We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel del Coronado
Nearby Hotels
Loews Coronado Bay Resort(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $286/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

El Cordova Hotel(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$449
$382
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$216
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $429/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Coronado Inn(Coronado)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherokee Lodge(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
1906 Lodge(Coronado)
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $342/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

El Rancho Motel(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glorietta Bay Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$221
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,199
$1,151
Curio.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,849)
Filter reviews
5,849 results
Traveler rating
2,714
1,447
790
526
372
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,714
1,447
790
526
372
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictorian buildingocean towersheerwater restaurantsun deckice skatingcalifornia cabanaselevator operatorocean fronticonic hotelfull ocean viewmarilyn monroemain buildingsan diegobucket listbannocknavy sealsdel coronado
Filter
Updating list...
3,720 - 3,725 of 5,849 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

the hotel architecture was awesome, being on the beach was cool. the ocean view from my room was beautiful, but still hard to justify the $$$. Way too many airplanes and hellicopters soaring low and loud just off the shore. Helicopters every 10 to 15 minutes. I found that distracting rather than relaxing. Room service and restaurants and bars in the hotel were way overpriced once you tacked on the 22% surcharge and ($5.50 "trip fee" for room service) plus tax. Looks like there are 100 layers of paint on the walls. Cleaning staff did not clean the seagull poop off of the balcony and chairs daily, so it was kind of disgusting to go on the balcony I paid so dearly for.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are not worth te price. Room 3327 is supposed to be haunted.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the architecture and the beautiful ocean view from your room. We are sorry that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your valuable input and we hope you will consider returning to The Del.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Gorgeous property. Beach is beautiful, lots of shops and good restaurants available, both at the hotel and across the street. Stayed in the California Cabanas building and room was quite spacious and quiet even though we were on the ground floor. Nice desk area so you can easily work. We ate at the 1500 Ocean restaurant which was quite good, and two places across the street - Miguels, which had excellent Mexican food in a nice atmosphere, and Brigantine which was exceptional. Took the ferry across to San Diego, which was enjoyable, except for the cab ride from the hotel to the ferry station. Taxis leave much to be desired in this part of the country. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UWStrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

We are thrilled to hear that you had a nice stay at The Del and enjoyed dining at 1500 OCEAN. Thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have been to the "Del" many times over the last few years but this time we were lucky to upgrade to" full ocean view" in a cabana room! It was well worth the small fee and the location was fantastic with the pool and hot tub out our front door and the beach and ocean a few feet away out the back door. My wife attended her conference while my teenage son and I enjoyed the beach and spa. A week was too short !

Room Tip: Get the ocean view Cabanas
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at The Del. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and got to experience the gorgeous ocean views. We are happy to provide an environment that is wonderful for a conference, family fun or any other occasion. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Now have visited the Hotel Del 12 years in a row and the best keeps getting better (even in a bit of fog and drizzle)! Great ambiance and service. Oceanview rooms provide great vistas. Great eateries and stores within walking distance and the breakfast buffet at Sweetwaters is to die for.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

We are so happy to hear that you have made The Del a tradition for the past 12 years. Having attentive service and unforgettable restaurants are two of many things we take pride in. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I really do love this hotel. This was our 3rd stay here. This time we chose the Victorian Building and it was as beautiful as I had hoped. Rooms all newly remodeled and very spacious. HUGE ocean facing balcony was wonderful. My only complaint with this hotel is all the tourists that are constanty walking around and taking up seats. I just feel like when you are staying here you should get priority in restaurants and seating in the lounges. Seems to me you could stay at a cheap hotel and still have all the benefits of staying at the Del just by showing up. Last Christmas when we stayed, there were several times we couldn't even ice skate because of all the "walk ins". I would think at the least, the first hour of ice skating each day should be for paying guests only. LOVE the hotel, it's just beautiful and they definitely don't build them like it anymore, but I just wish paying guests would get a little more attention than the droves of people who just show up to look around. Also, I'm not a fan of buffet's but the breakfast buffet is amazing. Granted, at $40 a piece it should be, but I've never seen such a great selection

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TCM327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast at Sheerwater and your accommodations. We would recommend visiting in the fall or spring when the weather is beautiful and the crowds are fewer. Again, thank you so much for sending your comments and we hope to see you back at The Del soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews