone after a business trip most of the time I was there and never had that "woman alone" feeling. I always felt welcome but comfortable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilynUtica_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeForest, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peace on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

What can be said more about Coronado beach...peace/hope and the love of the open sea! This one of the seven wonders of the world. If you haven't been their you need to put Coronado Island on your bucket list!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Coronado, Her Best Kept Secret.....?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Westways
October 2009 issue, Volume 14, Number 7
Re: Day-Trip to Coronado

Thank you for not mentioning this place on Coronado Peninsula that has an upscale resort, three high end restaurants, a trendy village of shops, a pristine public beach, plus ctaft-beer and pizza joints.
Also, a most spectacular view of our curved bridge and the best view of San Diego sky line between Hilton Hotel and the moored USS Midway. We appreciate your article not telling the public about our little hideaway at Coronado. We locals love it that way.

Cordially,
Jon Le
San Diego

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JonLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice views, great community”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I always have to stop at Coronado island. Nice little community, great stores, restaurants and bars. Go over the bridge into a different lifestyle

Helpful?
Thank mjshog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coronado Island also viewed

 

Been to Coronado Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing