We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My sister and I booked four nights while we attended a medical conference at the San Diego convention center. My goal was to find a setting that was stress free, close to the beach and memorable. The location couldn't have been better. It was peaceful, quiet and bucolic. The B&B was charming from the outside, with a gorgeous garden and small water fountains. The rooms were immaculate, absolutely the cleanest we've ever seen in any hotel. The service superb! The breakfasts were lovely, especially the authentic english scones. We can't say enough about the location which, despite being over the bridge, was ideal for attending events at the convention center. It took about ten minutes to get over the bridge and to the convention center. Incredibly easy.

We also loved its proximity to Ocean Blvd. There were marvelous restaurants, cafes and the most amazing Gelato bar, Bottega Italiana, that we visited twice. Try their pear gelato! It was insanely good!

We just can't say enough about this lovely B&B. It met every expectation and we will certainly return on our next trip. Thanks to all of the staff and innkeepers for your help!! You helped make what could have been a very stressful trip into one with lovely memories.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the garden rooms but, during our tour, the rooms in the main inn looked wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anighean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Coronado takes the stress out of a working vacation! As you discovered we are a world away from the San Diego Convention Center, yet so close. We’re happy that your 1906 Lodge experience was relaxing while helping to make your work easier. I’m sure our quiet garden helped! It is beautiful year around, but particularly so in May and June. Our roses, hibiscus, bougainvillea, wisteria, and calla lilies, along with many others, are all in bloom.
Thank you for mentioning our housekeeping staff. They so appreciate your comments about the cleanliness of the rooms.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 670 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I just returned from spending a wonderful 5 nights at the 1906 Lodge in Coronado. It is a lovely place with an interesting history. We stayed in the Isabella room and would recommend. Breakfast daily, continental with one varying hot entree/day. Delicious and accommodating as a neighboring table was getting "gluten free". There is a 5 pm wine and appetizer hour nightly and it is a pleasant way to end the day/start the night and meet some of the other people staying there. The lodge is nicely situated within an easy walk to the main street (Orange Ave) with shops and restaurants, and also the beach. The staff was warm, friendly and helpful. If you are going to Coronado/San Diego, you will love the 1906 Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

How nice for you, 5 nights on Coronado Island! There is so much to do in and around Coronado and San Diego that one needs at least 5 days at the 1906 Lodge. Three to explore and two to just relax and enjoy the Island. Refreshments are served at 5pm each day in the parlor where our guests often connect and form friendships. As you said, it is so nice to relax and share the day’s activities with others. Guests are also welcome to take refreshments to their own private patios, the garden, or our front veranda. Thanks for your kind words, and please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My fiance and I spent 4 nights at the 1906 Lodge and loved everything about it. The location was great- within easy walking distance to many shops and restaurants and the beach. This is the perfect place to stay in Coronado.

Rooms: The room we stayed in (North Island) was very spacious and was the cleanest room we have ever stayed. The balcony overlooking the quite road was perfect for morning coffee or afternoon beverages. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The bathroom has a large shower and plenty of room. The large spa tub was another great feature. Overall, there is nothing I would change about the room.

Food: The breakfast was a daily highlight of our stay. Each morning we had fruit, parties, coffee, juice and a special breakfast entrée. Our favorite entrées were the eggs florentine and the stuffed French toast with apricot sauce. In the afternoon we were treated to wine and snacks in the lodge.

Hospitality: The inkeepers were all very friendly and provided recommendations for attractions and restaurants. They even provided coupons for two of our meals. They all did everything possible to make sure we were comfortable and happy during our stay.

Location: Perfect. There is so much to do in Coronado. We spent a lot of time walking around Coronado. There are many local shops and more than plenty of restaurants all within a short walk of the lodge. The ferry to San Diego is about a 20 minute walk and drops you off right at the USS Midway and many other attractions. During our 4 day stay, we did not have a need to use our rental car, so it stayed in the underground parking garage.

Overall, we highly recommend the 1906 Lodge. We both agree that this will be the place we stay every time we return to the San Diego/ Coronado area. We would not change a thing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

“The perfect place to stay in Coronado”. Your kind words mean the world to us. We thank you and we look forward to the day we welcome you and your fiancé back to Coronado Island and the 1906 Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This renovated historic lodge is perfectly located for a visit to Coronado. It is close to many sights, restaurants, just across from the Hotel Del and the beach, but it is tucked into a quiet street, so it's a great getaway. (the hotel is also locked 24 hours, so it's nice and safe) The rooms in the historic portion are very nice, I stayed in the Bay View (which is a former name of the Lodge, not a description). Breakfast each morning is nice and there are areas inside and out to eat (this wasn't "great" food, but nice enough, and better than a chain hotel). They also have a wine and nibbles hour. The staff is wonderful. Super friendly and helpful.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Dulceshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for mentioning the the Bay View room which is located in our Historic Lodge. Each of our rooms and suites are named for either a person or location of note here on Coronado Island. Photographs and art from Coronado's storied past are displayed throughout the property. Ask one of the Innkeepers for our self guided walking tour and discover many of these sites still standing today. Thank you for your favorable review, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I returned to Coronado after falling in love with it five years ago.

This hotel made my return visit extra special.
The hotel is beautifully decorated with some fantastic touches. I stayed in the 'Silver Strand' room, which has a beautiful covered balcony overlooking the courtyard, dual sided fireplace and whirlpool bath.

The hotel itself is beautiful, there is a covered veranda which was lovely to enjoy a glass of wine. The arts & crafts decor is wonderful and full of character.
I particularly loved the breakfast room, and enjoyed a different breakfast special every day such as carrot-cake pancakes!

When taking a trip to the beach (just a short walk) the hotel provides deck-chairs, towels and umbrellas. A great touch :)

Meet & greet hour in the parlour. 5-6pm Complimentory White & Red wine, Cheeses and nibbles. This was a lovely environment- and all guests mingle in this area and talk about their day, or even just where you're from.

Saving the best to the last...
As if all that wasn't fabulous enough- The staff are the thing that gives this hotel a real edge.
From the Innkeepers down to the maids- the staff couldn't be more helpful and welcoming.

We particularly loved Sue. She is a fabulous ambassador for California Hospitality. When saying goodbye you are even given a hug.

A total gem. Really couldn't rate this hotel more highly!

Room Tip: First floor provides a great view of the courtyard and great light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsyking09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

I love the drive over the beautiful Coronado Bridge. It feels as if you have left it all behind as you enter our charming island. You chose one of our favorite suites for a romantic getaway, the Silver Strand. Enjoying the fireside spa tub is the perfect way to end a special Coronado day!
We thank you for your kind words. It is our pleasure to care for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

What a great choice we made. Anyplace else would have been a let down for our first experience visiting San Diego. Our stay in the Author's Study was very comfortable overall. The staff was ultra friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are a real treat. The underground garage is an amazing bonus. No safety concerns whatsoever. Access is easy. A very quiet area except for the morning garbage and recycling trucks, which can't be helped. An easy walk to the Del and good restaurants is a plus as is the bus stop which we used during our stay to avoid traffic and the expensive hard to find parking spots downtown. The ferry is not comfortable walking distance in our opinion, especially at the end of a long day, but the bus made it a snap. One problem we encountered was that we wish we could have controlled our own thermostat. The a/c was way too cold the first night (a phone call was necessary) and then too warm the second when the staff tried to correct it. The room is equpped with a control but for some reason the staff wants to do it from the office. We just had it turned OFF the last two nights and left the windows open in this wonderful climate. We'll know what to do next time if we ever get to visit San Diego and the 1906 Lodge again. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hooked_on_travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

We are pleased you were delighted with your first visit to Coronado Island. Sounds like your vacation was perfectly planned.
Traveling to downtown San Diego is a breeze either by car, cab, public transportation or the San Diego/Coronado Ferry. The San Diego/Coronado Ferry's dock is 10 blocks from the 1906 Lodge. The good news, parking is free at the Ferry Landing!
We regret your room's temperature was an issue during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We Innkeepers will do our best to prevent this from being an issue in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We spent our anniversary weekend here. Our room was beautiful, flowers I our room and even turn down service with chocolates! Love the wine hour, being able to chat with other guests or step out on the patio or garden area to be alone. Susan was very gracious! Will definatley stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momurock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Again, Happy Anniversary! We agree, Coronado Island is perfect for a romantic get away. We are pleased you choose the 1906 Lodge as your celebration destination. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
301 reviews
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
607 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 1060 Adella Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2908 (Formerly 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#1 Business Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $238 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a truly relaxing getaway, choose the 1906 Lodge, now a part of the Four Sisters Inns collection. Guests enjoy a complimentary gourmet breakfast, onsite parking, afternoon refreshments, spa robes, internet, loaner beach chairs, TV/Cable and local calls. Walk to the beach and dozens of restaurants and shops. Luxury suites have a king bed, fireplace, spa tub, fridge, wet bar, porch or balcony, safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1906 Lodge At Coronado Beach Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing