We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel del Coronado - Exactly what we expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hotel del Coronado - Exactly what we expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I just completed a five night stay at the Hotel del. It was as totally as expected. The basic structure is aging well. Our room was not modern, but we did not expect modern. The slanted floors, oddly spaced steps, too-short handrails, faded carpets all added positively to the experience. The room and the property was clean. Service was A-1. The location is unbeatable, and the beach offered a bee-hive of interesting activity, including military helicopter exercises, naval vessels arriving, weddings and basic tourism.

Happily, we found basic systems, sometimes a problem in older properties, effective. Heating, cooling, hot water, etc. were all effective, quiet and easy to manage. The bed was comfortable, and street noise while always present was not horrible.

It's not cheap. While our room was reasonably priced, everything else demanded a premium. Coffee, beers, meals, the Sunday brunch, parking were all quite expensive. $15 margaritas. On the other hand, the basic internet package was complimentary. The good news, its not hard to find dining, drinking and other opportunities in the town of Coronado for much more reasonable prices.

Periodic private functions occurred while we were there, mostly business functions, taking portions of the property off-limits and adding a lot of foot traffic, and creating some internal dissonance - we at times felt under dressed!

We had a city view room. I cannot say we missed the ocean view, and we saved quite a bit of money. As other reviewers noted, it's better to watch the sunset from the beach anyway.

Room Tip: While on an upper floor, our room looked over a staging - delivery area. We were woken a couple of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BGTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are delighted that The Del met your expectations during your visit and appreciate your comments about our great staff. The quaint village of Coronado is fun to explore and we hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,972
    1,081
    564
    355
    251
See reviews for
1,277
1,212
87
759
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,079)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Del Coronado is a one of a kind place to spend a week. We were there during the celebration of its 125th anniversary. I do not understand the people that criticize the specks in the carpet and take great joy in publishing pictures of assorted defects on the walls.
There is such a thing a quaintness and the Del Coronado is one of those hotels.
The employees are polite, helpful, and professional. The housekeeping staff are wonderful. All the facilities (plumbing, TV's, bedding, towels, etc.) were excellent an in perfect working order.
We had an ocean view and enjoyed morning visits from our friends the seagulls.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room on the 3rd floor. These rooms are expensive, but beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imAngelfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty and we are pleased that you appreciate the historic ambiance of The Del, one of the last remaining Victorian seaside resorts. As we strive to provide legendary service, we appreciate your recognition of our exceptional staff. We hope to welcome you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The good...
- service was good
- very clean and well maintained
- great history and grounds

The bad...
- outdated rooms
- it's basically 3 different hotels, I was in a tower and it was disconnected from the resort.
- shower had no pressure and wouldn't divert completely to the shower setting
- food was overpriced and mediocre, also they only offered a buffet for breakfast and no sit down service
- room was loud and you can hear other guests easily

I guess I'm basically saying I wasn't impressed and wouldn't make this a destination for vacation or future event. Great staff but in need of a lot of work.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CW22311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We appreciate your comments and recognition of our exceptional staff. We apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The "Del" is a beautiful old hotel. The landscaping is breath taking. The views from the many points in the hotel of the ocean and beach are picturesque . Bring a camera !! The food was great for the seven meals we had during the conference. The service did not keep up with the quality of the food. The room we had overlooked the ocean with a balcony. Very nice but the shower head was missing a screw and was stuck between two types of spray. There was no hook for a towel near the shower . So you had to go across the bathroom to get your towel. The bed was horrible and should have been replaced a couple of years ago. The bed base is wood and creaks loudly enough when sat on to wake the room next door. The view - great but the rooms need work

Room Tip: Ask if the room has a new mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mo6345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your conference and this iconic resort. We apologize for the challenges with your accommodations and hope we were given the opportunity to remedy the situation. Thank you for your review and we hope you return to The Del in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Living in San Diego we have visited the Del on numerous occasions for dining but have never stayed the night. So for my 50th birthday we figured no better time to go than now. And what a birthday it was. We were upgraded to a corner suite with views of the ocean, Coronado, Point Loma and the San Diego skyline. The suite was more spacious than two of us needed but appreciated all the same. Service was impeccable and almost mind bending. As I was grudgingly putting on my shoes to head out for a glass of wine, room service showed up with a complimentary bottle of Cabernet and two glasses. Taking off my shoes, sitting on the balcony overlooking the grounds and ocean, and toasting to myself was truly amazing. And just typical of the service we received the entire visit.

Room Tip: For a truly memorable visit, upgrade to an ocean view suite. Even if the cost is more than you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave92154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Happy Birthday and we are delighted that you chose to celebrate your special occasion at The Del. As we strive to provide legendary service, we appreciate your recognition of our exceptional staff. We hope to become a tradition and welcome you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had booked a very good deal over the internet - full price room first night, half price the second night and $100 of spending money to use in the resort. When we arrived, we were offered an upgrade to a sea-facing, balcony room for an extra $200 a night. We took it as that still meant we were paying well below the usual charge for the room, which had a big double bed, a sofa, 2 tvs, and comfortable furniture on the balcony, with uninterrupted views to the beach and sea. The only drawback was that the bathroom was tiny, but how much time do you spend in there? It was clean and tidy and adequate. We only ate in the hotel for breakfast on the terrace, but that buffet was really extensive and high quality. It kept us going most of the day. The beach is fabulous - dolphins and pelicans to be seen, if you are lucky. The staff were warm and helpful. It is not cheap, but what a wonderful experience. We loved The Del and would definitely stay there again if we were in California.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank friarsoak14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We are pleased that you had such a memorable experience at this iconic resort and enjoyed much of what The Del has to offer. We appreciate your recognition of our great staff and hope your travels bring you back our way again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Even though this is a very old building - the rooms are charming, food is delicious and what can I say about the location!! The rooms in the original building are fitting of an old hotel - a bit tight and some slightly slanted floors - but you can also chose to stay in Ocean Towers, which are a little bit newer and may be preferable to those who don't care for the older style. And to really stay in luxury, look into the Beach Village Villas - these are privately owned but rented through the hotel with 3-4 bedrooms, kitchens, private swimming areas and mostly ocean view and beautiful. But no matter what room you have, you will most likely be at the beach, renting bicycles, strolling the island, building sand castles - you will not want to miss this spot!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mummycentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement. We believe we have something for everyone and all on the Best Beach in America. We appreciate your support and hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#2 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Property: Hotel del Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing