We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful spot for lunch”
Review of Babcock & Story

Babcock & Story
Ranked #32 of 101 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kirkland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot for lunch”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Luke was our server and did a great job! My wife has severe allergy issues. Luke took the time to discuss with the chef what my wife could have....they sourced the chicken for her salad from the main kitchen in the hotel....since their kitchen had used a sauce that would have caused her issues. That type of attention to detail is much appreciated. We sat outside and enjoyed the view of the beach and the wonderful grounds.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Troy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    53
    31
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Luke was an awesome server! My hat is off to him!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

For a place that is suppose to be "All THAT" it was not all that. Except for Luke. The cheese plates with the pears and the heirloom tomatoes were great. I expect perfection in a place like this. The drinks were expensive and we had to send the Martini back because it was watery. The Marilyn Martini was OK, but not the best. There classic Martini was average. Except for Luke staff were busy, not friendly and behaved as if they do not have to do anything to get business. This appears true as they were crowded and its January. The only reason I would return would be for the view.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMarshall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“If you're looking for a picturesque setting...”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

As a traveller I know I'm always looking for that location that really makes a great memory. In San Diego, that place is the patio of Babcock and Story. Picture the sun just above the horizon, maybe 20 minutes before setting into the crashing waves of the ocean as you sip your glass of Pinot Grigio. Now add to that the laughter of all the people having fun on the beach, 20 feet in front of you and you have the perfect memory of your trip to San Diego. It feels like you are in a postcard. I've also experienced this place at breakfast, equally as breathtaking. Find parking on the street, there is plenty, bring change for the meter. Why? Because even with validation there is a parking fee in the area of $13 dollars. Money better spent on a drink in my opinion.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruben-Anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Nl Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great store with lots of variety”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

You can find anything you want here from kitchen items to seaside collectables. Just love it and the prices are pretty reasonable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank goneagain50_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Service is ok but the food is great.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The goat cheese & pesto appetizer with warm bread. AMAZING!!! Drinks are weak and the place is loud but the food is worth going.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mbanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babcock & Story also viewed

 

Been to Babcock & Story? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing