We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2007

Got the room for 3 nights using amex points of 35K a night. Was traveling with a tween.

Amex said they were going to book us in the Victorian with double beds at a room that was about 300 sf. I was frightened that the room was too small. A buddy of mine also told me that the Victorian had no AC. I called before hand. They laughed at me. They put in AC about 10 years ago.

From reading other TA reviews, I wanted to stay at the Victorian and see if we could get a bigger room.

At the check in. Amex had messed up and we were only going get a queen sized bed in a small room. At no cost, they upgraded us to a room that had a king size bed and a pull out couch. It had to be between 400-500 sf. We had no view but if you looked by the left side, you could see the beach.

It had 2 ceiling fans and a plaza TV. The local think the Del is the only place to stay in the area. The beach was great. The service was great. And everything was pricey (e.g. a hotdog on the beach was $8.50, but wait until you read my review of the cost of a hotdog at the St Regis). The breakfast buffet was about $20 and my wife hated it.

Walking distance to neat shops and restaurants in Coronado. The dog beach is less than a ½ mile away is you walk it by the beach.

The main pool was full. We were disgusted the first day because some little boys spit in the pool in front of their parents. Never made down to the workout room. The deck areas are spectacular. The views are amazing.

We want to come back. Next time we will try the Californian Cabanas.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank miller6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,797 - 4,803 of 5,425 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2007

We stayed at the Del for four days and loved every minute of it. My seven year old can't wait to go back. We stayed in the Victorian building on the third floor, and had a garden view. The bathroom was small but the room was large enough and the closet was huge. My son went to the Tent City Kids club three nights, he loved it, we originally were not sending him that much but he requested it. We booked it in advance, but there were only a few kids each night. We ate at 1500 and Sheerwater, both were nice, expensive, but what do you expect. I found the staff helpful and friendly. Valet parking is $27/day, self is $20, we found valet worth the difference. The pool was nice, and the beach was beautiful. Poolside food is not really that good and it is very pricey. The town is beautiful and there are many places to eat within walking distance.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank shelbywu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

After reading the positive and negative reviews about the Hotel Del Coronado I did not know what to expect. My family and I stayed at the Hotel Del Coronado Aug 5 – 8th, 2007. We stopped by Old Town San Diego to have lunch at the Old Town Mexican Café. After driving around Coronado Island we headed to the hotel and arrived at ~4:00 pm. I was told by the valet service the cost of self parking and valet parking were the same, which I knew was a lie. Self parking is $20 per day and valet parking is $27 per day. He also stated that the parking lot was full, which it was. The new Beach Village area has taken over a majority of the parking area. I let the valet take the car and then we waited in line to check-in. While waiting in line a person was passing out lemonade and another staff person was telling people about the activities that are available for children during the week. After waiting for ~15 minutes we went through the routine but were told the room was not ready yet and it would be about an additional hour. I late found out later that the check-out time is 12pm which I can see puts pressure on the staff to get the rooms cleaned and ready for the next group and in turn causes delays. After walking around the hotel for ~ 1 hour we were called and then got our room keys. We had originally booked a room in the original hotel structure but were re-assigned a room in the Ocean Towers. We were told by the staff person that the room had two bathrooms, which it did not. I think the management needs to train the front desk people more properly on how to read the room descriptions. Anyways we had book a non-ocean view room and were expecting a view of the parking lot. We were assigned to room 6131 which is a first floor room facing the beach walk area. Also you can see the ocean when standing and looking out the room’s glass doors. The room itself appears to have been recently renovated. The furniture, carpet and fixtures looked new. And the 42” plasma TV looked new too. The room has a safe and small self serve refrigerator which you can store a few of your own items if you want. The room area was large with two queen beds, three chairs and had a small bathroom. Outside on the patio area is a glass table with four chairs and a lounge chair. The hotel pool was nice and heated and was never very crowded. I think most people go to the beach which is right in front of the hotel.

The beach was no more than ten feet from the room. The beach in front of the Ocean Towers was cleaner and did not have as much sea weed on the ground as the beach directly in front of the main hotel itself. Prices for food and drinks at the hotel are high as is expected from a resort hotel. Soda $3, sandwiches $8-$11, salads $9-$11. We had two lunches from the café and boardwalk café. We never ate at the hotel restaurants since they were always booked by the time we thought about trying to put in a reservation. There are many restaurants only a block or two away from the hotel which have good food. I would recommend going to Tent City which had good food. I would not recommend going to Bistro d’ Asia. The food at Bistro d’ Asia is not that good. Panda Express is a step above the Bistro. We had a white fish dish which tasted like tilapia and was not very fresh tasting, the orange chicken was not very good and the chow fun noodle dish hardly had any noodles. We had breakfast at the Beach N Diner which was also good. Also went to Island Pasta for dinner one evening too. The pizza at Island Pasta is not that good but the chicken Parmesan was good.

Other than the front desk person the pool people, café service people and cleaning people were all nice and helpful. There is also a resort fee which all resort hotels have now days.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank yojimbo_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

We were at the Del from July 25 to August 1 and had a wonderful time. Yes, the Del is expensive, but compared to other resort hotels we have stayed at during high season, we left feeling we got our moneys worth. We arrived early evening and check in was fast and friendly. We had specifically booked on the hotel website a standard non-view resort room and requested the Ocean Tower, as we did not want to stay in the Victorian buildings. At check in we were pleased to be told we were being upgraded to a full ocean view at our same confirmed web rate. The Ocean Tower rooms have been recently redecorated. Ours was emaculate with a contemporary design. Small balcony. Large flat screen TV. Marble titled bathroom with lots of wonderful amenties. Another reason one might choose a resort room in the Ocean Tower or Cabana building is that they are adjacent to the "adults only" Boardwalk pool. A nice feature for the Del, if you are traveling without children, as it is of course, a family resort. (And lots were there this time of year!) The main pool is noisy and full of youngsters. Pool side service at the "quiet" Boardwalk pool was wonderful. And the beach is just steps away. We ate at poolside, at the walk up fast food pool deck service and at all the on site restaurants and bar. Food and cocktails on site are very expensive, but we found the quality and service at all venues to be excellent. If one is willing to venture off site to downtown Coronado or into the city, more reasonably priced options are easily available. If your ideal vacation is a pool/beach side resort the Del is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Kansasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

The property is stunning. Coronado is amazing overall. The Hotel Del is definitely overrated and expensive. I did not feel the staff was very friendly. They seemed overwhelmed by the amount of guests. It is outrageous that for $450/night ( no view room ) PLUS a $22/day resort fee that you have to pay additional fees for umbrellas and internet. The food at the pool was not what you would expect for this level of hotel. The rooms were very nice and the beds very comfortable. Housekeeping really did not do a good job . If they do not get their act togeter, they will continue to lose repeat guests. I do not see the value of staying here at all. You can visit the hotel and walk aorund, use the facility and pay a daily fee for the beach....you will come out ahead.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Greekchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

After reading many reviews, I almost changed my plans to stay at the Del but I was glad I didn't. The Hotel has such history and the beach is beautiful. We stayed in the main hotel on the 5th floor. The room was very nice with a wonderul king bed. If you are looking for a big bathroom, ask for a different room. It was well appointed but very small. We did not mind!

The first night I called housekeeping because the sheets on the bed were a little bumpy. It would not bother someone else but I would not have slept. Within minutes, someone came and changed the sheets with a smile on her face. She understood!!!

We also ate dinner there the first night, the food and service were perfect. Have a drink on the deck or walk down to the beach and have a drink there. The sunset is beathtaking.

Two thoughts: the summer is the busy time of year. You know that when you go. Relax and enjoy. If you are in a rush go somewhere else.
Also, if you read the card with you key, you will know that the resort fee is for several services and you can use it as a discount to the zoo, etc. At least the Del tells you out right and does not hide the fees somewhere else.

The Del was perfect and I will go back someday!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CandyMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

After reading a number of poor reviews earlier in the year we were a bit thoughtful about our stay at the Del. We were pleasantly surprised with what we found. The hotel looks amazing from the outside. Our two rooms in the Californian Cabana were very clean, freshly decorated and a good size. The beds were very comfortable. Our teenage daughters liked the large flat screen TV . The pool was busy but not overcrowded and the beach was just great both for looking out at and also for strolling along. The food was good in the Sheerwater, very good at 1500 Ocean and the ice cream parlour. The Sunday buffet in the Crown Room was an experience but not worth the money. We found the staff to be very attentive and personable. Appears they have upped their game from earlier in the year. Coronado itself has a number of shops and eateries including a great bookshop. We has just driven down the west coast from San Francisco in 7 days so really enjoyed chilling out here before setting off to New York for the shops (daughters' insistence).

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hopefulglaswegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,054 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $319 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing