We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Even for Conferences”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Montana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not Even for Conferences”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2007

Just want to confirm what other reviewers have said- come, take a look, and then stay somewhere else. Recently had my first stay at the Del and would never stay there again. Actually visited the property in January, had lunch and was looking forward to being a guest in March.

I was there with a conference and it appeared that there was some labor dispute going on from the picketers outside the hotel.

Insufficient staff everywhere in this hotel. Noisy, construction, inconsistent daily room maintenance- and we actually had a very nice ocean view room. Some days our room was cleaned around 4:00 p.m. and then someone showed up for turn down service around 5:00.

Check in was a hassle. We arrived early and the room was not ready, although everyone else in our group did have rooms ready. After standing in line to check in, had to stand in a long line again just to get the keys several hours later (we were assured it would be "just a few minutes"). Had to retrieve our luggage back from the bell stand in order for my husband to make his golf game which took forever as there was hardly any staff with the luggage. The room keys quit working the first night and we had to trek back over to the lobby to get new keys.

I could go on, but no reason. Read the other reviews.

  • Liked — ocean setting
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,349
    1,257
    666
    407
    275
See reviews for
1,515
1,435
111
888
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston-area, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2007

I have stayed at the Hotel Del several times over the years and am a frequent visitor to Coronado. The Hotel Del has downsides: the price is high, the lobby can be crowded and the service is unpredictable. (There is always a line for concierge, for example.) But, it's a truly memorable experience to stay here and I highly recommend it.

There is a wide variety of room types so ask many questions when you book. I've stayed in a small ground level room that was utterly charming, and a plush room at the back of the hotel that was comfortable but had a view of the garbage area. My favorite room was directly over the awning at the front of the hotel -- huge comfy window seat, beautiful sitting area, lovely classic bathroom. (I think it was a Junior Suite?)

Avoid the "newer" more motel-type rooms in the new wing. They are more modern but completely soul-less.

The Hotel Del offers many wonderful experiences: a gorgeous stretch of beach with bonfires at night, a nice pool scene with a cafe and bar, wonderful sidewalk cafe restaurant overlooking the grounds, cozy, dark hotel bar in the main lobby, charming arcade of shops and very elegant dining in the Crown Room.

An old fashioned elevator with a gate and attendant is a treat.

Although we're Jewish, we loved staying at Christmas-time, when elves tucked our children into bed with hot chocolate and a story, we went into the kitchen to bake cookies with the chef and we enjoyed a bike-trolley "sleigh" ride through Coronado. The Christmas decorations are beautiful.

Everything takes time here. Call ahead for restaurant reservations or valet parking. I found them very welcoming to small children. Be prepared for everything (including beach balls and water bottles) to involve an extra charge.

Stay here at least once just to experience it's history. On return trips to Coronado, try the Loews Coronado Bay -- another luxury experience in a more modern building.

  • Liked — History, elegance, beautiful beach, great town
  • Disliked — Extra charges for everything
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2007

Overall our stay at the Del Coronado was pleasant, though a tad disappointing. The mythology and mystique of the hotel promise a bit more than what was delivered. The housekeeping staff were on strike and that definately had an effect on the cleanliness (or lack thereof). The rooms were fairly nicely decorated with big fluffy bed, super comfortable mattress and lots of decorative pillows. Expected the rooms to be more spacious... but maybe that's the Victorian way. The room came with a nice set of soaps and bath products (worthy of pilfering, should one be so inclined). But again though, the bathroom and carpet were not as clean as one would imagine with such an upscale property. But maybe this has been addressed since then.

The pluses: great location. Coronado is beautiful. The hotel is right on the beach (though our room had no view). The staff (particularly the restaurant main manager) were very accomodating to us. We wanted to get a reservation for the coveted, and expensive, Crown room Sunday brunch. He got us in! That was nice. Great brunch. Very pricey, but worth it. Anything you could possibly crave, every delicacy, was served with mimosas and champagne flowing.

Drawbacks: hotel room small-ish, no view in ours (booked by business big wigs who were probably charged top dollar), and very unclean (probably due to housekeeping staff strike -- which had workers outside with picket signs).

Would rank the experience as a B+, expected a bit more...

Helpful?
Thank jetlagnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, MI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2007

It seems that the Hotel del Coronado is resting on its past glory. The only breakfast available is a $20+ buffet (or a stand-up coffee bar/bakery). If you want oatmeal, scrambled eggs, whatever you have to pay the $20. and go to the buffet.
They're renovating and there's incessant loud banging and hammering from before 9 AM until about 5 PM. Don't plan on any naps.
There are no chairs or sofas in the lobby which makes it very user-unfriendly. I guess you need to sit on the floor while awaiting friends.
Adult pool was closed - perhaps that was seasonal, I'll allow them that one.
Only one (of two) elevators worked in the new building our entire 5 day stay.

  • Disliked — Lack of concern by staff of problems presented
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mogul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poconos
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2007

While I've never stayed at The Del, I did visit San Diego during a trip to Los Angeles and spent a day on Coronado Island. The hotel is exquisite and day visitors are allowed to roam it's halls, shops and grounds unfettered. We had lunch at an umbrella table on the expansive lawn leading to the beach and the Pacific beyond and it was wonderful, if a bit steep in price - $50 (with tip) for poached sea bass with spinach salad & iced tea. But, when I was sitting on the sand in 70 degree sunshine in November, knowing sleet was falling back home in PA, it was worth every penny!

  • Liked — The hotel is beautiful and the food is amazing
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pawriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2007

The Del is historic- and I give the company that runs it a lot of credit for maintaining a 100+ year old building as a functioning hotel. It's gotta be tough. The grounds are lovely too. It is impressive.

But - there are many problems.

Rooms: The 1st room I got was overlooking a construction site which was very noisy (we were told it was ocean view). I'm not fussy but at $300+ per night I deserve better. I asked to switch and they did. But they moved us to a closet sized room with a full sized bed. When I called to complain again the manager said all 680 rooms are different and we Don't Know What Beds are in Each Room. Boldfaced lie. No apology given. They said it was not a downgrade but the bed went from king to full without an explanation. After negotiating with my group manager, we got an upgrade to a junior suite which was a king room-- not a suite but it was nice. The rooms are extremely noisy, paper thin walls and doors, but I know it's old so I'll give them a pass on that.

HouseKeeping and Service: Left trash in the room 1 night, and left a rollaway bed in there as well. When I called the desk to tell them to get the bed out, they said that's weird, do you want us to get it? No apology. Again-- train your people on service. Better service can be found at Hampton Inn, certainly at Marriott or Hilton.

Spa: Great!!! Highly Recommended!!!! Very nice. Great service there.

Overall, there were way too many mistakes with terrible recovery from those mistakes.

The breakfast near the patio was mobbed- service was poor (automatic 18% tip for buffet) and the buffet itself was a mess- food everywhere, not replenished, etc.

Pool was OK, but the chairs were stained and when the bar was not open by 11:30 I asked and they said the bartender must be late.

Also there are Many tourists that are not guests that mob the lobby and bar area. Lots of groups walking through to look at the hotel. Noisy and crowded. Long waits at the restaurant. They can't do better than this?

Overall for the prices here that can go north of $500 it is a rip-off. Stay somehwere else. Maybe you can stop here and tour it, but it is very overrated.

FYI- Miguel's cantina across the street was great.

  • Liked — Location, beautiful building and grounds, beach is nice, SPA!!!
  • Disliked — Staff, Price, views, rooms, cleanliness needs work, terrible service, overcrowded
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TropicalTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2007

If you have money to splurge and are thinking about visiting San Diego, check out the Hotel Del Coronado. About 20 minutes (depending on traffic) from the San Diego airport this San Diego charm is located not far from the city but it feels like you on your own island. Rooms are nice and spacious rather in the Ocean Tower or in the main building. The restaurants and shops on site are good but rather pricy in some cases. Come experience the magical Hotel Del Coronado for yourself.

  • Liked — its location
  • Disliked — hotel costs
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank evvtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Property: Hotel del Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing