We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,123)
Filter reviews
6,123 results
Traveler rating
2,791
1,499
827
578
428
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,791
1,499
827
578
428
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictorian buildingocean towersun deckice skatingcalifornia cabanaselevator operatorsheerwater restaurantocean fronticonic hotelmain buildingmarilyn monroefull ocean viewsan diegobucket listbannockmain pooldel coronado
Filter
Updating list...
600 - 605 of 6,123 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2017

The Del Coronado is, overall, a great experience, and its greatest asset is that broad,
miles long sandy beach that it fronts on. Some would say that it is in an incomparable location, though there are other California beach-front resorts that can certainly compete with it. Opened in 1888, the Del Coronado is the second largest wood structure in the U.S., and one of the few surviving structures with its architectural design. The Del is a California icon. And, in many respects, it is very much like California (the state): sometimes too crowded for its own good, expensive to stay at, offering marginal value-for-money, fraying at the edges, and perhaps a tad too self-satisfied. First, you need to understand that this is a "family destination," meaning that it is filled with families with children during the summer, during holidays, and on weekends. Second, it is also a convention hotel, so don't be surprised to see a mob of brave conventioneers traipsing around with name tags for all to see. Third, the hotel can at times be quite crowded, as in Las Vegas-hotel-crowded. This is good for business, but it means that the Del may not be the best place for a couple to have a quiet, romantic retreat from the world. On our most recent visit we had a standard, not-very-special room overlooking the courtyard (not an ocean view), and yet the tab -- including "resort fee" and parking -- was still more than $400/night. The breakfast buffet costs $38 per person. So, come prepared to add a few dollars to your credit card balance. Having said all of this, we nonetheless had a great time. Hotel service was reasonably attentive. And the beach is right there. So is downtown Coronado, which offers a lot of good dining options outside the hotel. The Del Coronado is worth a visit, but you need to arrive with realistic expectations and be willing to spend a few bucks, which my wife and I usually are. If you haven't been, go!

Room Tip: It is always nice to pay extra for an ocean-front room, but you might find the courtyard rooms quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graemeauton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold R, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Dear Graemeauton,

Thank you for sharing such a detailed review. From the moment you arrive at The Del, the beauty of Coronado takes your breath away. Our pristine beaches and charming Victorian architecture have been welcoming travelers from all around the world for over a century, and it is wonderful to hear you appreciate The Del’s history as much as we do. It was a pleasure to have you in our company, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another excellent stay.

Sincerely,

Harold Rapoza Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2017

The Hotel has really ramped up the service and quality. Hotel Del has always been a must visit however now, the expectations regarding service and quality live up to the historical significance and truly enhance the stay even more.! I look forward to visiting soon.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
1  Thank michaelwZ7714OJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold R, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Dear michaelwZ7714OJ,

It was a joy to read your review. Everyone at The Del is dedicated to providing the best service to every one of our guests, and we are beyond pleased to hear we have exceeded expectations. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back for another excellent stay.

Sincerely,

Harold Rapoza Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2017

Stayed at the hotel from 10/16- 10/18. At checkout did not realize that the stay was listed as "No show" for the night of 10/16 . Was charged for 2 nights regardless. I was unable to get reimbursed thru work for stay of night of 10/16 and did not get the credit for Hilton honors rewards points for the stay of 10/16. Made several calls to Billing office, they manipulated the invoice, however it was not back dated and my buisness office refused to reimburse me.. Also, Hilton honors is refusing to credit my account with points for the stay on 10/16. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody and would prefer another place to stay next time.Never had this kind of experience at any other hotel. Also customer service is of no help..

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
2  Thank AKS1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold R, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Dear AKS1111,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Everyone on our team is dedicated to providing you with the best service The Del has to offer, and we are concerned to hear that your experience did not reflect that. We apologize for how the situation was handled. At your earliest convenience, please contact us at ExecutiveOffice@hoteldel.com so that we may resolve any further issues.

Sincerely,

Harold Rapoza Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017

The Del has a storied past and a fantastic location. The shops, restaurants, meeting rooms and historic lobby are fine. The beaches are excellent. Having seen three different sleeping rooms, they are dated, worn out, poorly maintained (dirty carpet/stains) and in need of a multi-million dollar overhaul now that Hilton has taken over the property.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
2  Thank NutmegCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold R, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Dear NutmegCT,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your review. The Del is an iconic hotel with a rich and fascinating history, and we are delighted to hear you appreciate its renown as much as we do. However, it is unfortunate that the rooms you encountered did not match our usual standard. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you in the future for ano improved stay.

Sincerely,

Harold Rapoza Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2017

Top to bottom a great experience. We celebrated our 50th anniversary here. The staff is very accommodating. There seems to be something going on almost all the time. We really enjoyed our stay!!!!!!! Maybe again someday.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
1  Thank maureendQ8096DI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold R, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Dear maureendQ9086DI,

Congratulations on your 50th anniversary; we are truly honored that you chose to celebrate such a momentous occasion at The Del. From our dedicated staff to our vibrant atmosphere, it is wonderful to hear that your celebration was one to remember. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Del for another incredible visit.

Sincerely,

Harold Rapoza Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews