We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,181)
Filter reviews
6,182 results
Traveler rating
2,811
1,514
837
583
437
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,811
1,514
837
583
437
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victorian building ocean tower sun deck ice skating california cabanas elevator operator sheerwater restaurant ocean front iconic hotel main building marilyn monroe full ocean view san diego bucket list bannock main pool del coronado
Filter
Updating list...
4,198 - 4,203 of 6,182 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary. It was SO beautiful. Absolutely loved it. We walked to different restaurants at night and breakfast on Sunday morning. People were friendly.
We had an ocean view. A bit more pricey but o-so worth it.

Room Tip: Ocean views are a bit more pricey but oh- so worth it!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXPeach3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Owner at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Happy Anniversary! We are thrilled that you chose to celebrate your special occasion at The Del and enjoyed your stay. We hope to become an annual tradition and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel del Coronado while we were in town for an event at the Naval Base. It is a gorgeous venue (we saw several weddings on the beach while there). We upgraded our room on arrival. Upgrades are at extra charge. It was worth it. Had a room in the Towers, 2 queen beds and "partial ocean view". The view was actually more than partial. It was beautiful. Had 2 dinners at Sheerwater. Food great (especially the oysters!), service really casual. Our first dinner, 6 guests, was incredibly slow. We didn't mind because we were there to spend family time. They did give us some complimentary oysters. 2nd dinner was just for 2. Went faster, but we were somewhat taken aback by the waiter telling us that we could finish our wine at our leisure and no need to leave immediately once we'd finished dinner. Well yeah!

Breakfast buffet very nice.

Room Tip: towers good choice
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and dining experiences at Sheerwater. The Ocean Towers does afford beautiful views of the Pacific. We hope you consider returning to The Del the next time your travels bring you to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

what a shock it was to check into our room on our dream vacation to The Hotel Del! We did our homework becuase we wanted the best possible room/suite for our only vacation of the year. we knew it would be expensive and were prepared for that. We booked the penthouse suite in the Ocean Tower. We were told this is the best room on the property other than going into the beach village. cost of the room: over $ 1000 per night! When I opened the door I literally gasped at the shappiness of the furniture. There were stains on the couch and all the chairs. The furniture was old and tired and looked like it hadn't been updated for many, many years. The "suite" was just two rooms with a connection door that had been converted. The only thing this room had going for it was the view.... and of course that was a fabulous full ocean view. there were two patios (not connected) so you could only sit two people on each patio (barely)
The bathroom did have double sinks, no separate room for the toilet and was very small. All this for $ 1000 a night! Oh, and very few electrical outlets in convenient places. The noisy coffee pot was located in the bedroom and not on the bar, because no electric available near the bar. we had to move coffee pot to living room. When booking the room, I specifically talked to the agent regarding the quality of the room. She assured me that the pictures on the internet were old and that millions had been spent upgrading the hotel rooms. This was NOT TRUE. the pictures were exactly right. It is sad that the Del hasn't spent some money on furnishings to make this a luxury hotel. I understand that the building is very old and there is only so much you can do, but we were in the newer ocean tower and I see no excuse for not upgrading that. It is worth about half of what they charge. I would never recommend spending that kind of money to anyone who wants a true luxury experience. A HUGE waste of money! did I mention that the ceiling leaked when you ran the air conditioner? so, we had a puddle on the floor a lot of the time.

Room Tip: if you are going first class, choose the beach villagel and stay away from the Ocean Tower
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

We appreciate your feedback and extend our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We apologize for the confusion but it is the Victorian guestrooms that just completed a multi-million dollar renovation. We understand your frustrations and will share your review with the appropriate managers so we may make the necessary improvements. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our first visit to the del and their reputation for impeccable service and outstanding facilities are all true. Absolutely one of the best experiences in all of our travels. If you ever have the opportunity to stay even for just one night do yourself a favor and you will create a very special memory!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement and we are thrilled that your first visit was so memorable. We hope to become a tradition and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the Del recently in the Victorian Inn. It was absolutely fantastic! Such history and culture at this hotel.The lobby was breath taking, the rooms were awesome, and the staff was great! It has several great pools and the beach is very nice. They offer you towels and chairs for free and you can rent an umbrella for $ 12 per day. The morning buffet is delicious for $25 pp.
The only negative is the fee for parking is $30 per day and this is not the valet! Plus they charge a $25 per day resort charge! So tack on another $55 per day for absolutely nothing. Something to consider when choosing what type of room you would like to have.
But the hotel is highly recommended and I hope to someday revisit.

Room Tip: I would stay in the Victorian Inn and not the towers. The Inn has so much character and the tower rooms are just ordinary rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

We are pleased that you appreciate the historic ambiance that makes the resort so special and had an opportunity to stay in one of our recently renovated Victorian guestrooms. Next year we celebrate our 125th anniversary and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews