We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I enjoy traveling and trying new B&Bs. We have stayed in Coronado year after year, typically at The Del or Glorietta Bay Inn. This year was our first stay at 1906 Lodge. We stayed in the Polo Field room. Initially upon entering our room, it had a musty smell but with Coronado's great weather, an open window solved that problem! We found the room to be very comfortable (nice couch, lounge chair and king size bed). Extra fabulous shower too. Windows provided great views from nearly all angles. Location was the best asset. Did have trouble initially operating the TV, air conditioner and our room keys (either one worked and the other didn't or vice versa). The staff was accommodating with printing our airlines boarding passes and making taxi reservations, which we appreciated. My chief complaint...the coffee. I love my coffee and this was terrible (sorry). Remedied that by purchasing my own. Not a fan of the hot breakfast entrees either but hey, can't please everyone! We look forward to a second visit next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We too look forward to your second visit next year!
The Polo Field Suite is one of my favorite rooms for the same reasons you mentioned, windows all around, fresh air and the additional rain showerhead in the ceiling of the spacious shower. When first entering the Polo Suite you may detect a certain scent, then you sink into that big comfortable lounge chair, and realize...oh, it’s the leather!
We brew Starbucks coffee, available in our dining room throughout the day. A fresh breakfast buffet is prepared each morning along with our hot entrée of the day. We hope next year you find one of our entrées hits the spot. We are happy to provide breakfast to guests with special dietary needs, just make sure to let us know ahead of time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    73
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
66
450
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Vastly over-rated. I agree that the lodge has been well restored but for me the positives ended there. 1st impressions count and our first contact was an email before arrival telling us to not arrive before 4pm and very detailed instructions on what to do on arrival including not to unload our luggage before checking in - the tone was such that you wouldn't dare! The "trolley car" room has 1/2 a rail of hanging space, 3 small shelves and one larger shelf for clothes and that's it - for 2 people staying 5 nights this is not enough space. The bedside tables had a shelf - we even got to see the shelf but couldn't use it as it was glassed in like some museum piece. 2 "lounge chairs" could not be arranged to watch TV and the fabric was such that u would slide off anyway.The balcony could only be accessed after raising a heavy wooden slatted blind which made it very awkward. The bathroom was nice but don't be expecting much power from the shower and the 1906 toiletries are cheap, nasty and small so take your own. It is advertised with wifi in room but this was very poor and slow so u may end up in Starbucks. Breakfast - I would recommend going out. We love Coronado but would not recommend this place. What I do recommend is that the owners visit The Spanish Garden Inn in Santa Barbara to get some tips.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
While making reservations we do our best to answer our guest’s questions. We know it is a lot to remember. Our welcome letter, sent 24 hours before arrival, contains information that we hope will make finding us and checking in as streamlined as possible so that each guest can get settled and begin their vacation as soon as possible. I am sorry your experience was disappointing. If we had known, we may have been able to move you to another room and improve your WiFi service. We always do our best to make sure each guest is comfortable. Again, I am sorry you were not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent 4 nights in the Winchester, which was not long enough! We did not want to leave. The room was extremely comfortable. Breakfast every morning was great, with a different bakery item and hot dish every day. Upstairs in the main lodge, there were small fridges stocked with water and space for leftovers. Susan and Lorie, two of the innkeepers, were very accommodating. Our room was very clean and the bathroom was huge. Make sure that you go in the parlor and look through the books that were made up of the photos taken before and during the renovations. It is amazing what the new owners did with this prime piece of real estate. This was not our first trip to Coronado, but it was our first time staying here - it will definitely not be our last time here! I was disappointed that the room was only available for 4 nights of our 7 night stay. Next year we will plan our trip around the room availability because it was so fantastic. We were only there for one evening of wine and snacks, but it was very nice. When I called for our reservation, I was asked our beverage preferences for breakfast. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Go on their website to see all of the rooms. We chose one of the least expensive rooms and it was wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thanks! Yes, our summer nights fill up fast, so it is good to call us early in the season.
No matter how long or short your stay with us, we guarantee the Innkeepers will have plenty of freshly baked goodies to go along with your breakfast each and every morning.
Our complimentary full breakfast is just one of the reasons our guests return time and time again. Another good reason is Coronado Island's near perfect year round climate and beautiful beaches!
The Winchester Room awaits your next visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
211 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were only at the inn for one night, but that all I needed to see the high standards they keep. The story of the 1906 Lodge is very interesting historically. They have restored it beautifully. Incredibly clean & furnished. Wonderful breakfast on the outdoor patio. There is also wine hour with appetizers. Innkeeper Lori was very hospitable and helpful. Also great location - walking distance to beach and businesses.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardenlover31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are happy your found us!
Thank you for your kind review and for acknowledging our staff.
Yes, the history of the 1906 Lodge, which includes our total renovation, is just one part of Coronado's varied and interesting past. Next time you stay with us I encourage you to take one of the many historic walking tours offered by the Coronado Visitor's Center.
We hope your next stay with us is a longer one so you can really relax and enjoy our wonderful town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio TX
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I was hesitant to book a week at a B&B, but I did. From start to finish it is well done. The staff was so helpful. Lorie checked us in and set us up for my birthday dinner so that we were treated as VIP and watched the lights come on in San Diego at a wonderful restaurant at the Ferry Landing. We were in the Ocean Blvd suite. It was perfect for us. We are an older couple so that made it easier on us to enjoy everything. We met so many fun people during breakfast and at the 5PM wine and cheese get together .We did not have a car, thank Goodness. Everywhere we wanted to go was either walkable or accessible by the free (this summer) shuttle from Orange ST to the Ferry Landing. Thank you very, very much, 1906 Lodge.
THE BLAIRS

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlairsSanAntonioTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
A week long stay in Coronado. Now that's a vacation! Nice to hear you found our Ocean Boulevard Suite to be just right. Ocean Boulevard is always a guest favorite and the perfect suite for celebrating a special occasion. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I'm so glad we decided to stay at the 1906 Lodge! The inn was charming, the room was clean and comfortable with adorable decorations, the bed was heavenly, and the location (just a short walk from both downtown Coronado and the beach) was perfect. However the best part, hands down, was the friendly and attentive staff who made us feel positively spoiled. Breakfast was amazing, the inn provides everything you could possibly want for a day at the beach, happy hour has a good selection of snacks and wine, and the nightly turn down service was a much appreciated added touch. All in all our trip was fabulous, thanks in no small part to the 1906 Lodge.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Winchester Room.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
So happy to read your trip was "fabulous". We too are happy you chose to stay with us. Our entire staff is pleased when we hear our guests describe the 1906 Lodge as clean, comfortable, friendly and charming.
It sounds like you enjoyed lounging at Coronado Beach. Lucky you!
Our recipe for a relaxing Coronado day; breakfast in the garden, nap, a few hours at the beach, nap, afternoon refreshments on the front veranda, a stroll at sunset then dinner at one of our many great restaurants on the island. Repeat daily!
We thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have never before felt the need to write a Tripadvisor review, but this place is so wildly overrated. This is a test to see if Tripadvisor actually posts negative reviews. For anyone with mobility issues, there is a considerable maze to go through to get to your room, as well as many curbs and steps. The underground parking garage is creepy and dungeon-like, with an exceedingly steep ramp to access it. Although the beach and shops are two blocks away, you must cross a major busy street to get there. There is no easy way to get meals here. The rooms have a closed-in feeling. The breakfast, as others have mentioned, is inadequate. We went out for breakfast.

A certain kind of traveler will like the vintage feel of the place but it is very far from luxurious. Don't be fooled by the hype.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NotAFlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Our goal at the 1906 Lodge is to exceed expectations, we are sorry we did not meet yours.
We know there is always room for improvement and we listen carefully to suggestions made by our guests.

Concerning guests with mobility issues; all of our common areas and 2 of our guest rooms are ADA compliant.

Our complimentary parking is seen as a real plus by the majority of our guests, especially during the busy summer months when street parking is a real challenge!

Thank you for verifying the authenticity of our Trip Advisor reviews so that future Trip Advisor users can be confident in the accuracy of the other 203 guest opinions that have given the 1906 Lodge our #1 rating in Coronado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#4 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
12.8 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn

Property: 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 1060 Adella Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118 (Formerly 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coronado
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a truly relaxing getaway, choose the 1906 Lodge, now a part of the Four Sisters Inns collection. Guests enjoy a complimentary gourmet breakfast, onsite parking, afternoon refreshments, spa robes, internet, loaner beach chairs, TV/Cable/DVD and local calls. Walk to the beach and dozens of restaurants and shops. Luxury suites have a king bed, fireplace, spa tub, fridge, wet bar, porch or balcony, safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1906 Lodge At Coronado Beach Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing