We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel del Coronado
Nearby Hotels
$219
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loews Coronado Bay Resort(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Cordova Hotel(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Coronado Beach Resort(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
1906 Lodge(Coronado)
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Avenida Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$225
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$301
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Coronado Inn(Coronado)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crown City Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,805)
Filter reviews
5,805 results
Traveler rating
2,696
1,437
783
521
368
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,696
1,437
783
521
368
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictorian buildingocean towersheerwater restaurantsun deckcalifornia cabanasice skatingelevator operatorocean fronticonic hotelfull ocean viewmain buildingmarilyn monroesan diegobucket listbannocknavy sealsdel coronado
Filter
Updating list...
3,309 - 3,314 of 5,805 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We love this place, and it never falls short. The beach is awesome, and and the hotel is so lovely. The prices are high, but the food is good at the different places. Gluten free is difficult to find, we still had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We appreciate your loyalty and are delighted that you enjoy your visits to The Del. Most of the menu items at both 1500 OCEAN, Sheerwater and ENO’s artisan pizza can be prepared gluten-free. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The Del is located on an absolutely stunning beach. The property is gorgeous! The spa was great too. However, the service and response to our issues was consistently terrible (outside of the spa). First and foremost, we complained several times about the noise outside of our room. We were there to relax, and if you can't sleep, well, that's an issue. The lovely people at the front desk refused to move us, and actually said that there was no noise! It sounded like a recycling plant outside our room. Then my "long distance" phone charge. I called NY. It was a $65 phone call for less than 1 hour. Their lovely response - all hotels are like this and they don't own the long distance company. My response - I recognize that the hotel is from the 1800's but being charged $2/minute is ridiculous. I stay at the ritz and 4 seasons on a regular basis, and they never would respond to a guest this way.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteStab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments and we’re pleased that you enjoyed The Del and its location on the Best Beach in America. We pride ourselves on providing legendary service and it appears we have fallen short. We sincerely apologize for the service issues you encountered during your stay. A member of our management team has recently reached out to you in order to rectify the issues you brought to our attention and we look forward to your return in the near future. We will share your review and subsequent comments with the appropriate management so we may make the necessary improvements and appreciate your valuable input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Loved the town of Coronado & the hotel. The hotel was a treasure. The views were amazing, the atmosphere grand & the rooms were awesome. It was my first time to Coronado, but it will not be my last. We fellin live with the hotel, the town & the people!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dayoffGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

We’re pleased that you discovered The Del and explored the charming village of Coronado. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We visted the Hotel Del Coronado for a business meeting. They are celebrating their 125 year anniversary so visiting the hotel was like stepping back in time. The hotel is hugh and very grand. The location is excellent. It is located very close to a section of town with several little shops and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again when visiting San Diego. Our room was a standard room and it was larger than most hotel rooms and had high ceilings.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

We’re so glad that you had the opportunity to stay at The Del and appreciate its historic ambiance. We hope you return soon for a vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We recently stayed for 4 days at the Del Coronado Hotel. Reviewers had stated some of the rooms were "old" , however the rooms had all been refurbished about 11 months ago and were stunning
The Hotel was built in 1888 and the historic features make it very warm and intriguing, we have not felt such wonderfuyl ambience in many years. The food is excellent in all restaurants and the outdoor beach area is the most beautiful you can imagine. The Spa is great too!
I can only say that as a world traveler I have found this Hotel and the City of Coronado to be hospitable in every way and a "must stay" place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bigger bathroom and also in the historic part or on the beach with a view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement! We’re thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay and had the opportunity to experience Spa at The Del. We hope your world travels bring you back this way again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews