We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,122)
Filter reviews
6,122 results
Traveler rating
2,791
1,498
827
578
428
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,791
1,498
827
578
428
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictorian buildingocean towersun deckice skatingcalifornia cabanaselevator operatorsheerwater restaurantocean fronticonic hotelmain buildingmarilyn monroefull ocean viewsan diegobucket listbannockmain pooldel coronado
Filter
Updating list...
4,132 - 4,137 of 6,122 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed three nights in an updated Jr. Suite - supposedly no view included - but we had a gorgeous view of Glorietta Bay and we could also see the ocean from the large picture window. There was no balcony but it was a lovely room with two televisions and a very nice sitting area on the third floor of the Victorian building. We reserved Blue Van through Southwest Airlines for our transportation to the hotel and it was perfect, no waiting ($34). To return to the airport we had the hotel SUV driver take us and it was moderately priced at $32/flat rate, excellent personable driver. This was our second stay at the Hotel del Coronado, the first time we stayed in Beach Village but decided to stay in the main hotel this time. We actually liked it better than Beach Village. When you make your reservation online you will be asked if you want to add a pool cabana, Sheerwater breakfast, etc. to your reservation. You choose the date you want these things and the price is added to your confirmation. It says the concierge will be contacting you. No one ever contacted us so I emailed them to verify these additional reservations and prices that showed up on our confirmation. It seems that until you actually speak to someone you have no reservation for the added items. The Sheerwater breakfast package is one breakfast buffet at the regular price and the second at half price. When the bill arrived for our breakfast we were told it was the full price but would be adjusted at check-out. We left a tip in cash and signed for the full price breakfast to be added to our bill. Not only was it not reduced at check-out but the waiter added another ten dollar tip to the bill. We had no trouble having it corrected at check-out along with being overcharged on the resort fee, but really - should we have to? Why shouldn't they charge us in the restaurant for what we actually owe? You feel that everything is about money at this resort - it is beautiful but grossly overpriced for food and drinks. We were there on September 15, 2012 which turned out to be the hottest day they have had in 25 years, I believe at least 105 on Coronado. We found it to be a wonderful day at the beach. The days that followed were really great weather. Try LaSalsa for really good Mexican food located on the nearest corner to the Del. The Del is a wonderful hotel but be advised that it is also a huge tourist destination and even those who are not registered guests seem to feel free to linger and loiter anywhere they choose - including the hotel hallways because many could not read the signs indicating it was for registered hotel guests only. I would stay again because the beach is just beautiful. There is a lot of seaweed that washes onto the beach but they do drag it occasionally to clean it up. The pool area is very nice and was not crowded during our stay, even with the hot weather. No complaints other than being overcharged.

Room Tip: The junior suites are updated.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sacramento7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and stay at The Del. We apologize for the service issues you encountered and will share your comments with the appropriate management so we can make the necessary improvements. As a National Historic Landmark, the summer can be quite busy at the resort. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

A beautiful, old, historical property that feels like you are on a movie set. We enjoyed a quick 2 night stay at the Del - lots of activities, people and excitement. I would not recommend the Del for a "relaxing" vacation. There were tourist everywhere - taking photos and wandering around the property. We stayed in a great two bedroom suite in the historical part of the hotel and loved being on the first floor - easy access to the lobby and beach area. The shops and ice cream parlor were always crowded - but a great diversion from the beach or place for the kids to explore on their own. Our room was completely renovated and air conditioned. Overall - just what we expected!

Room Tip: Stay in the historical part - the new wing looked like a beach highrise
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The summer months can be quite busy so for a more intimate visit, we recommend the Fall and springtime when the weather is beautiful and the crowds are gone. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We only toured the hotel while visiting my sister in San Diego last week. The beach was nice and refreshing..the people were very friendly..the hotel was absolutely charming! Fresh bouquets of flowers,rich surroundings,edgy landscaping..the perfect setting for a wedding! We learned that the hotel is made of all wood. Its gorgeous,yet expensive. I would actually love to actually stay there for a couple of days just to take in the whole experience..BEAUTIFUL

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank BTCrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed our oceanfront setting, gorgeous grounds and appreciate the historic nuances that make the resort so special. We hope you return soon for an overnight stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We took a family vacation and stayed in one of the oceanfront accomodations. It was in early June 2012 and the weather was very cold, so we didn't get to spend any time on the beach (just too windy and cold). The property is beautiful, but could use some sprucing up in a few areas (which is to be expected with an old historic property like this). My rating is not based on the property, it is based on the service and cleanliness of the facility. There just isn't enough attention to the guests, not enough staff, etc. There weren't enough heated lounging areas on the boardwalk for all of the guests. The boardwalk lounging areas were often cluttered with dirty glasses and trash. One morning, we went for a walk on the beach and broken glass and trash was everywhere on the boardwalk area of the hotel. It didn't get cleanued up until sometime between 8 and 9 in the morning. There are a lot of other places that are much nicer to stay for the $$$$ that are charged to stay here. Unless you are really into staying at old historic hotels, I can't recommend this property for the $ that they charge. I have stayed at The Greenbrier, the Homestead, and the Grove Park Inn and they are all a better $ value and also have unique historic charm. They need to hire more people to wait on the guests and keep the property clean. It was a costly mistake to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations, not to mention the unseasonable weather you encountered. We are pleased that you have enjoyed The Homestead and Grove Park Inn, our sister properties. We will share you comments with the appropriate management so we may make the necessary improvements and appreciate your valuable input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We enjoyed a 1 night stay here in August. The hotel and all the amenities are top notch. The beach in front if the hotel is wide and beautiful. We used 1 of the pools and ate at the poolside restaurant. The pool was nice and clean and the lounges were very comfortable. The food was average. I have 2 sons ages 7 & 8 and they took the surf lesson offered. The lesson was great along with the instructors but they had us on the side of the beach that was so covered in seaweed it was difficult to walk or stand. The boys kept getting tangled in the seaweed.
After some difficulty with the front desk we were finally able to check in after a 6 hour wait. We received a room other than the one promised but by then I just wanted to get our things in a room. The hotel is so expensive and you don't even get the room for 24 hours! The room we had was in the older part of the hotel but the rooms had been recently updated. The room was bare minimum. No extras or very nice amenities. Just a room, beds, tiny bathroom and desk. Clearly the extremely high price is for the hotel itself and not for a quality room.
We enjoyed the beach and ate dinner at 1 of the restaurants. The food was good and the breakfast buffet the next morning was amazing!
I would stay again but be more selective about the room choice.

Room Tip: It's worth it to upgrade to partial or full ocean view. I'd also suggest the newer part of the hotel and a balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed The Del, it's location on the #1 Beach in America and your dining experiences. We like to believe we have something for everyone from the historic charm of the Victorian Building to the more contemporary Ocean Towers and California Cabanas to the luxury cottages and villas of Beach Village. We hope you and your family return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews