We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Service”

Candelas on the Bay
Ranked #33 of 100 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: Bus stops at the Ferry Landing.
Description: Our goal at Candelas on the Bay, located in Coronado, is to serve the best authentic Mexican cuisine in the San Diego area using only the finest and freshest ingredients. The breathtaking views of the San Diego skyline and an impeccable service make up for an unforgettable dining experience. Menu selections at Candelas range from delicious tacos al pastor to mouthwatering mole dishes, as well as traditional breakfasts, appetizers and desserts. We offer several unique and versatile dining accommodations with an intimate and sophisticated décor to meet your every need, whether it be a date, family reunion or large gathering. A semi-private room for business meetings, tables with a view for a romantic dinner, wedding ceremony areas on the beach, or the entirety of our restaurant are available for any event or happening.
Chula Vista, California
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb Service”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

The view the restaurant has is amazing! Love San Diego's downtown highlights and bay... Which is why we dined at Candelas. The service was superb by our Brazilian Waitress. She would speak to us in Spanish and was sooo nice and attentive. The food was Ok, although not mouthwatering best for my groups taste buds. We were expecting a bit more authenticity to Mexican than southwestern... The restaurant was very clean, nice location, plenty of parking, with great specials if you want to enjoy barside service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChickieCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    112
    50
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Outside dining deck with great view of downtown”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Had breakfast on their outside dining deck. Fantastic view of the bay and the city, obstructed only by a few palm trees. The deck is protected by clear glass panels which control the breeze while allowing excellent visibility. Weather was perfect, so it made a great impression. The food and choices were good and affordably priced. Our waiter, Fernando, was very accommodating with an excellent attitude and spirit of service. We asked for some variations to the menu items and he made the changes with no extra charges. Would highly recommend for casual dining.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Command event at Candelas”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I attended a command event at this restaurant and were very pleased with the service, food, and atmosphere. Located right on the bay, it has a great scenery. The restarant staff were excellent with their drinks and food service. We were seated outside on their deck area along with 20-25 other people in our group. They had some heat lamps set up outside as the evening temps were getting a bit chilly. The food was set up buffet style for all of us to have easy access to it. They served fish tacos, rice, pork, along with all the traditional fish taco condiments. They also set up a large bowl of their guacamole that tasted awesome along with chips. Overall, we trully enjoyed the restaurant, company, and views. I would return to this restaurant in the future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pablo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
824 reviews
432 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Great view and good food”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

If you are going over to Coronado by ferry this is a very easy place to find and have an excellent lunch while looking back at the city. Good food and very pleasant staff - I will certainly go back when I am next in San Diego.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vandieman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Salad, Otherwise Unimpressed”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Not impressed with the atmosphere or the food. The salad (with hearts of palm) was tasty. Aside from that, the food was fair at best. The chips tasted stale. I had the fish dish and asked for the sauce on the side, which may have affected the end result. The fish (mahi mahi) was charred so much that it was inedible. The side of brocolli was undercooked. Overall just unimpressed. And there was a smell when we entered, sort of like a frat house after a party night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MidwestRoadTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candelas on the Bay also viewed

 

Been to Candelas on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing