We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, needs improvement”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The one thing I love about this hotel is that it is right on the beach and you can't beat the location. However, it really needs to be updated, especially the rooms. We expected a top-notch experience and although it was pleasant it was just average. The rooms are clean but not very modern or updated. The hotel itself is 125 years old and they seem to play off of the history and not the current experience people have there. The one thing we did really enjoy was the food there. The food was amazing! We were actually given this trip by my husbands company as an all-expense-paid vacation. We both agreed that had we paid for this stay, rooms are upwards of $500 a night I believe, we would've been disappointed. Overall not worth the money but we did enjoy our vacation overall.

Another point worth mentioning was that we had about an hour left before being picked up on the day we were leaving and came down to the buffet for breakfast. There were plenty of open tables but we were told the wait would be at least 20 minutes. Not willing to risk it, we went to the small coffee shop instead and were very disappointed. I'm not sure if they were understaffed or what the case might have been but honestly, a buffet? Not really much service involved other than the drinks and clearing the plates. This was very inconvenient and we left somewhat annoyed that morning.

Room Tip: We were told by other people in our group that stayed in the main part of the hotel that the rooms w...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your review and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay and our beachfront location. We apologize that it ended on such a disappointing note and that you were not able to experience our daily Sheerwater breakfast buffet. We appreciate your input and hope you consider returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,304)
There are newer reviews for Hotel del Coronado
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,848 - 2,854 of 5,304 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have actually stayed in the hotel in the past and it is by far one of the most memorable hotel stays I have ever experienced (worked in hospitality for may years and am a self admitted hotel snob so that's saying something).
During this visit we only stopped in to have lunch and tour the property, but as usual the food was wonderful, the views from the patio dinning area were great.
My companion had never visited and found the white sand beaches to be the most beautiful and was overwhelmed by the history and the opulance of the property

Room Tip: I always opt to stay in the ''old'' rooms as opposed to the new tour that was added...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuiltedElephantLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

We are thrilled that The Del has made such a wonderful impression with you and appreciate your loyalty. Thank you for introducing the resort to others and we hope you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The iconic "Hotel Del" has a 5-star location to be sure, but the hotel itself and the service is not much better than what one might expect from a Motel 6. We were forced to endure blaring music from a party in an adjacent ballroom (what respectable hotel would put guests in a room in such proximity to that kind of activity?) and all the front desk can offer is a pathetic "Well, the party will end at midnight." What is this? A frat house??? And as if that were not bad enough, we were awakened at 4:30am to the sound of loud clattering that seemed to be hotel staff moving furniture in that same ballroom, possibly setting up for another function. At 4:30AM!!!!! I remember staying at The Smyth hotel in NYC (a lovely Thompson property) when I was kept awake by a loud party that I thought was in the hotel, but it was actually in a building adjacent to the hotel and over which The Smyth had no control. But guess what? The front desk was so kind (even though it wasn't their fault!) and they sent a bellman immediately to move me to a room in a quieter part of the hotel! Now THAT is 5-star service. Too bad the Hotel Del is not part of the Thompson family.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms in the Ocean Tower-- half of them overlook a parking lot !
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Euvites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments and we sincerely apologize for the service issues you encountered. We strive to provide legendary service and it appears we have fallen short. Every attempt should have been made to remedy the situation. We will share your review with the appropriate management and appreciate your valuable input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We toured the hotel and had lunch outside on the ocean view patio. The only reason I am able to give an above average review is that the beach view is beautiful. The food was a bit above average, but the wait to pick up our sandwiches and salads was very bad. I could not recommend a special trip to see this hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JoAnn70820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

We appreciate your feedback from your day visit to The Del. We apologize for the service issues you encountered and thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Given the price to stay here, we really expected a five star resort experience. Although the rooms were nice - they were also very small with unimpressive bathrooms. After spending 3 weeks prior travelling the states in 5 star hotels we were unimpressed with the room. The resort was full of families; with every bar, restaurant and breakfast room packed full with crowds of people. The breakfast buffet was pretty poor - unless you're favourite breakfast is packet pancakes and waffles. There was no sophistication or style, it felt like a typical american diner with poor quality food.
My boyfriend and I headed down to the sunset cocktail bar on our second night to have a few quiet drinks together and were disapointed to find the bar full of rowdy and drunk groups of friends which ruined the beautiful serenity of the beach.
The sunday buffet made up for a lot of its faults, which is why I gave this resort 2/5. The service was great and the food was lovely, although coming from Australia, the seafood table was fairly disappointing.
I wouldn't come back here, unless they significantly reduced their prices and would only recommend staying here off-season, when its not so crowded.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JemsFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. As a National Historic Landmark, the resort does get quite busy during the summer and dining reservations are always recommended. We’re pleased you enjoyed the award-winning Sunday Brunch and appreciate your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

First thing at check in, they said they couldnt find our reservation. turned out our reservation was never put in their system after booking on their own website. Dont ever order anything from the late night menu unless you want to puke. We paid $800 a night for 3 nights and did not even have hot water in the room. called about a billion times no one did anything to resolve the issue. we left early. will never go back to this place. NEVER GO THERE.

Room Tip: all the rooms on beach village has their own water heater according to their staff, and they are abo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiyaDing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

I truly regret the difficulties you experienced during your recent stay. The team works tirelessly to deliver the exceptional Beach Village Experience we are known to provide. We completely fell short of our own high standards, but more importantly, we failed to exceed your expectations. We take tremendous pride in our guest service experience and deeply apologize if you left feeling anything but completely taken care of. While mechanical failures happen from time to time, it's how the team makes the extra effort to maintain your wonderful experience. I sincerely hope you will return my email and set up a time so that I can learn all I can and work to prevent another experience like yours. Please contact me directly whenever most convenient to you. Again, I apologize for your disappointment and sincerely hope that I may have the opportunity to speak with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location, rooms, and views of the ocean. Great restaurants and specialty shops. A little pricey but definitely worth the memories. Perfect for families and couples. The baked goat cheese is really yummy!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnutsdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

We’re delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Del and enjoyed the goat cheese from the Babcock & Story Bar. We hope you return again soon to create more happy memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
12.9 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,183 reviews
2.0 mi away
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
4.3 mi away
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
1.2 mi away
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $358 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing