We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,180)
Filter reviews
6,180 results
Traveler rating
2,811
1,513
836
583
437
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,811
1,513
836
583
437
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victorian building ocean tower sun deck ice skating california cabanas elevator operator sheerwater restaurant ocean front iconic hotel main building marilyn monroe full ocean view san diego bucket list bannock main pool del coronado
Filter
Updating list...
5,326 - 5,331 of 6,180 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2009

I rarely ever write a review but this just had to be said. I wouldn't recommend this place to an enemy. I've never actually used the term "Nickel and Dime'd to death" before but this place certainly deserves this title.
Spent Memorial Day weekend at The Del with my boyfriend. Just walking in, it was an absolute madhouse. I would not recommend this place for holidays. Aside from the actual hotel guests with their 2.5 kids trying to check in, there are weddings going on as well as the walk in tourists that are taking pictures of EVERYTHING but were smart enough to not stay here and pay the outrageous prices for decent rooms.
Where do I start ... we got the spa package with our hotel reservations which includes a massage with your daily room rate but when we were checking out we noticed that they charged us for the massage on top of our daily room rate. (shakes finger) Our 2 for 1 buffet breakfasts were also mysteriously ignored as part of our package special and we were charged full price. Our last night there we ordered a mini pizza from room service ... came out to $30 with tip (pricey but whatever) BUT when it came time to check out, our $30 meal all of a sudden jumped to $65. Hmm. All in all, instead of our preferred fast check out through the TV we had to wait in line at the front desk to have $450 taken off our bill ... that's right folks $450 dollars. (shakes head)
To add insult to injury 3 weeks later when we finally get the credit card charge there's an additional $89 dollars tacked on. Why, You might ask? Well, we drank a bottled water in the room and 2 cans of beer. $89.
The also mentioned at 22% concierge fee for having used the mini fridge ... really?! Cause my $500/night room rate for a first floor room with a parking lot view doesn't already include that?! Apparently not.

In conclusion, Worst. Hotel/Service/Management. Ever.
You've been warned.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JustTravelin_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Room was not ready at guaranteed time. Instead of giving me a different room they gave me a key with housekeeping staff still in room. TOOOO expensive. Hotel is very old and somewhat run down.
Room was large and comfortable. Nice large bathroom and closet. Sunday brunch is over $70.00 per person. Hotel grounds are beautiful. Cottages are beautiful. This is nice hotel for elite, monied crowd, not for the average joe, especially in this economy. Strangely, hotel is very crowded.
Parking is $25.00 a day for guests!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Great experience in a great location. Service was great except that they were not flexible with early check-in. Great place to walk around and relax. I really like Coronado Island. Good Food. I love the history of this hotel. Now the rooms may sincerely benefit from some upgrades and ammenities. I hope that they continue to take care of it so it is there for more decades to come.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxana5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

This trip to California and the National Parks with our friends was the last on the bucket list., After 2 weeks on the road, we were ready to be spoiled for a couple of days before flying home. Imagine the scene, and our feelings, as we arrived from Palm Springs at 12 noon on Mothers Day! When the parking valet knew we were checking in, he cleared a space in the traffic jam at the door, whisked away our bags and gave us complimentary valet parking. We were quickly registered and into our rooms, only to find that one had a garden view with a balcony and the other a view over the staff car park at the side. No trouble: our friends were given the room next to ours as soon as it had been cleaned.
Both rooms were immaculate, well-maintained and sympathetically decorated, just like the whole building. I was very impressed with the way modern services e.g. wiring, plumbing, air-con etc had been installed without spoiling the original fabric of the buiding. Yes, the rooms were small by modern American standards. What on earth do people expect? Try some top London hotels and you will realise what a gem this place is.
The staff were all friendly and helpful, even in the midst of the Mothers Day mayhem. It must be said that the whole experience felt a bit like a Night at the Museum, what with the hordes of day visitors, but it all helped to create a unique memory.
No, we didn't eat in. There's a great diner for breakfast on Orange Avenue, and we celebrated our friends' Ruby Wedding at Brigantine. Yes, of course there had to be a reason for our stay at the Del, and what better place to celebrate an anniversary.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanPEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Checked in to the Hotel Del Coronado with very high expectations. The website shows a glamorous, beautiful, pamering hotel. When we arrived we saw chipped paint, old carpeting, and a very run down property. Our room (in the "beach towers") reminded me of old Holiday Inn Hotels. Truly...it was NOTHING special and the price was outrageous given the poor condition of the property and our room. The location was fantastic and the town of Coronado was really nice. But the "Del" fell very, very short of our expectations. We planned to stay for four days and checked out after only one night. It was THAT disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews