We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The old gal did not disappoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The old gal did not disappoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

It's one of those places you hear about your whole life so when we finally pulled into the parking lot of the Hotel del Coronado, I sprinted up the road and then paused to enter the grand lobby so as to take in all its splendor. The day was magical. Who knew grilled cheese and tomato soup could be so good. We watched families playing on the beach, tables of women dining and laughing and sat in the lobby imagining famous people sitting in the same old furniture, seen and being seen. Well worth the price of admission, an escape, a true escape.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget, there is a wonderful outside area where you can buy a beverage (or not) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to The Del. We are so glad you were able to appreciate its beachfront location and historic ambiance. We hope you return again soon for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,350
    1,259
    667
    406
    275
See reviews for
1,517
1,434
111
889
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at The Del for 2 nights in the Victorian wing of the hotel. Everything from check in to right before we went to sleep was amazing, but when we finally laid down it was very hard to get comfortable. Both myself and my husband work up with a sore neck and back both nights and we don't usually have issues with sleeping.

Besides the bed and pillows, the property was amazing. Walking around the property and Coronado is simply relaxing. I loved that they brought in bird handlers with some amazing large birds. That was such a nice and unexpected treat.

PS - parking is quite pricey at $30/$40 a night

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasbap8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed our location, beautiful grounds and village of Coronado. We apologize that you didn't have a restful visit and hope you will consider staying with us again. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
205 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've really enjoyed the Hotel del over the years, but we've been away for more than 10 years. We were disappointed to see the lobby piano bar replaced by a shop and the Victorian lobby furniture removed, leaving a empty lobby. That decreased the ambiance. Also, prices are now outrageous, with piling on of $!2/day self parking & $18 resort fee. We were attending a convention, and the initial room in which we were placed was a dog. The view from the room was a red roof.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your latest visit. We appreciate your loyalty over the years and are truly sorry that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Your feedback allows us to assess our guests' praise as well as concerns and act accordingly. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A grand hotel with excellent service, accommodations and an awesome beach to go with it. While it is very expensive it is worth staying at least a night or two for a special occasion for the experience. The facility includes several restaurants and specialty shops just off the beach and can be visited even if you are not a guest. The food and service is excellent and they do a decent happy hour at the outdoor bar and lounge overlooking the beach. Nice lounge couches and chairs to just sit back and enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manofbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Del and happy you were able to experience the specialty shops, our beachfront location and excellent service. The Sun Deck is indeed a great place to unwind and watch the sunset. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

keep looking! If you want to relax do not waste your time and money here.I am surprised they
have so many good reviews.To be fair the property is beautiful and right on the beach.But I felt like I was at the zoo.Because it is a historic property you have a bunch of tourists who come to lok at the property and have a meal or drink.Honestly they have the right idea.It would be nice to have a drink or brunch here,staying here was the pits!It is WAY overpriced for what you get.I ordered a bowl of soup an a order of french fries and two cokes and it was 44.00..seriously,I know room service is more expensive but I did not see the tiny print at the bottom,that said 22%
plus 595 or something like that for bringing it to your room.I felt taken advantage of.I think this would be fine for a convention,but that is about it.There were three different conventions at the propery when we were there,and they said they have a lot of conventions.The parking is 40$
a night.The place feels like a 3 star hotel masquerading as a 5 star.The luggage carts are old rickety things which set the tone for a lot of things that feel old dirty and run down. some of the furniture in the old building I would not sit on if you paid me. The room was fine but the smell of carpet cleaner was strong it made me gag! Anyway I am only spending my time on this so you dont waste your all important time and money on this place.Have a drink and move on!!!!

Room Tip: dont get a room here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heart001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. As a National Historic Landmark, the resort can get quite busy, especially in the summer. Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed many times over the past 12 years at Hotel Del. I'd recommend it for couples and wealthy families. Hotel Del is not the best value available and there's plenty to love and some things to rant about. Overall, this is a special place that needs to keep it's service up while raising the value guests get.

HIGHLIGHTS:
- Fabulous beach
- Fabulous pool
- Beautiful, old architecture that oozes history and bygone eras
- Good food and service - but very pricey
- Great community village within walking distance

WATCH OUT FOR:
- Avoid this hotel for a romantic visit if there is a large convention. Trust me, it kills the vibe.
- Food is pricey for what you get. Sometimes they have dining deals advertised sparsely that the front desk won't tell you or even know about. Be sure and ask when you check in.

Room Tip: Pay more for a view if you can swing it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirty-something72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty to the resort and kind recommendations. For a more intimate visit, we usually recommend the fall and springtime when the weather is still beautiful and the crowds are gone. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent one night in this historic hotel. We paid the extra $15 for an upgrade to a mini-suite. Weird layout of rooms, no view. But great mattress. One of the best sleeps I've had in ages. Terribly expensive. But the staff was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeypot62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are pleased that you had a restful night at The Del and appreciate the recognition of our wonderful staff. The Victorian guestrooms each have a unique design. Please return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Property: Hotel del Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing