We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent!”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Blythe, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The price is high, but you get your money's worth if you take in the entire hotel, and do not forget to eat in the crown room on Sunday! The property is extensive, shops, pools, spa, restaurants staff, and so much more that is glorious! We got in real late, but the staff did not flinch, they quickly got our room keys, and baggage and off we went! Did I mention the room service??? Fabulous! The food and drinks were wonderful! The views... We booked the room with an ocean view and were put in the towers, what an amazing view to see at any time of the day! This hotel stay was a dream come true for me, I waited fourteen years to get my moment, and it was worth every second I waited! If you ever get a chance, stay at the magnificent Hotel Del Coronado!

Room Tip: Room with a view of the ocean are wonderful for best stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind endorsement and we are thrilled that you finally had the opportunity to stay at The Del. It sounds like you were able to experience much of what this iconic resort has to offer and had a memorable time. We hope to welcome you back again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,383
    1,275
    672
    409
    276
See reviews for
1,526
1,459
115
899
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

No doubt that this is truly a remarkable historical piece of art! Hotel looks amazing! The beach is gorgeous! Nice little boutiques and restaurants in walking distance.

However we did not get a chance to stay in the main building and since it was a corporate trip we weren't sure if we could have requested a room in the main building so we were directed to Ocean Towers which is about 6 story high addition to the main building in a walking distance. The room was spacious but the bathroom was very small, with one sink and hardly any space around it so it was even difficult to leave a toothbrush and toothpaste on it. The toilet was directly on the left from the sink - kind off gross layout. Our room overlooked the parking lot so make sure to request at least an ocean front. What was truly terrible that the doors and walls were so thin you could hear everything around very clearly. We got woken up at 6AM because some personal trainer was yelling in a hallway "are you ready for a work out?!!". I realize it's nothing that hotel could really control but thin doors and walls didn't help the case.

Prices in pool bars were very high, beer cost about $8 and glass of wine runs you from $11-15. Margaritas are $15 and not good at all. Someone had ordered a pizza at the main bar around 11PM and it was $60. You would think they put gold nuggets in it.

Three stars don't come from the high hotel prices - it was expected but I rather based my review on the room and the fact that there are a lot of people that are not guests that wonder around the property since it is a historical site. Hotel is very crowded around and in the main building. Pools were nice and clean, access is for guests only so they weren't too crowded. There is an adult only pol right by ocean tower but it looks like a pool that a Motel would have (maybe a bit larger) and had a tiny Jacuzzi. However it has a snack and drink bar and the staff is very friendly.

We had a banquet on one of the loans and the food was exceptional for a buffet.

Overall it's definitely a place to see and stay once but we will be exploring other hotel options to stay at for the next time - for economic and "crowd" reasons.

Room Tip: ask for room in the main building to truly experience the hotel, if staying in Ocean Towers - ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed our beachfront location and appreciate your recognition of our exceptional staff. We apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope you consider a return. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Coronado is an exquisite destination and on my recent October trip, it was a glorious 72 sunny degrees. I have a long history with this beautiful seaside village and have very fond memories of staying at the Hotel Del over the Fourth of July with my family. At some point, the hotel was purchased by a corporate entity that quickly began the process of insuring that it was full on a regular basis. Suddenly large tents appeared in what used to be parking lots and the hotel and adjoining streets were swarming with people, many of whom seemed to be there for conferences and conventions. The classic, elegant piano lounge on the main floor which featured drinks and amazing desserts is now a store that mostly sells everything Hotel Del Coronado including clothing, ornaments, dishes and blankets. The room prices are very steep to say the least. We usually stay in the more modern tower rather than the old wooden main hotel. The tower rooms on the ocean or those with a partial ocean view were always very special with plump beds, beautiful linens, overstuffed chairs and antique style furniture. I was beyond disappointed when we walked into our room and found it to be remodeled in cheap, beachy lime green with atrocious "artwork" and furniture pieces that were clearly worn and even damaged. The couch looked like it belonged outside with stiff, angular cushions and a disgraceful coffee table. One of the pictures that hung over the desk was so low that it was right behind a lamp, hiding most of the print itself. One of the bedside lamps simply didn't work at all. The bathroom was tiny with no counter space other than right next to the sink. Two people could barely pass each other in this miniscule space. The bathtub was very narrow and shallow with the hot/cold lever way up towards the shower head so when you wanted to adjust the water temperature or flow, you had to stand up to do it. You wont' want to take any of the little bottles of toiletries with you because they smell like a coconut. The room service breakfast menu was expensive with a bowl of oatmeal costing $10.50 We had planned to enjoy breakfast in our room but quickly decided that would not be particularly enjoyable. All this for a total price of $550 a night including taxes and resort fees etc. However, the hotel itself is still a treasure with a spectacular beachfront location on one of the most beautiful pieces of shoreline anywhere. I wouldn't bother going for the more expensive rooms because they aren't worth it but Coronado is definitely worth it. Possibly consider a different hotel in the area and you can still enjoy drinks on the oceanfront terrace at the Hotel Del. If you long to be on the ocean, try one of the more basic rooms and enjoy the ambiance of the Hotel Del Coronado.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatriciaLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we’re pleased that you have such a memorable connection to this iconic resort. We’re equally disappointed and apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We like to think that we have something for everyone—from this historic charm of our recently renovated Victorian Building to the more contemporary and spacious Ocean Towers and California Cabanas to the luxury villas and cottages at Beach Village. We appreciate your valuable input and hope your travels bring you back our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I just spent three nights here with my mother and we already miss the place. We had a lovely garden-view room in the Victorian Building and would be perfectly happy to stay in the same room again. The entire hotel was clean and beautiful - it felt like nothing bad could ever happen there. There is so much to do at the hotel, but it's also not far from many other San Diego sights. We had so many delightful moments: mind-clearing walks on the beach, an elegant ocean-view breakfast, listening to the birds on our balcony, exploring the herb garden, wandering the shops, and meeting and chatting with so many great people. Every staff member went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and happy. I don't think I will ever want to stay anywhere else when I am in the San Diego area! It cost more than I am used to paying, but not more than I am used to paying for a very nice hotel. We can't wait to stay here again to relax, make more memories, and have more adventures.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind support. We are delighted that you and your mother had such a memorable stay and were able to experience much of what the resort has to offer. As we strive to provide legendary service, we appreciate your recognition of our exceptional staff. We hope your travels bring you back our way again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We LOVE this hotel. We first visited on a business trip for my husband many years ago in the Victorian section and try to come back every year (much easier now that our daughter lives in San Diego). The Victorian section is the older/original hotel building and is just soooo special. In fact, I'm surprised I haven't reviewed it already! We always get the same room with a view of the ocean. The rooms are small, but that should be expected for the style. The hotel completely renovated this older section and at first we were a little disappointed. There's something about staying in an older hotel where you feel like you've stepped back into time. But I can understand that world travelers have certain expectations. I have attached a photo of our room, but will try to upload a photo of the original room prior to renovations. The pool area is great with full bar service and a light menu, but we are beach people. The beach is absolutely phenomenal! It is a wide beach with plenty of room to spread out and is always on the Top Beaches listings. The hotel has chairs, umbrellas and towels available to use and will drag everything out for you and set it up. Yes, it's pricey but what else would you expect from this grand old lady?

Room Tip: If you don't want to pop for an ocean-view, the interior rooms are still pretty special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are thrilled that staying at The Del has become an annual tradition and thank you for your loyalty. The resort is one of the last remaining Victorian seaside resorts and we’re pleased that you appreciate its historic ambiance. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I attended a wedding over the weekend of October 4, 2013 which was held at this hotel. The room was reserved well in advance of the stay.

The hotel is old and it clearly shows it.

Our room was described as "deluxe". It was far from it. Upon entering, the room had a distinct odor. It was old and shabby and had a seedy feel to it. What was described as a garden view mostly overlooked a roof. The bed was un usable. It was grossly uncomfortable. The mattress seemed as if it was 20 years old, it was so lumpy. Additionally, the bed was pressed against the wall so that one person or the other had to climb over the other to either enter the bed or get out. There was a small closet that was wholly inadequate. There was inadequate drawer space so that you had to live out of your suitcase. This meant the suitcases had to be left on the suitcase platforms making it impossible to walk around the room. This made an already cramped space more cramped. The provided refrigerator was apparently old and was so noisy that we had to unplug it to be able to try and sleep. But that was not the only problem with noise.

The room door was about an inch or more from the floor so that there was a gap that let in both light and noise. You could hear everything that was going on in the hall. Not only could you hear what was going on in the hall but the lack of noise insulation made the relationship with the next door room essentially an interactive experience.

The upholstery on the chairs was stained. Not much can be said for the bathroom.

What was the bathroom was a cramped and uncomfortable closet. There was a tiny wall shelf on which the extra toilet paper and room supplies were kept. There was no place to put your personal items such as toothbrushes or razors. Hot water was a waiting experience usually taking 20 minutes or so to heat up to take a shower. There was essentially no hot water in the sink unless you wanted to wait for it to rise.

When we complained about the room, the hotel staff could have cared less. It seemed they were aware that they had you and we were told that what we had is what we got. The rate exceeded $250.00 per night and this was on a "deal" because of the wedding. I would have to check but I think the rate went well over $300 outside the wedding rate.

Overall, the staff was indifferent and amateurish especially for a hotel that bills itself as a luxury resort. At no time did the staff inquiry about whether you were comfortable or happy about your stay. In fact on check out, no inquiry was made at all regarding the stay. They were however, more than willing to take your money.

This hotel portrays itself as being a part of the upper crust. Having stayed in some of the best and better hotels in the US, my opinion is that this is not even on the level of a second rate roadside motel.

Would never recommend this hotel to anyone. My opinion is to stay away.

My rating is a ZERO across the board.

Thank you,

Stephen Gordon
Worcester, Mass.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we sincerely apologize for the unacceptable service issues you encountered. We strive to provide legendary service and from the recap of your visit we have fallen short. We attempt to make each guest satisfied with their accommodations and typically guests will be moved into another room if there is availability. We like to think we have something for everyone—from the historic charm of the 125-year old Victorian Building which was renovated last year to the more spacious and contemporary Ocean Towers and California Cabanas to the luxury cottages and villas in Beach Village. We will share your review with the appropriate front desk management so we may make the necessary improvements and appreciate your valuable input
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I have always wanted to stay here. We stayed here for one night at the beginning go our trip from San Diego to Seattle. We arrived the same afternoon of a large conference. We we arrived in our room someone else's luggage was already there. It took them longer than expected to straighten it out but after that I was very impressed with this grand old hotel. We ate at the restaurant and had an excellent meal. The pool could use an update but you can't beat the view of the pacific and the beach.

My only regret is we only spent one night. I hope to come back and experience more of this historic place.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We’re pleased that you fulfilled your wish to visit this iconic resort, if only for one night, and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your room. We hope you return to The Del soon for another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Property: Hotel del Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing