We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Visit!”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at Hotel del Coronado for a work trip. The rooms are very nice and my particular room had a great view of the beach. The grounds of the hotel are very well maintained and immaculate. You have very easy beach access from the hotel. The hotel is well... obviously on Coronado Island which is a quick trip from San Diego Int'l Airport. Room service was great. Overall service was great! Make sure to watch their channel and learn more about why they say some of the rooms might be haunted... pretty neat stuff.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justadude1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Del and our beachfront location. We appreciate your recognition of our exceptional staff and hope to welcome you back again, be it for business again or leisure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,772 - 2,778 of 5,489 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

This should be a place to stay on anyone's bucket list. It is truly magical.. My husband and I got married at the del so we went back for long weekend. It is always special the people are always so friendly and can not do enough for you. the grounds are beautiful and the ocean is you backyard, If you go stay in the victorian building and try the elevator in the main building is great and fun..Also et the bed and breakfast package is's a wonderful value

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacque H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

We are thrilled that you selected The Del for your wedding and returned to celebrate! The resort has a long history of romance and you’re now a part of it. We look forward to welcoming you back in the years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed with friends in the area and moved over to the Del for our last two nights. We booked the lowest room type in the main building, but our travel agency is a Virtuoso member which gives an room upgrade (if available in same building) and daily breakfast. Our room (3238) had a large bay window with a sitting area and partial view of the water. Knowing the history and hotel's age, I was expecting a tired grand dame, but was absolutely amazed at the well kept facilities and outstanding service. We had lunch at the patio self service cafe with a little sticker shock ($4.50 iced tea), and quickly discovered lots of good restaurant options within a few blocks of the hotel (Leroys Kitchen for burgers and homemade fries) without resort pricing. The breakfast was lavish and not something we would have purchased, but a treat as in inclusion. We also booked at the "Del Perks" package which gave us a daily resort credit (which we used for the spa-wonderful) and waived the daily resort fee (parking and such). The last night we met our friends at Peohe's restaurant (drive or taxi) for fabulous Lobster Bisque and otherwise okay food and dated interior but a lovely view of the SD skyline. The Del is in a league of it's own, and it was truly a pleasure to enjoy the facilties with amenities that made it affordable for us. We left wishing we had ponyed up and stayed longer - it's all that and a bag of chips.

Room Tip: Book with a Virtuoso Travel Agency for possible upgrade and free breakfast, and look for seasonal De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LikesAShadyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with others online. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the Virtuoso perks. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My wife and I were in the area for a wedding. We hadn't stayed at "The del" in years, but were very pleased to find that the physical plant, fine food and great service were still at the "top of the heap".

Room Tip: Worth "paying up" for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our family has stayed at Hotel Del Coronado in the past. Each visit has been wonderful. Every employee we encountered during our stay was polite, patient, kind and offered wonderful service. We happened to be there over Easter, which was very busy. However, the staff runs the hotel like a well oiled machine. As employees, it must be difficult to deal with so many people at one time, and from so many different countries! However, they made it look easy! Hats off to all who deal with the crazy, demanding tourists!!! (Yes, we are all on vacation, but that doesn't give us carte blanche to be inconsiderate .)
Upon check-in we were asked if this was a special occasion trip for us. When we told them it was a long overdue Anniversary trip, a bottle of champagne was delivered to our room, on the house! A personal touch and kind gesture that won't be forgotten.
Activities...Yoga on the beach...awesome!! Also, plenty of room to run, ride bikes and enjoy 360 degree views that will take your breath away! Next time we visit, surfing lessons, for sure.

In response to some reviews that the hotel looked dirty and worn...well...maybe. However, lets look at a few factors. #1. The Hotel is on the beach. Anyone owning beach property should understand that there are factors, beyond control ( sand, salt, humidity) that age and wear property. I believe the hotel does a good job trying to keep up with said factors. #2 Thousands of careless tourists trample over this historical hotel on a daily basis. Constant cleaning is in progress all over the hotel. Maybe, a little more consideration on the part of the guests, would be a helpful remedy.
#3. Yes, the hotel does look dated. It is supposed to. It has been there since the 1800's. Instead of thinking that the carpet looks dated...go downstairs and read the history of this beautiful treasure, and appreciate.
We will be back as often as possible:) Thank you to ALL Del employees ( reception, concierge, grounds, restaurants, bars, cleaning, activities, fitness, pool, shop employees...) your work, patience, consideration and kindness were noticed!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful and thoughtful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and will be sure to share them with our team. We strive to provide legendary service and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

just like that wonderful movie of the 80's with Christopher Reeve, Jane Seymour, and Christopher Plummer....this place is sooo romantic. A little bit expensive but it worth it. Food is good and the hotel at itself is just breathtaking.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank DianaPrince70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. Richard Matheson, author of Bid Time Return (upon which “Somewhere in Time” was based, spent many weeks at The Del and used it as the backdrop for his 1975 novel. We hope to welcome you back to the romance soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We spent a week there the last two summers. The condos allow for a very relaxed vacation. The Windsor cottage is lovely for the morning breakfast and evening cocktail or dinner around the fire pits. Everyone is gracious beyond compare. It's a location that can't be beat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMO92000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for choosing Beach Village and sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor. We take great pride in delivering a genuine hospitality with well-placed amenities and services available exclusively to Beach Village guests. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,058 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $325 - $671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing