We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Relaxng on Coronado”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We enjoyed a cool and rainy weekend in Coronado at the 1906 Lodge. The property is made up of a main house with a gorgeous and comfortable sitting room, breakfast area and several guest rooms, and a two story courtyard building with guestrooms around a beautiful fountain/garden. There is underground parking and some small meeting rooms if you need something like that.

This place is really about relaxation, though. We are not good b&b folks...but having driven by many times, we decided to give this place a try on a quick trip to the island without our kids. It was a great choice.

Check in is simple and quick. The inn's staff is 10/10, super friendly, very helpful and quick with a smile. The room was large and comfortable with a great bed and small wet bar/fridge. We had a nice balcony with two comfortable chairs. The weather was perfect for enjoying the foggy mornings with a cup of coffee from there.

We opted for a room without the deep soaking tub/spa. But our room did have a fireplace. Of course, drizzle or not, August in SoCal ain't exactly fireplace weather. But it would be a great thing to enjoy during a November visit!

Breakfast -- fresh fruit, baked goods and cereal -- is served in the main lodge and the courtyard every morning. It's included in your rate.

The location is terrific. One block from Orange Ave. The beach, the Del, and all the fun of Coronado is accessible within a short walk. If you have a car, you should never have to move it!

One suggestion -- if the management reads this -- at this price point, better soap/shampoo/bathroom amenities would be appreciated and would really distinguish an already solid place. But that's a minor point.

All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dsethiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Over the years we have found we hit the just right notes for guests who prefer the B&B experience and others, like you, who don't typically stay in B&Bs. We are very pleased you were comfortably "at home" in your Garden Suite. Your feedback concerning our amenities sparked an immediate discussion among we Innkeepers. We appreciate your comments and we thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 671 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014

My wife and I just spent three nights and four days at the 1906 Lodge on Coronado Island and it was the most perfect place we have ever stayed in our lives. The Innkeepers are all so friendly
and the food is absolutely delicious. Never moved our vehicle from the time we arrived till the time we left. Walking distance to lots of fine restaurants and two blocks to the beach. We can't wait to go back. Full breakfast every morning and Happy Hour every afternoon.

Room Tip: All of the seventeen rooms are excellent and nicely furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paullabrecque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Breakfast, the most important meal of the day and one we often do not have time to enjoy. That's not a problem at the 1906 Lodge where we make your breakfast fresh daily and serve it to you as you relax on the back verandah. A nice way to begin each day. Thank you dear guest, it was a pleasure having you with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We kinda stumbled upon this place while visiting Coronado Island. We were looking for something quaint and charming and this fit the bill perfectly! Rooms are up to date and well decorated. The sitting room downstairs is peaceful and delightful. This is far enough away from the hustle of the downtown area, yet it's close enough you can walk to everything. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay again if we were in the area!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shastagirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Stroll Coronado Island and who knows what you may stumble on to. We're happy you stumbled on to us! Our peaceful location is just a block from the beach, bay, restaurants and shops, theaters and more. Leave your car behind (or in our free off street parking) and discover Coronado on foot. Remember to wander back for our for complementary refreshments served daily 5 to 6pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This B&B is so cute & walking distance from most attractions on Coronado Island. I stayed her the night before my wedding for all the girls to get ready & take pictures in their adorable little garden. Then my husband and I had our first married night there. It's was just lovely & their breakfast was delicious both mornings. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Here comes the Bride walking down our garden path! What a treat to see our beautiful bride during your photo shoot. It was an honor to have you with us, both before and after the " I Dos " . Congratulations Newlyweds!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband and I did return for a second stay at this B&B after initially trying it out last year. We booked 5 nights. Stayed in the same room, the Polo Field, which we both enjoy for the views, great shower and quiet/private location. Pleasantly surprised to discover a business center in the main lodge complete with computer, printer, etc. This was extremely helpful to us! Coffee this time around was excellent! Breakfast entrees excellent! Much better overall experience this second time around.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank catladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

We are constantly asking ourselves how we can make our guest's experience a better one. Thank you for noticing some of the changes made over the past year and thank you for returning to the 1906 Lodge. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This place is paradise. We have nothing bad to say about anything we experienced while staying at 1906 Lodge. From making the reservation months ago, it was apparent that this place believes in the personal touch. We checked in and got a personal tour of our room and the property from one of the innkeepers. The room we stayed in, Silver Strand, was awesome, with a balcony overlooking the reflecting pool. I am a clean freak and always find something wrong with a hotel room but I can't say that here. The room was immaculate and well maintained. Breakfast is nice with one DELICIOUS hot entree per day...I was disappointed to see the other negative reviews with complaints about breakfast. If you want a spread of hot food, go to a restaurant. This is a B&B, not IHOP. There are also snacks and wine each day from 5pm to 6pm, so definitely check that out.
The location is perfect, only 2 blocks from the beach and one block from Orange Avenue, the main thoroughfare of the island. The property is set back in a quiet neighborhood, so we didn't hear any street traffic. If you stay in the summer, take advantage of the free shuttle bus around the island, which has a pickup location only a block from this B&B. We also took the ferry to go downtown each day.
We also took advantage of the room package which included a sunset sail and dinner. The sunset sail was amazing...me, my husband, and the captain, who was very friendly and knowledgeable, on a 26 foot sailboat. Dinner afterwards at Vigilucci's was delicious!

Room Tip: No elevators, so if you have mobility issues specifically request a room on the ground floor. The in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JLB_ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

We are so happy to hear you loved your suite and breakfast too, thanks for that. Sweet! I agree with you, our Sunset Sail Package is incredible. Sailing under the Coronado Bridge at sunset as the city of San Diego comes into view is thrilling. It's the perfect way to make a Coronado get away even more special!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Because of comic-con, limited supply of options; but the office booked me here for a couple nights. Quiet, peaceful location and convenient to get to San Diego downtown as calling for a cab never seemed to take much more than 5-10 minutes. Decent breakfast included and 5p wine + snacks is a nice touch.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

The Coronado to San Diego's Comic Con commute was short, but oh what a different world! Staying in Coronado proved to be the perfect fit for those needing a bit of rest and relaxation, time at the beach and great restaurants with no waiting. It was Super having our Comic Con guests this past week!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
302 reviews
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
608 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 1060 Adella Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2908 (Formerly 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#1 Business Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $238 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a truly relaxing getaway, choose the 1906 Lodge, now a part of the Four Sisters Inns collection. Guests enjoy a complimentary gourmet breakfast, onsite parking, afternoon refreshments, spa robes, internet, loaner beach chairs, TV/Cable and local calls. Walk to the beach and dozens of restaurants and shops. Luxury suites have a king bed, fireplace, spa tub, fridge, wet bar, porch or balcony, safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1906 Lodge At Coronado Beach Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing