We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,275)
Filter reviews
6,276 results
Traveler rating
2,847
1,534
850
596
449
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,847
1,534
850
596
449
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victorian building sun deck ice skating ocean view san diego sheerwater restaurant elevator operator iconic hotel marilyn monroe main building bucket list bannock del coronado main pool beautiful beach junior suite fire pit
Filter
Updating list...
4,277 - 4,282 of 6,276 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

You can't find a more beautiful beach in California. The resort is older but well maintained. My kids love playing at the beach making sand castles. Service is above average. Beds are more comfortable in the hotel units outside of the main building. Aside from that, we love it here! Will return again for sure.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSChiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed our location on the 2012 Best Beach in America nad other aspects of your recent stay. We hope to become a tradition and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed here for the weekend and couldn't have asked for a better stay-cation. We enjoyed the beautiful grounds and wonderful spa. The service was great and I really felt well looked after. It is definitely a busy resort with not only guests but those who were wanting to experience the resort. If you want a room with a view, pay for it. It is definitely worth it. The views are breathtaking. There is a lot to do on property; you don't have to leave the property if you don't want to.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75SunSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your kind support and we are happy to hear that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We appreciate your recognition of our great staff and hope you have the opportunity for another getaway in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were there for a meeting, and this is quite an amazing facililty. The hotel was built in 1888, and you can believe this. The main elevator in the main building along is a museum piece. The hotel has several restaurants and several buildings, along a large expanse of beach. There are probably other places to stay in Coronado (in fact I'm sure there are) but this one is sort of a must-see venue.

Room tip: We stayed in the Ocean Towers, a relatively new building. This was fine, we had both a city/harbor view and an ocean view. I don't know what the rooms in the main building are like
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MM3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your business stay at The Del and appreciate the historic ambiance of this iconic resort. The birdcage elevator in the lobby is an original Otis elevator and contributes to the hotel's charm. We hope you can return for a vacation soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

When paying over $1000 per night one expects perfection. Our view was perfection. The rest far from! You pay 25$ extra for resort fee but can't have access to steam unless you pay another$ 55 per person per day! Service poor in restaurants. No service at pool it's help yourself! No turn down first night! One bottle of water left for 2 people and this is suite! One bar of soap none for sink! No mini bar. Bathroom tiny! Now no water. I call to complain and no I'm sorry just it will be back in about 15 minutes! Rushing for business dinner don't have 15 minutes! Overpriced and poor quality food. Not a pleased guest! Won't be back! Will tell any one reading nice as a place to look at for 15 minutes read the amazing history! Don't stay here. Go to far better for that price with attentive service and running water!

Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
7  Thank Marcie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and for the service issues you encountered. We understand your frustrations and thank you again for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed three nights in an updated Jr. Suite - supposedly no view included - but we had a gorgeous view of Glorietta Bay and we could also see the ocean from the large picture window. There was no balcony but it was a lovely room with two televisions and a very nice sitting area on the third floor of the Victorian building. We reserved Blue Van through Southwest Airlines for our transportation to the hotel and it was perfect, no waiting ($34). To return to the airport we had the hotel SUV driver take us and it was moderately priced at $32/flat rate, excellent personable driver. This was our second stay at the Hotel del Coronado, the first time we stayed in Beach Village but decided to stay in the main hotel this time. We actually liked it better than Beach Village. When you make your reservation online you will be asked if you want to add a pool cabana, Sheerwater breakfast, etc. to your reservation. You choose the date you want these things and the price is added to your confirmation. It says the concierge will be contacting you. No one ever contacted us so I emailed them to verify these additional reservations and prices that showed up on our confirmation. It seems that until you actually speak to someone you have no reservation for the added items. The Sheerwater breakfast package is one breakfast buffet at the regular price and the second at half price. When the bill arrived for our breakfast we were told it was the full price but would be adjusted at check-out. We left a tip in cash and signed for the full price breakfast to be added to our bill. Not only was it not reduced at check-out but the waiter added another ten dollar tip to the bill. We had no trouble having it corrected at check-out along with being overcharged on the resort fee, but really - should we have to? Why shouldn't they charge us in the restaurant for what we actually owe? You feel that everything is about money at this resort - it is beautiful but grossly overpriced for food and drinks. We were there on September 15, 2012 which turned out to be the hottest day they have had in 25 years, I believe at least 105 on Coronado. We found it to be a wonderful day at the beach. The days that followed were really great weather. Try LaSalsa for really good Mexican food located on the nearest corner to the Del. The Del is a wonderful hotel but be advised that it is also a huge tourist destination and even those who are not registered guests seem to feel free to linger and loiter anywhere they choose - including the hotel hallways because many could not read the signs indicating it was for registered hotel guests only. I would stay again because the beach is just beautiful. There is a lot of seaweed that washes onto the beach but they do drag it occasionally to clean it up. The pool area is very nice and was not crowded during our stay, even with the hot weather. No complaints other than being overcharged.

Room tip: The junior suites are updated.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sacramento7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and stay at The Del. We apologize for the service issues you encountered and will share your comments with the appropriate management so we can make the necessary improvements. As a National Historic Landmark, the summer can be quite busy at the resort. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews