We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Del is our favorite hotel in the country.”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The Del Coronado Hotel is the best hotel in the country based on location, experience, and the outstanding staff at The Del. We have stayed there at least 15 times and every visit was an incredible experience. It is a beautiful setting with a staff that has a service-heart. My family highly recommends the Del as a luxury resort that is family-friendly. John and Nancy Kraft of Plano,Texas

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear John and Nancy,
Thank you for your wonderful endorsement and your ongoing loyalty to The Del. We are thrilled that visiting our resort has become a tradition in your family and look forward to welcoming you back for many more years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,297)
There are newer reviews for Hotel del Coronado
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,607 - 3,613 of 5,297 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at the Del this past weekend over Easter for my Wife's birthday. We've spent many an evening on the Sun Deck having a drink or a burger and I've always loved the atmosphere there. Staying at the hotel was on my wife's bucket list, so we made it happen. I'm glad we did - we stayed in a lovely room overlooking the Courtyard, and we were high enough up that you could see the water from the balcony outside our bedroom. It had recently been remodeled I thought due to the new flat screen TV and the new fixtures on the bathroom. I've read some other reviews where folks were concerned about noise levels; was absolutely not an issue for us. It's worth noting that we stayed in one of the oldest parts of the hotel, and that's what we wanted to do - the newer Ocean towers were not interesting to us, because we felt that those look (and feel) just like any other hotel around. The rooms in the older, original parts of the hotel are smaller yes, but I think that those rooms are part of the charm and character of the hotel.

Also, I wanted to mention that the staff was for the most part, really great. The nice lady at the Front Desk really went out of her way to make us feel welcome, and it showed. The waitress who served us at breakfast in the Sheerwater made fresh Iced Tea for us when I could tell that the standard stuff came out of the soda fountain. So if you are in F&B at the Del, and you are reading this, please take my advice: Get some real Iced Tea machines for the restaurants, it makes a difference!

All in all, if you are so inclined, I highly recommend the Del experience – it’s not cheap, and once you pay for parking, resort fees and taxes, it’s even less so – but it is an experience, and in one of the most wonderful parts of these United States. I’d certainly be willing to do it again, based on this experience!

Room Tip: Full Ocean view rooms are amazing, but very, very expensive. The charm of the hotel is in the origi...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thank you for your kind endorsement and loyalty to our iconic resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your birthday celebration weekend and appreciate your recognition of our wonderful staff. We will share your iced tea feedback with our culinary team and look forward to your return. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in a cottage guestroom for three nights over spring break. The room was nice and modern, but not as luxurious as most of the 5 star properties I've stayed at. The positives were the beach front location, walkability to reasonably priced stores and restaurants, complimentary breakfast at the windsor cottage and family friendly environment. The grounds and the pools were also georgeous. Not so great, were the housekeeping (kept forgetting to replenish things in the bathroom),the good but not excellent service and the high prices for the room and food at the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Zain214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Thank you for choosing Beach Village at The Del! I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed our world-class location, first-class grounds and the charm of Coronado Village. One of our primary roles is to grow into good stewards of these natural assets while delivering a guest experience that earns your repeat business. No matter how we receive guest feedback, we consider it treasured gift and take this opportunity to say thank you. Your gift of feedback has helped us identified several key opportunities to focus on including our guest amenity supplies. I regret that we failed to deliver an experience untainted by a perceived high cost and missed service opportunities. Rest assured, our leadership team has already taken steps to eliminate these issues from future guest stays. Should you choose to give us a coveted second chance, please allow Beach Village to demonstrate why we believe it to be a real gem on the Pacific Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We loved the special attention that the hotel gave us for our 30th Anniversary. All of the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinoHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

We are thrilled that you chose to celebrate your special occasion at The Del and enjoyed your visit. We hope to become an anniversary tradition and welcome you back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights. The room was a bit small for the price. Didn´t have any bottles of water and took 2 phone calls and 2 hours to get some. The hotel is lovely, and has beautiful views from about anywhere. Great to have a drink at the deck, or a morning walk/run by the beach. Don´t forget to be by the beach at sundown, incredible sunsets. Has plenty of restaurants, and a nice ice cream store. Think that the elevator that took us to our floor was early 1900´s (beautiful). There is also parking at the rear so be sure to check with one suits you better if you are planning on taking out your car several times while visiting. Enjoyed the wood work at the lobby, and lunch outside.

Room Tip: Try getting a room with a beach view if u can afford it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Degustando-Baja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Del and appreciate the historic ambiance that makes the resort so special. We hope your travels bring you back our way and would like to recommend the more spacious Ocean Towers, California Cabanas or luxury cottages and villas in Beach Village during your next visit. Thank you again for your time and consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I enjoy staying at famous hotels even if I can only afford 1 nite. This hotel is big and grand and the views are spectacular. We went at Christmas and the lights and decorations were gorgeous. The main hotel was booked but our room had an ocean view and you could hear the waves very relaxing. The onsite ice cream parlor was an unexpected delight. the kids did a surfing class and the instructors were great. I enjoy haunted locations but didn't experience any ghosts but if you want to feel history this is a great place on the west coast to do it.

Room Tip: We wanted the historic hotel but don't feel cheated if you get the other building because you ar...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minniehappyreturns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased that you had the opportunity to see The Del during the holiday festivities and appreciate its history. We hope to become a tradition for you and your family and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The beauty of this place is amazing. The Victorian style of the buildings makes for a story book feeling. The wonderful smell from the chocolate factory and ice cream store, add to the fantasy feel. The sand on the beach is powder soft and sparkles like gold. But it is the service, the friendly, sincere kindness of the staff that will make your vacation story book perfect!

Room Tip: As long as you are spending this kind of money, go ahead and get an ocean view room, you won't r...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SARAHSEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and the historic charm and ambiance of the resort. We especially appreciate the recognition of our exceptional staff and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
12.9 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,182 reviews
2.0 mi away
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
4.3 mi away
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
1.2 mi away
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $359 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing