We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks on the patio”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Drinks on the patio”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Happy hour at the bar/outdoor lounge - had fantastic Margaritas in the sun, looking at the beach and wishing I could stay for a week.
This place is beautiful, I could have stayed for a week. The scenery is hands-down some of the most beautiful Southern California has to offer. Take the fun tourist-busses over so you can get the low-down on some San Diego history and fresh air. Stay at the Del and enjoy. Life is good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
There is something magical about enjoying cocktails at the Sun Deck outside overlooking the ocean. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again for at least a week of rest and relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,430
    1,300
    691
    422
    285
See reviews for
1,575
1,495
116
915
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a very old hotel. It was built to be the most luxurious and magnificent. A lot of the old charm is maintained; the original elevator is still there and works! I have not seen corridors this wide in a modern hotel. The Del is old and some of the rooms have been renovated nicely. But you still get these very large rooms - even by today's standards. Of course the plumbing is old. There are however flat screen TV's and all that fancy electronics stuff. We were in room 3382 which overlook the beach, the pool and the outdoor restaurant. Our view included the approach to the naval base and it is fun to watch the nuclear submarines, SEAL's and various aircraft coming and going. The jet planes do have a curfew at night so they are not a real disturbance to the peace.
The Del has undergone many upgrades over the years including the addition of many other sections and areas. We like the original hotel building.
It is an old building and if you don't like this sort of thing you might just visit as a day guest. You can just wander around the hotel grounds (I don't think they mind) spend money at their restaurants, bars and shopping malls. We won't stay anywhere else in San Diego.

Room Tip: There is a variety of accomodation styles. It is best to talk to the hotel and find out which one su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank not_johntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We appreciate your endorsement and loyalty to The Del and all of the historic nuances that make the resort so special. We have just renovated the historic Victorian guestrooms and hope you have a chance to return to experience the classic luxury of this national treasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our review would have been 5 star except that our oom in the main hotel was a little small. I am sure if we had upgraded the room would have been beautiful. The property does have some beautiful suites on site. We arrived later on a Sunday night and the lobbly was a little dark and uninviting but the staff, including the concierge were very helpful. We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed the lounge ande casual restaurant so much that we were there every night. The service was great and everyone was very friendly. The history of the hotel and Coronado Island were fascinating. and it was easy to walk to the downtown and the ferry area where there were some wonderful shops and restaurants. Some of the common areas were being upgraded and I think that will help to make this more of a 5 star destination.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a water view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janmariebsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and experienced the lovely seaside village of Coronado. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We are here at the Del for Memorial Day weekend. The resort and beaches are beautiful! We are disappointed, however, with most of the staff here. We have encountered rude and inattentive staff in the pool area, bell staff, housekeeping, and check in. We get the feeling these people don't like working here very much. Considering the star rating and what we've paid to stay here, we don't feel welcomed as guests. Instead, employees act as though we are a nuisance. We shouldn't have to call to get our room cleaned. We shouldn't have to listen to the bellperson's rude comments as he pushes his way onto the elevator before us. It's disappointing. We are enjoying our trip though in spite of the less than attentive service. Will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katherine786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you managed to enjoy your visit despite the unacceptable service issues you encountered. While holiday weekends can be busy at the resort, there is no excuse for providing less than exemplary service to our guests and we sincerely apologize. We will be sharing your review with management to make sure these issues are addressed and improved upon. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope you will reconsider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel Del for a week for a work conference. Maureen, who hosted all of our day & evening activities was amazing. The hotel was immaculate and the history of the hotel and it's prior guests were all very interesting. The only improvement that I would suggest is upgraded wireless services and unfortuately Gabriela at the front desk was less than pleasant. I'll leave it at that.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your conference and the historic nuances that make The Del so special. We appreciate your recognition of Maureen and will be sure to share your review with her. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed at the Beach Village for the first time for 4 nights on a last minute trip in a 2 bed suite with our 10 month old baby & nanny. I have visited San Diego at least twice a year my entire life but this was my first stay in Coronado. I just cannot think of another 5* hotel with direct access to such a beautiful beach on the CA coast. We usually stay further north up the coast, but did not want to have to drive to get to the beach now that we have a baby. Yes, there may be nicer rooms elsewhere, but not with that beach out your front door.

Room: Was good enough, but not the best layout. Next time I would like to try one of the 2 bed cottages bc this room felt cramped. With cribs, strollers, toys & highchairs it was crowded. But the kitchen was great to have, especially with the baby and bathroom was nicely laid out. Unfortunately in the bedroom with the king bed (our room) you must go through the bedroom to use the bathroom which was not convenient with a sleeping baby. This layout also made the bedroom feel not very private as the kitchen/dining/living was on one side and the bathroom on the other. The bed was comfortable and we thought room service was great and tasty.

The Windsor Cottage: was lovely and a great addition to Beach Village. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner there. The views were fabulous: the breakfast and dinner there were great and relaxing. We especially enjoyed the firepits and heat lamps during dinner- we were never cold and were able to enjoy the views. Staff there were very helpful and friendly. If you call the day before, they have your tickets for you at breakfast ready to go for the Zoo or Seaworld.

My one request: please designate someone who can help set up umbrellas and towels down at the beach for Beach Village guests. It is a huge beach and walking with all your beach stuff and carrying a baby is a long, heavy journey from your room down to the water. Plus you have to go to the main hotel pool to get a beach umbrella. This would be such a luxurious touch to have someone help set up a spot on the sand- maybe with some bottled water too!

The Hotel del Coronado: is like a theme park and I would never want to stay over there although the building is beautiful. Too many people and very crowded mostly with sightseers. The higher price for the beach village is worth it. But it is nice have access to the shops (moo time creamery) and walk around the grounds for something to do (root beer float to bring to the beach! yes please!). One of our favorite things we saw at the main hotel was the falcon man and his birds of prey. A couple days a week the falcon man brings his birds of prey to help keep the sea gulls and other birds away from the hotel. This was fantastic: he was very friendly and was happy to answer questions about his birds. They were amazing to watch. And what a genius way to keep away pesky seagulls and other birds lurking around outdoor restaurants. More hotels should do this.

Would I come to this hotel for a romantic couples trip? No, probably not. It lacked the privacy, calm and quiet for that kind of trip. But for a beach vacay with baby it was perfect. And easy access to downtown SD, the Zoo/Balboa Park, Seaworld. We loved it and will try to come back every year with our little guy. It does not feel as luxurious as a FS property- it is different- it feels like you are renting a little cottage by the sea. With room service and maid service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Our room was in the original main building ,it was spacious with a great balcony also very spacious with garden view! Great shops at the hotel, kids boutique,toy store,clothes stores etc
Great ice-cream parlor, candy store.
Family friendly,good happy hour at the bar/lounge,with wonderful patio seating with great views of the gardens and ocean. Great singer one night!
Two great pools,amazingly long sun deck with bar and comfortable seating,heaters etc!
Great location - walk outside and it's seconds to the village of Coronado!-some restaurant options,stores etc
Great walking along the path along the beach!
Overall I thought it was one of the best hotels I,ve ever stated in!
A real 5 star!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocoloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement! We are pleased that you had the opportunity to stay in the newly renovated Victorian building and experience all that the resort has to offer--from shopping to entertainment to recreation. We hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
12.9 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
2.0 mi away
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
286 reviews
4.3 mi away
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
1.2 mi away
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Property: Hotel del Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing