We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Cali”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

A classic California hotel rich in history and heritage. Beautifully maintained, quiet, distinct elegant charming - I am running out of adverbs to adequately describe how exquisite was this property. The trip to and from San Diego did grow quite weary after five days but I could not imagine my first trip to California being anywhere but Hotel Del!! We were there in June 2009 so ignore the other date posted on this review.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MS_Vaquero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

We are thrilled that you chose to stay at The Del for your first visit to California and that you appreciate its historic ambiance. We hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,726 - 2,732 of 5,364 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Yoga on the beach was nice, the room not so much. Dirty chair (see photo) and worn carpet. The check-in was unpleasant, sorry you are stuck with the room we have given you not the one you requested. We had a view of the parking lot, oh boy that was nice!

Room Tip: Location is wonderful, the hotel is tired. We expected more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment and we apologize that your accommodations were unsatisfactory. We strive to provide legendary service and it seems we have fallen short. We share your review with the appropriate staff so we can make the necessary improvements. Thank you for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We visited the Hotel Del Coronado for a few hours during Christmas time. It is such a lovely place to stroll around, do some shopping and have a meal. We enjoyed cocktails on the deck overlooking the beach and the ice skating rink they have during the Holidays. It was a wonderful experience and I hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your brief visit to The Del and had the opportunity to see the resort in all its holiday finery. The holidays are a magical time at the resort. We hope you return soon for an overnight stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just got back from a convention that was held at the Hotel Del Coronado and had a lovely time. Most things that I fault other hotels for, I could not here. This hotel is celebrating its 125 year Anniversary so things like tiny bathrooms, etc when you stay in a building that old, is normal. Upon check in, my mom requested a non-haunted room for my sister and I, I was even freaked out about staying in the "old" part of the hotel, but glad we did since we didn't have to walk far for the convention. We were in room 3390 in the Victorian Building. Love the lobby and old elevator. Andrew, the elevator attendant MADE OUR TRIP. So sweet, remembers names, is wonderful.

It was a wonderful spot for the convention, gorgeous property, location superb, beach gorgeous, very pricey drinks out at the Bar by the beach, but you can't beat the view. The hotel had wi-fi which I saw other people said it didn't have internet. Not sure if it was just added or not. That was part of our resort charge. I could not access the wi-fi in the ballroom though so I was a bit disappointing when I was in there for the convention. It said I needed an access code for wi-fi in there, not like the room one.

The Crown Room was awesome, old and I love the crown Chandeliers. Grande Hall perfect for what our group used it for, lunch, a fashion show (has great lighting) and a cook off competition.

The room was adorable, looked freshly (not sure how long ago) renovated with a cute balcony looking into the courtyard/garden. The rooms are old so noises were heard, like your neighbors, creaky floors above etc, but you know what, for a 125 year old Hotel, I expect that!!

The food was great at all locations we ate at. The pillow on the bed were so fluffy, loved them.

The think I loved most was the old charm, just knowing who walked the hall ways and resort property and seeing all the old pictures of the hotel. Absolutely wonderful and a very good stay!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for kind support and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit. We appreciate your recognition of Andrew and will pass along your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed our historic ambiance that makes this legendary resort so special. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Hotel Del is AMAZING! Very friendly staff. Beautiful rooms with awesome views. The Babcock bar is fun and inviting. The food is fabulous. Take a walk on the beach, you'll love it! Can't wait to go again, it has become our "go to" place!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharynF18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

We are pleased to hear that The Del has become your “go to” vacation spot and we appreciate your loyalty. Thank you for recognizing our wonderful staff and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We've enjoyed the Beach Village for the last 6 years. It has been a family tradition for us and I've convinced my wife that the Village is better than Hawaii!!! I drive and leave my car for the entire stay.

Coronado is magical and the service at the Beach Village is impeccable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Aloha! We are flattered to be your families replacement for the beautiful islands of Hawaii. Our team takes great pride in delivering a genuine, heart-felt desire to serve. Our guests often discover the Aloha-spirit right here at Beach Village; perhaps the large body of water has something to do with that?t's our direct connection hospitality much like the Aloha-spirit you find throughout Hawaii. We were thrilled to welcome you back for this 6th return visit to Beach Village. Each day, we are honored that so many of our past guests choose to return to Beach Village. Thank you for choosing Beach Village at The Del. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon for trip #7!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We got a junior suite in the main building, with a sofa sleeper for the kids. Separate rooms for kids is ideal, but they were so tired from playing in the ocean they passed out right away. The rooms are quiet and spacious, the breakfast buffet never to be missed. Prettiest beach you can access.

Although it's expensive and may seem like a place adults could only really appreciate (the architecture, the bar), the kids loved playing in the water, flying kites on the beach, and there is a toy store, candy store, and ice cream shop. It was mind-blowingly beautiful and we had a wonderful time. You can safely bring kids or just enjoy a romantic time as a couple. It's perfect no matter what you're doing here - looking for entertainment or just hanging out in a terrific, warm, beautiful place.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool may experience some noise if there is a band out there that night. Frankly I prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kclightman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful endorsement and we are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your vacation. It sounds like you were able to explore much of what this iconic resort has to offer. We hope your travels bring you back our way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
301 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $350 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing