We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beach-side bar area”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I did not stay at the hotel: this review is simply a comment on the deck bar-area adjacent to the beach.

I went for a drink here one evening with a friend. If (as when we went) there is no space in the table-waited area, you sit in another area and fetch your own drinks from the bar. We found a table with a good view. We had a very nice hour or so as the sun went down, but with Margaritas starting at about $14, couldn't they at least trust patrons to use glasses made of glass, instead of plastic beakers? It made the experience feel cheap and touristy, as if they expected us to break or steal the glasses!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank JdeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We appreciate your feedback from your visit to the Sun Deck and apologize if aspects of your experience did not meet your expectations. Because of its beachfront location, glassware is not permitted around the pool and Sun Deck area for safety reasons. Thank you for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,534 - 3,540 of 5,483 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

You can't find a more beautiful beach in California. The resort is older but well maintained. My kids love playing at the beach making sand castles. Service is above average. Beds are more comfortable in the hotel units outside of the main building. Aside from that, we love it here! Will return again for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSChiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed our location on the 2012 Best Beach in America nad other aspects of your recent stay. We hope to become a tradition and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed here for the weekend and couldn't have asked for a better stay-cation. We enjoyed the beautiful grounds and wonderful spa. The service was great and I really felt well looked after. It is definitely a busy resort with not only guests but those who were wanting to experience the resort. If you want a room with a view, pay for it. It is definitely worth it. The views are breathtaking. There is a lot to do on property; you don't have to leave the property if you don't want to.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75SunSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your kind support and we are happy to hear that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We appreciate your recognition of our great staff and hope you have the opportunity for another getaway in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were there for a meeting, and this is quite an amazing facililty. The hotel was built in 1888, and you can believe this. The main elevator in the main building along is a museum piece. The hotel has several restaurants and several buildings, along a large expanse of beach. There are probably other places to stay in Coronado (in fact I'm sure there are) but this one is sort of a must-see venue.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ocean Towers, a relatively new building. This was fine, we had both a city/harbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MM3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your business stay at The Del and appreciate the historic ambiance of this iconic resort. The birdcage elevator in the lobby is an original Otis elevator and contributes to the hotel's charm. We hope you can return for a vacation soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

When paying over $1000 per night one expects perfection. Our view was perfection. The rest far from! You pay 25$ extra for resort fee but can't have access to steam unless you pay another$ 55 per person per day! Service poor in restaurants. No service at pool it's help yourself! No turn down first night! One bottle of water left for 2 people and this is suite! One bar of soap none for sink! No mini bar. Bathroom tiny! Now no water. I call to complain and no I'm sorry just it will be back in about 15 minutes! Rushing for business dinner don't have 15 minutes! Overpriced and poor quality food. Not a pleased guest! Won't be back! Will tell any one reading nice as a place to look at for 15 minutes read the amazing history! Don't stay here. Go to far better for that price with attentive service and running water!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Marcie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and for the service issues you encountered. We understand your frustrations and thank you again for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed three nights in an updated Jr. Suite - supposedly no view included - but we had a gorgeous view of Glorietta Bay and we could also see the ocean from the large picture window. There was no balcony but it was a lovely room with two televisions and a very nice sitting area on the third floor of the Victorian building. We reserved Blue Van through Southwest Airlines for our transportation to the hotel and it was perfect, no waiting ($34). To return to the airport we had the hotel SUV driver take us and it was moderately priced at $32/flat rate, excellent personable driver. This was our second stay at the Hotel del Coronado, the first time we stayed in Beach Village but decided to stay in the main hotel this time. We actually liked it better than Beach Village. When you make your reservation online you will be asked if you want to add a pool cabana, Sheerwater breakfast, etc. to your reservation. You choose the date you want these things and the price is added to your confirmation. It says the concierge will be contacting you. No one ever contacted us so I emailed them to verify these additional reservations and prices that showed up on our confirmation. It seems that until you actually speak to someone you have no reservation for the added items. The Sheerwater breakfast package is one breakfast buffet at the regular price and the second at half price. When the bill arrived for our breakfast we were told it was the full price but would be adjusted at check-out. We left a tip in cash and signed for the full price breakfast to be added to our bill. Not only was it not reduced at check-out but the waiter added another ten dollar tip to the bill. We had no trouble having it corrected at check-out along with being overcharged on the resort fee, but really - should we have to? Why shouldn't they charge us in the restaurant for what we actually owe? You feel that everything is about money at this resort - it is beautiful but grossly overpriced for food and drinks. We were there on September 15, 2012 which turned out to be the hottest day they have had in 25 years, I believe at least 105 on Coronado. We found it to be a wonderful day at the beach. The days that followed were really great weather. Try LaSalsa for really good Mexican food located on the nearest corner to the Del. The Del is a wonderful hotel but be advised that it is also a huge tourist destination and even those who are not registered guests seem to feel free to linger and loiter anywhere they choose - including the hotel hallways because many could not read the signs indicating it was for registered hotel guests only. I would stay again because the beach is just beautiful. There is a lot of seaweed that washes onto the beach but they do drag it occasionally to clean it up. The pool area is very nice and was not crowded during our stay, even with the hot weather. No complaints other than being overcharged.

Room Tip: The junior suites are updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sacramento7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and stay at The Del. We apologize for the service issues you encountered and will share your comments with the appropriate management so we can make the necessary improvements. As a National Historic Landmark, the summer can be quite busy at the resort. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

A beautiful, old, historical property that feels like you are on a movie set. We enjoyed a quick 2 night stay at the Del - lots of activities, people and excitement. I would not recommend the Del for a "relaxing" vacation. There were tourist everywhere - taking photos and wandering around the property. We stayed in a great two bedroom suite in the historical part of the hotel and loved being on the first floor - easy access to the lobby and beach area. The shops and ice cream parlor were always crowded - but a great diversion from the beach or place for the kids to explore on their own. Our room was completely renovated and air conditioned. Overall - just what we expected!

Room Tip: Stay in the historical part - the new wing looked like a beach highrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The summer months can be quite busy so for a more intimate visit, we recommend the Fall and springtime when the weather is beautiful and the crowds are gone. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,053 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $331 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing