We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel del Coronado(Coronado)
$2,671
$309
Curio.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $362/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$205
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Avenida Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$285
$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loews Coronado Bay Resort(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Cordova Hotel(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$199
$169
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $294/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa Capri by the Sea(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$287
$203
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coronado Beach Resort(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$358
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Coronado Inn(Coronado)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (726)
Filter reviews
726 results
Traveler rating
626
80
14
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
80
14
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree underground parkinghot dishtea gardenwine hourspa tubwine and cheeseeach morningb bsbreakfast was deliciousquiet neighborhoodsan diegogas fireplaceother guestsorange avetwo blockscoronado islandcomplimentary bikes
Filter
Updating list...
515 - 520 of 726 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful property! Warm, personal greeting by Lori. Staff is very helpful and knowledgeable about activities and restaurants. Our room was perfect! Walk-in shower with two shower heads, nice amenities, very nice robes, refrigerator, wet bar, gas fireplace, outdoor porch facing the courtyard.

All details are wonderful. Wine and snacks in the evening and a wonderful breakfast in the morning. Would highly recommend this "hotel" to anyone wanting to stay on Coronado Island.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our first trip to the San Diego area was made memorable by our stay at 1906 Lodge. When we return, our plans will most assuredly include a second stop here. Immaculately appointed from the main checkin desk area, the lounge room, the breakfast room, to our room, Ocean Blvd. I agree wholeheartedly with others who spoke of the underground parking garage. What a perfect complement to the lodge. Parking would otherwise be a daily curb fight with the neighbors. Outstanding benefit to staying at the lodge. Location was perfect for easy walks out for dinner, beach excursions, or strolling the main drag, Orange Ave. Great breakfasts each morning. Perfect way to start the day.

And, I must make a statement on the cleanliness of our room. My wife is so meticulous about the places we stay on vacation, that she routinely packs a ziplock of cleaning supplies to bring the room up to her acceptable standards, once we arrive. The bag wasn't needed here. I think that's a first. Outstanding!

Thanks to all of the fine folks at 1906 Lodge for a wonderful week. See you again, soon!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank JanetnRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Here's a rare jewel of a B&B in Coronado, restful luxury beyond imagination, immaculate in every detail, remarkably gracious and attentive personalized service, delicious unique healthy breakfasts served with ultimate personalized service and a very homey, well-stocked happy hour...and the nicest people own and run it...the Gillingham family!
If you want a top-tier, sumptuous, B&B with more "ahhhhhhhs" than you could dream of, this is the go-to vacation for you...oh, one more thing- the underground parking garage...I've never seen as spotless a parking facility as this, equipped with a personal car-care cleaning station--window cleaner, towels and warm welcome sign.
This is the perfect--truly perfect--vacay...steps from the best beach in the US, terrific selection of the areas best eateries, wide-ranging fitness activities, long romantic walks, and a peaceful, soothing time in another era.
Ya gotta go!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "North Island"room--simply magnificent...Mission style luxury.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Lodge after coming off a two week Panama cruise. I had researched the lodge while planning our trip over a year ago and checked Tripadvisor for reviews. The Lodge was and still is reccommended as the number one place to stay in Coronado. This rating is well deserved.

The Lodge met and exceeded all of our expectations. It looked just as nice in person as it did in the reviews and on thier website. As with anything that is reviewed some people are just not happy with certain things. I had read about these issues and was prepared for them. Here are a couple of examples.

A lot of people seemed to be conerned about the wireless connection in the rooms and the fix seemed to be to ask for a wireless router to be placed in the room. Well sure enough when I tried to hook up wirelessly there was an issue and once the staff were made aware, the offer of the in room wireless router was made. So I put it in the room. However that did not immediately fix the problem, when the staff was made aware they took every effort to fix the problem and they did. It was a simple reset of there main switch. It worked flawlessly the rest of our stay.

Another concern seemed to be that the lodge would not allow early check in, however if an extra fee was paid they would accomadate you. They would however accept your baggage and store it securly while you waited for your room til check in time arrived. This was not a problem for us as I had researched things and it was expected. When our ship arrived in the morning and were waiting to disembark I called the Lodge and told them we would be there shortly and would just walk around town until our room was ready. However when we actually arrived to check in at around 11:30 AM we were informed that our room was ready now and we could proceed to unpack, with no extra fees. This was a pleasant surprise.

Anyway my point in all of this is that the staff and facility are outstanding, I only mentioned these things because other people who reviewed the lodge seemed to be actually miffed about it. These things did not bother us in the least, I cannot think of enough compliments and good things to say about the lodge. Everything was excellent and we have/had no complaints whatsoever. Everything good that all previous reviewers have had to say about the Lodge I will totally agree with. There is nothing wrong with this place.

The breakfast in the morning was excellent, the wine and cheese (they actually present more than that) every evening was excellent. The quality of the facility was excellent. Simply put everything was excellent. Yes, they charge a little more than most, but the old saying applies, you get what you pay for. But even at that the quality of the service and the beautiful setting of the Lodge is excellent value for your money.

We have been to the area numerous times, but we have now found our new favorite and will stay at the Lodge for all of our future visits to the San Diego/Coronado area. Every chance we get we will be recommending the Lodge for anyone who has the opportunity to be travelling to Coronado and needs a place to stay.

For anyone reading this review, do yourself a favor and book yourself into the Lodge. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: Even though you have to haul your luggage up a set of stairs, the private balcony that you get with the second floor is worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Codeweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with my wife and got what we expected - a quiet, very clean stay in Coronado. This place is just a block from the craziness of the Hotel Del, so it's a short easy walk to the beach. The rooms were totally spotless and comfortable. They offer a happy hour every evening in the parlor, which was a ice touch and the breakfast was nice with pastries, fruit and a hot entree. The staff here was very friendly and willing to help while still giving us our privacy.

The room was nicely appointed with a fireplace. Unfortunately the room was situated so you couldn't see the fireplace, so it was sort of lost on us. Otherwise the bed was comfortable and the room had the biggest bathtub I've ever seen.

Coronado itself is pretty quiet too. We had dinner at Leroy's our first night and really recommend it. The second night we went into San Diego because there's not much to do on Coronado except relax by the beach and we wanted some nightlife.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brewertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews