We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice one time experience...Upgrade to Ocean View was the best!”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
248 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A nice one time experience...Upgrade to Ocean View was the best!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I just returned from 4 nights at the Hotel Del with my husband and 1 of my children (age 10.) We had a nice time. It wasn't the greatest vacation, but it was a good. I had wanted to stay at Hotel Del for years, so it was fun for the 1 time experience. The hotel itself, has a beautiful old worlds exterior and it sits on a very nice beach. We had booked a Victorian Room (for $289 on a promo rate- incl breakfast, resort fee and parking) which would have made for a very poor experience. When we checked in and realized this, I asked about an upgrade. We were offered an Ocean View room on the 5th floor of the new building (the tower?) for $100, and after saying "no, thank you" to spending that much more, the very nice and accommodating front desk agent said that she could do it for $25 a night! The view from the 5th floor room was incredible! The building, from the outside, doesn't look very nice. But the room was nicely decorated and comfortable. Needless to say, the weather was cooler than expected, and we spent a lot of time in our room and on our balcony, enjoying the beach! The breakfast buffet was good, not great. There was a lot to choose from, but it's not the high quality that you may find in a 5 star hotel. The pool is nice for kids , but you cannot see the ocean from it. We really enjoyed morning walks on the beach. When we looked up the price for the room we were in, it was in the $700's. I would not advise that anyone spend near this to stay at this hotel (it's not the Ritz/Four Seasons experience), but for the low price we paid, I would recommend it for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Ocean view upgrade at check in (they can do it for $25/night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WKCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you had the opportunity to stay at The Del and experience much of what the resort has to offer. We hope you and your family return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,401
    1,283
    681
    411
    279
See reviews for
1,544
1,472
116
904
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

You cannot ask for a better beach location. I stayed here for a work conference with my 13 year old son. We stayed in the ocean towers. It is separated from the main hotel and was a little underwhelming. The room was clean but average. If it wasn't for the proximity to the ocean, I could not justify the cost.
We ate at Sheerwater for my sons birthday. The service was great. Our waiter, Manny, was very good. I had the scallops and my son had the sea bass. Both were delicious. We made reservations and sat outside with a great view of the ocean. We picked up ice cream twice at the ice cream shop and it was great. We left the hotel (walking distance) and found other great places to eat that are more reasonable than hotel restaurants.
Again, the location is great and the view is amazing. Try and stay in the main hotel if possible.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed one of the Best Beaches in America and chose to celebrate your son’s birthday at Sheerwater. We appreciate your praise of Manny and will share your review with him. We hope you return again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We look forward each year to returning at least once (and often more than once each year) to the Del. It is a special place for us since we first honeymooned there 38 years ago. Over the years, we have watched the Del prosper and struggle with the times, economy and ownership. We love and value historical properties and understand the difficulties they present the management. Keeping a 125 year old hotel operating is simply a daunting task, and the current ownership and management do a great job.

Conventions and business/proffesional meetings are the lifeblood of this type of facility. Unfortuantely, many and perhaps most of those attending seem to exhibit only a brief and passing appreciation for the history of the hotel and do not care to be intimate with the experience of the hotel itself. Also, we notice that fewer individual guests really appreciate the nature of this building. It seems that we now have a couple of generations that want "instant" and "new" and the intricate woodwork and craftsmentship has been discribed as "dated" by many tripadvisor reviewers. How sad that they cannot appreciate the historical nature and aspect of this place!

In response, managment has changed a few things and the cost of those changes is an "upgrading" that tends to strip away a little of the natural and traditional character of the place. That accomodation to change is unfortunately the price of our modern society.

Not many need some of the services that were once offered in the grand lobby. Not many enjoy just "people watching" from a magnificent chair in that lobby. And so, management responds as it must, but what a shame that so many miss so much.

This is true not only of the Del but of historical properties all over our nation. We have become a society that can only think of now with litte regard for "back then". And the Hotel Del Coronado must reflect that attitude at least a bit if it is to survive.

We enjoy our visits to this property more than anywhere else we go in North America. We find the staff excellent, the rooms great (within the context of what and where they are and have beeen) and just hope that we will continue to have the opportunity to enjoy this marvelous place for years to come. We have a special, continuing request each year and the hotel has always been kind to accomodate us.

Our congratulations to the owner, the management of the staff (many of whom we have seen for many years and look forward to seeing on each visit) in preserving this great piece of Americana for all to enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your eloquent and thoughtful review! The Del has a long history of romance and we’re so pleased that you’re a part of it and truly appreciate its historic ambiance. As we strive to provide legendary service, we appreciate your recognition of our great staff and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just spend the weekend here with the family. We booked 2 rooms in the Ocean Tower. The service at this hotel has gone down considerably. We made a reservation for 2 rooms through the hotel with ocean front views. Upon arrival, they did not show record of the second room so we had to be separated on different floors. We checked in late and called operator to find out when the pizza restaurant would close. They told us 11pm and when we hurried to arrive at 10:30, we were told that they were already closed and that the operator should not have told us that they close at 11pm.
The rooms are average for the price of the rooms. Sheerwater restaurant was consistently good. The resort has a very "Disney" atmosphere and can get quite crowded and noisy. The resort fee came to $25 and the room tax is 10%....which was $52 for our room.
I'm pretty sure I won't be coming back here again. If I'm in the Coronado area again, I will probably book Lowes or Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your dining experience at Sheerwater. We apologize for the reservation issues you encountered and inconvenience. We also apologize for the miscommunication—ENO is open from 5-10pm Tuesday through Saturday with extended hours in the summer. We hope you reconsider returning to The Del so we can provide the legendary service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Del for Spring Break. Our kids wanted to go to the beach so we thought it would be the perfect location. Before we went I saw that they had recently changed their policy to allow pets. My sons are highly allergic to dogs so I called reservations to let them know of my concerns. At that time I was told pets were only allowed in the cabana building and our room was in the Ocean Towers so we would have no problems. We spotted a dog on the neighboring balcony on day 5 of our trip. We called the Front desk to inquire about the pet policy again. This time we were told pets are allowed anywhere and everywhere in the hotel but they did make a note on the reservation. Not fun for kiddos when they can't breathe. Megan at the front desk gave us a fraction of a night's rate refund to help make up for their lying. Our coastline view room had a view of the ocean, the condos next door, the bay, the dumpsters, and the adult pool. When we looked at the adult pool we were disgusted by how much bird poop there was all over the pool deck. It looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months. In fact, when they did start cleaning it, I guess to get ready for the weekend, it took them 3 days of pressure washing just to get the poop off. Housekeeping was also an issue. The room was poorly cleaned and in fact we had no toilet paper. I had to call several times over the course of 3 hours just to receive another roll. I guess they want guests to start bringing their own. We ordered room service one evening. For one cheeseburger and one kids order of mac and cheese, it was $55! Apparently they charge a 22% surcharge and a $5.50 trip fee. When the man who delivered our room service was standing there hoping for a tip, my husband asked him if the tip was included in the 22%. He hemmed and hawed and did not want to answer. Our room was on the 5th floor and we experienced a lot of outdoor noise. One morning we were awakened at 7:30 by landscapers trimming the palm trees and then running what sounded like a wood chipper. The walls were also very thin so you can hear your neighbors conversations just as if you were in the room with them. For the amount of money this hotel charges they should provide better service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azbeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for the miscommunication you received regarding our new pet-friendly service at The Del. While we try to accommodate our Del Dogs & Cats in the California Cabanas, it’s not always possible given guest requests. Each room is deep cleaned by Steritech after a pet has checked out. However, your sons’ allergy should have been notated on your reservation so we could ensure that you were quite distant from a pet. We will also share your review with our housekeeping management and apologize for the unacceptable service issues you encountered. We appreciate your valuable input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We visited in September 2012 the weekend after Labor Day. Beautiful weather, although warm for San Diego terms. Short cab ride to Gaslamp Quarter. Stayed in the beach towers without an ocean view. View was of the parking lot. Only chose that building because friends were staying there. Room was fine. Probably didn't reflect the price, but you are staying there for the location. Beach was lovely. Some of the bar staff was definitely "done" for the season (especially the woman at the Sundeck). Wine bar was the best! The staff in there went above and beyond. We were the only ones in there. They helped us select a fabulous wine and created the best cheese and snack platter for us. Also brought us some chocolates to celebrate my friend's 40th birthday. We could have stayed there all night, but we had reservations at the restaurant overlooking the beach (1500 Ocean). An amazing sunset started the dinner. Fabulous meal, more great wine and another lovely dessert to celebrate. Staff was amazing at 1500 Ocean also. Ate at Babcock for a quick bite one night before heading to a concert. Food was good. Staff, again, not in the best mood. Service was a little slow. Overall, we stayed there to be next to the ocean. Hotel Del delivered. We still had a wonderful time and did not let those few staff members ruin our stay. Also of note, since we technically were on off-season, we didn't get the whole experience. Staff was limited and I believe some areas were closed off or had limited hours.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAK12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to The Del and chose to celebrate your friend’s special birthday with us. It sounds like a memorable evening. We appreciate your recognition of our 1500 and ENO staff and apologize for the other service issues you encountered. We will share your review with our management team so we may provide consistently legendary service. We hope your travels bring you back our way again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was a great time this time around!! Love that the beach is right there and it is kept very clean each day! the pool was great as well!! We spent the morning at the beach shelling then at the pool then back to the beach for relaxing and then back to the pool. The staff was great during our entire stay! Love the Ocean towers ocean view room! We ordered room service one morning and enjoyed breakfast looking out at the ocean and saw several dolphins go by...an experience my daughter will not soon forget! We will be back!!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelformechicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your endorsement and we are delighted that you enjoyed one of the Best Beaches in America. We appreciate your recognition of our great staff and hope to welcome you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,149 reviews
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Property: Hotel del Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing