We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this hotel!”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I loved this hotel!”
Reviewed December 5, 2008

I absolutely loved this hotel! I only had one night's stay there and i wish i could have stayed longer to see alot of more of the place.Check in and check out took a while which is my only fault, there could have been more staff on.But i was early for check in about 11:30am and didn't expect my room to be ready,but to my surprise it was and i was shown to my room and my luggage taken on a trolley by a very friendly and informative porter.I got to ride in the very old elevator just once as it was bigger than the other one and i had luggage.But otherwise i used the smaller elevator to get about to my room and to the lobby etc.Which is another thing i must mention,the hotel is quite extensive yes and i didn't get to see it all in my one day but i would not agree with another reviewer by saying it's abit of a walk or a trek for disabled people to get around.I think it's very easy to get to know your way around within the first few minutes and it is all flat.I particularly took note of this during my stay because i will be bringing my Mum here next time and she uses a wheelchair.I was very happy to see the ramp at the side of the building for wheelchair users as i had not heard there was one before seeing it myself.
My room was lovely and i had a balcony looking out to the gardens! It was a dream come true to stay here because of the movie Some Like It Hot and i don't have one bad word to say about this place.The beach is just beautiful! I will be back here for sure!

  • Liked — The beach and the gardens
  • Disliked — slow check out
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,405
    1,284
    681
    411
    279
See reviews for
1,547
1,474
116
904
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

My wife and I had stayed at the Del in the past, and we loved it. The hotel is very beautiful and our rooms have always been very clean

We have three very young children and we needed a break. My mom offered to watch the kids, so we decided to stay at the Hotel for one night. We were looking forward to sleeping in since our children wake us up very early every single morning.

Everything was wonderful until 5AM. The hotel staff was so noisy it was almost comical. They kept walking by our room with their rolling cart. Each time they would pass by their cart would make a crashing noise as it rolled over an uneven portion of the walkway. Soon the noise stopped and several staff members started talking and laughing very loudly right out front of our room. This continued for some time, and it ruined our chance to sleep in until.....7:00AM. We would have been better off staying at home.

Upon checkout I mentioned the problem I had with the front desk clerk. She told me to fill out a card and mail it in. I mailed it in and management didn't even send a courtesy response. At the minimum, they could have told me they were sorry about the conduct of their staff.

We spent hundreds of dollars during our visit, and we feel let down by the hotels management. I am also irritated that they had me spend the time to fill out their survey, and then they ignored it completely.

I don't know if we will ever stay at the hotel again because of what happened. It's amazing how poor management and lack of simple communication can cause ill feeling.

At this point we would rather try a different hotel than risk this happening to us again.

  • Liked — Clean room and beautiful hotel. Perfect location
  • Disliked — Hotel Management.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank beans000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

The Hotel Del Coronado was the perfect place for a girlfriend getaway! Although it's not inexpensive and there are mixed reviews, this is somewhere you have to stay at least once in your life.

Both the property and location are exceptional. You will love to walk on the beautiful sand and enjoy the picturesque beach scene. And, you absolutely must indulge in the Sunday Brunch.

For the price, I expected a higher level of service. That being said, I don't regret the investment, as the memories were worth every penny!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2008

Way too expensive. Really nice but very expensive for a ho-hum room. food was great, but service is stiff and so expensive. In the off season, pools are closed and you have to hike all around the place to get to pool, hot tub, gym etc. It is very nice and you feel like you
are donating to keep the place alive, but everything was just out of sight expensive. Not even a frig in the $550+ room! Nice beach, but too cold to sit on it. We walked and swam and relaxed in our room. The around the pool scene is too stiff and formal and creapy for us. To rent a bike was $10 per hour! helmet extra. Nothing is included in the room rate and you pay for the resort fee even if you don't use it. If you have money to burn ok for you. If you work for a living I don't see how you can afford such a place and you probably won't be comfortable there either.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank nottoorich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Obviously the hotel is nice with a historic charm to it, in a great beach setting. However, for the price paid for EVERYTHING, we expected a lot more. The cost of the room, the food, the drinks, the ice cream and the parking was crazy for what we got. Nothing stood out as being fantastic and worth the price. There seemed to be a major shortage in staff, and overall we felt the quality in the room, the food and the staff to be very poor. Our room was in need of a deep cleaning, and took 20min to get any hot water. I don't think we had a single staff member say hello to us, and there was no staff cleaning tables on the decks, or cleaning around the pool area. Not sure if we would ever go back. But it has been one of the very few places we have been able to find where my husband could surf while the kids and I enjoyed the pool.

  • Liked — beach theme
  • Disliked — in need of renovation
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinterEscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

I am a travel agent so I have stayed in many a beautiful place but this was not only a piece of history it was romantic and beautiful at the same time. We where upgraded to an ocean front room with two double beds for my daughters and I. the room was not glitzy but very, very nice and large enoguht for the three of us,. Our patio was right on the walk way and the beach was just in front of that. Breathtaking. I did find the food very high priced but if you have the time the local area, just a few blocks away offers all sorts of dining options at half the cost. My girls, teenagers , tried the surfing group lesson and loved that. We alos rented bikes and you can get a good feel of the island in about 1.5 hours. We had a blast. The beach is huge and great to walk on. The only complaint we had was the fighter jets that fly over head about every 1/2 hour. But that is the cost of our safty. At sunset we went up on the deck and ordered drinks. The staff then came and lit the fires pits at each sitting are had and it was so beautiful.
The hotel is huge so be prepared to walk some but you discover something new at every turn. If you are handicapped I would think about that before you get your room or you may be in for a stuggle.The staff was great, concierge helpful. I did find room service with a 22% plus 10% gratuties plus 5.00 delivery charge way to high for them to then ask for a tip but I guess that is at every hotel. I think this area and hotel is the perfect place to see the area and would send clients again in a snap. Request room 4122.
What a perfect weekend.
Thank you Del Coronado

  • Liked — The view was to die for and the location of the resort was wonderful
  • Disliked — alot of walking to get from place ot place. It took us 20 minutes to find out room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atravelagtfor25yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2008

I stayed in this hotel from Nov 3-6 for a work convention. From check-in to check-out it was disappointing. Check in was extremely slow, which I can somewhat understand due to the amount of our group. The room was horrendous, we literally NEVER had hot water, and when we called down to express that, they said that maybe everyone was taking showers at the same time!!! That is your excuse? We took showers at different times that week, and never had even a luke warm shower. The maid service was terrible, not refilling items, and one day a rug appeared in our bathroom that looked used and dirty. The view is nice, but I think the hotel itself has gone downhill. I have traveled extensively around the world, and feel that I am a fairly good judge of service, and try to give things a second chance. This hotel will not be on my list for a return visit.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — hotel rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtravelbug123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Property: Hotel del Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing