We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel del Coronado
Nearby Hotels
$178
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loews Coronado Bay Resort(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $283/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Avenida Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$225
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $249/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $331/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
1906 Lodge(Coronado)
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coronado Inn(Coronado)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glorietta Bay Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$221
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Cordova Hotel(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$529
$450
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$1,199
Curio.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,837)
Filter reviews
5,837 results
Traveler rating
2,708
1,444
789
525
371
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,708
1,444
789
525
371
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictorian buildingocean towersheerwater restaurantsun deckice skatingcalifornia cabanaselevator operatorocean fronticonic hotelfull ocean viewmarilyn monroemain buildingsan diegobucket listbannocknavy sealsdel coronado
Filter
Updating list...
3,565 - 3,570 of 5,837 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

By far the nicest resort I have had the pleasure to visit! I traveled to the Del on business in May 2013 and stayed for a week. Rooms are large, airy and clean. The service, from housekeeping to front desk to restaurants was second to none. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. The hotel itself is beautiful and full of so much history. Situated directly on the ocean, beach walks on the golden sand became a daily occurrence. The shops downstairs are adorable, whether you are looking for souvenirs to take home, a sweet treat after dinner, or a new outfit for the night. While I did explore the island and spend a day in San Diego, the Del literally has everything you need right on site. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. I can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the full ocean view room.... you will not regret it!!!!!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blondelender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement and we are thrilled that you had such a memorable stay. We appreciate your recognition of our great staff and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel is beautiful with a wonderful beach. The customer service is great, upon check in my boyfriend and I were greeted by Kelly who was so friendly and helpful! the buffet breakfast in the morning is also delicious, with great omeletes! The Pizza at the restaurant outside was amazing, highly reccomend the truffle mushroom pizza. As for the rooms, we were in a room facing the beach, could not hear any neighbors and had a bed that was very comfortable!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexandra l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Del and had the chance to experience both Sheerwater and ENO. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with Kelly. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We enjoyed the Del as there is everything you need here and more! Kids were happy with the club and pool there. Little city on the ground floor! Very unique and historic!
The Del has everything, great restaurants, nice spa, great brunch! Very large hotel with a

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind support and we’re pleased that you and your family had an enjoyable visit. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Was really looking forward to our stay here as part of a 3 week trip around California. Great location and beautiful hotel but ruined by the terrible service we received in the Sheerwater restaurant. We arrived with friends on a zoo package. Our room looked onto the garden and was lovely, big and bright no complaints there. Not getting served at the bar was a mild inconvenience but we moved onto the restaurant. The table wasn't in the best position being at the back beside the servers station but the wine and first course arrived and we moved on from that. Unfortunately the main course was taking some time to arrive and after and hour we asked to speak to the manager. BY this point I really didn't feel like eating as I was most annoyed. The server brought crab cakes to pass the time until the food arrived. When it did it was not what we ordered. We asked for the manager to bring the bill, he was most apologetic and waived payment, he organised a free drink at the bar and a free breakfast next day as compensation. Breakfast was lovely served outside. We went out to the adult pool as it was quieter there, we did get some towels but subsequent guests did not as there weren't any to get!!! When someone phoned for towels it took staff 3 hours to appear with them. This pool was not serviced at all by staff. When we returned to our room the compensation breakfast had been charged to our room. Another visit to a manager to get this sorted out!!!! We ate off property that night and had a wonderful meal on the main street with very good service. The next morning when checking out we again raised concerns about our stay which had been totally ruined by such bad service and having the privilege for paying a lot of money to "mingle" with non paying guests. Surely the management should consider some way to make their paying guest feel special?
Yes this hotel is iconic and in a great location but it is overpriced, understaffed and compensation for their mistakes not good enough. I felt they were used to giving money back to disgruntled guests.
My tip for other travellers to San Diego is to visit this hotel for the day and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your room and breakfast at Sheerwater. We apologize for the service issues you encountered and that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. As a National Historic Landmark, the resort can get quite busy and we highly recommend making reservations for our dining outlets so guests can avoid waiting. We appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was so excited to stay at the Del. It is a beautiful property, great location in the perfect town of Coronado. We had stayed at the Loews down the road previously and could not wait to try The Del.

I knew prior to our trip that it was an old hotel and was prepared for the rooms being on the small side. The issue that bothered me the most, making in likely that I will not return, is the walls are paper thin and the hotel is very noisy.

The good: the Sunday brunch in the coronation room blew my husband and I away. Marvelous! The fitness center was great, beach and views are gorgeous. There are also many cute shops in the Del that are fun.

The not so good: this is a busy place. People everywhere. Not really relaxing at all. I would liken it to staying at Grand Central terminal: beautiful and historic, though not a place to rest.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyPetrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

We appreciate your review and are pleased that you enjoyed the property and our award-winning Sunday Brunch. We like to think we offer something for everyone—from the historic charm of the 125-year old Victorian Building to the more contemporary and spacious Ocean Towers and California Cabanas to the luxury cottages and villas at Beach Village. The best time to visit is in the Fall when the crowds are gone and the weather is perfect. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews