We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic must stay at property”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This 19th century property is a jewel. Very expensive but if you can manage to stay at least one night you should. Again, everything is expensive. The beach is huge and in the top ten in the US.Walk around and take in the history.

Room Tip: Obviously if you want to see the ocean then you need to pick a room facing the water, but be prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentdan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for your kind feedback about your stay at The Del. We are glad you enjoyed our beautiful location on the #1 beach and the rich historic background of our resort. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,415 - 3,421 of 5,425 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed in Ocean Towers. I like how it is away from the traffic of the main area and newer.

There are a lot of eating areas here which are well utilized by the enormous guest number. Tables at patios, on the dock, the restaurants and random areas. I've logged this resort as the sit down and eat place. Then move to another table and do the same thing. Here's the catch: Pricing. I am amazed at an average glass of beer being $8.00, and a simple cheeseburger is $15.00. A guy next to me asked for two lemonades and dropped $15.00. Of course I drank and ate what I wanted because it's vacation and I think the Del folks know that about everyone.

Strong points are: Sprawled for long walks, clean, great shops, good food, and charm.

Weak: Pool, prices, and dated.

Highlight: Drinking and watching a late night Navy training on the beach. Yaaaaaaaah.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herndon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at The Del. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our unique shops, the beautiful beachfront location, and exquisite dining. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I had to drag my husband and daughter to a two-night stay here as they were worried it would be too remininscent of Some Like it Hot. However at the end we all agreed that this was the best hotel of our stay in California. Everything you could possibly want from a hotel was there and it was great to stay in somewhere more than a century old in the States. The rooms are a little dated but exceptionally clean and you can well imagine the 19th Century Victorians at play here. We dined at 1500 Ocean and had a wonderful time there. Coronado was very quiet but after LA and San Francisco, just what we wanted. It was the last two nights of our holiday and set us up for the long journey home back to the UK.

Room Tip: Our room in the original building overlooked the garden. You may want to choose a room overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

We are so thrilled that you were able to spend the last few days of your California vacation at the iconic Hotel del. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our signature restaurant, beachfront location and the historic ambiance that makes the resort so special. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was surprised to get on tripadvisor and see this ranked #8 in Coronado, part of the reason I was willing to spend the money to stay here is because of the great reviews and luxury resort status I'd seen referenced elsewhere. Needless to say this hotel is nice but expensive so I didn't feel there was value in my stay. The location is great and the pool was nice, but service was very lacking and service is what makes a nice hotel extra special. We stayed in the tower with a partial ocean view and two small children - it felt like a walk to get to the main building, pool or restuarants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tictac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay at The Del and glad to hear you enjoyed our beautiful location and amenities. We strive to provide the best service for our guests and apologize for the service issues you encountered. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The service was excellent John Fulk at registration was so helpful! We are fellow military and we loved the information on discounts! Best experience ever! We upgraded to a full ocean view, bottle of wine and overall excellent customer service! Thank you Mr. Fulk

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penguin8569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Del. Thank you for recognizing the wonderful service by our staff and we will be sure to pass along your kind comments to John. We hope you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel del, as it's called in San Diego, is a great place to visit even if you don't stay overnight. The electricity was put in by Thomas Edison. Every piece of wood to build the hotel was brought around the Horn in ships. You can see how old moneyed folks lived. At Christmas, the decorations are amazing. On the lower floor there are lovely shops, displays of the hotel's history, a great ice cream place. There's a great outdoor restaurant that's quite reasonably priced. The Prince of Wales Grill, where the prince met Wallis Simpson, is upscale with great food. In December there's an outdoor scaring rink surrounded by palm trees (!). It has a great beach. Parking is steep but worth it because there are so many free things to see. I always take out of town visitors there and it's usually a highlight of their trip. Take a look. It's great.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments about this iconic resort. We are pleased that you appreciate the history, unique shops, dining and holiday season specialties that make The Del so unique. We are fully decked out for the holidays and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

pro
- beautiful location right on the beach (we had a cottage guestroom in the first row)
- luxurious guestroom
- big balcony with comfy chairs
- several nicely designed pools right on the beach
- friendly guys at the valet parking (we found they offered the best staff service and were the most friendly)

cons
-service inconsistent (forgot to call uns when room was ready, we waited for 2 hours)
- breakfast is buffet and casual style, but we felt like in a low key self service restaurant (plastic mug for tea).
- windsor cottage is a rather shabby building, chairs are worn out and dirty from the birds. Birds are a big problem (many are around during breakfast)
- staff were having fun together rather than serve you for breakfast, we did not feel welcome
- breakfast selection was ok, but nothing special (espresso costs extra, coffee from the big can was awful)
- dinner at sheerwater (hotel del) was the worst dinner we had during our 3 weeks in the states. The food, the wine, the service, everything was disappointing.
- public space at the beach bar at the del again was low key with sparkling wine in plastic cup, food is self service and delivered on a plastic tray
- room service was inconsistent, sometimes items not replaced, sometimes not cleaned...
- no real privacy on the room balcony (only separated by a small, low wooden "door"

Considering the price for the room, the service, place, food etc. should be top notch. This place is not worth the price at all.
This is a hotel that wants to be 5 stars, but misses for food, service and quality. Would come here for a day trip but not to stay here again.

Room Tip: front row on the beach, corner room (more privacy), upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank luxuryvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,054 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $319 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing