We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel del Coronado
Nearby Hotels
La Avenida Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$225
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$301
$249
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$219
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loews Coronado Bay Resort(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$209
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Cordova Hotel(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
1906 Lodge(Coronado)
$249
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown City Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Capri by the Sea(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$279
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coronado Beach Resort(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$243
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,799)
Filter reviews
5,799 results
Traveler rating
2,691
1,436
782
521
369
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,691
1,436
782
521
369
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictorian buildingocean towersheerwater restaurantsun deckcalifornia cabanasice skatingelevator operatorocean fronticonic hotelfull ocean viewmain buildingmarilyn monroesan diegobucket listbannocknavy sealsdel coronado
Filter
Updating list...
4,211 - 4,216 of 5,799 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I visited the Hotel Del around Christmas time when I was out to visit a friend, and they had it all decked out just beautifully. There was a huge Christmas tree in the lobby, and everything was decorated. They had an ice skating rink set up outside as well.
My friend and I went down to the restaurant while we were visiting, and had some hot toddy drinks -- which were very good! I had the "Some Like It Hot".
We went at night, and there were fire circles on the beach, and the hotel was lit up beautifully.
I highly recommend even just a brief visit to this wonderful piece of Americana.
We did not stay here, but it was well worth the visit even without staying a night or two.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank anna195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

It has to be said that the architecture of the 'Hotel Del' is outstanding; likely unique. I love the original open elevator in the lobby and the quirky layout overall. There are aspects of the hotel that have endeared it to generations of guests (so they say ... and so I am willing to believe.) All that being the case, please know that it is not conveniently located as it is on Coronado Island. It is a longist trip from downtown San Diego, the Convention Center and Ball Parks. I have not found the restaurants particularly worth recommending and the beach is ... unspectacular. There is an abundance of warm smiles, however and, though old, the rooms are kept very clean. Overall, this is a better business mini-convention site than a vacation destination in my view.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwcaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Thank you for your comments and we are glad to hear that you appreciate the nuances and charm that makes The Del so special. We also appreciate your recognition of our wonderful staff and look foward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

we would never stay at the Del again,,,we might well come for dinner but even then we wouldn't dare use a bathroom. Our room was very nice albeit an inadaquate sized bathroom. We paid top dollar for a full ocean view and the view was wonderful although hardly worth what we paid. Once one leaves his or her room the hotel is wall to wall people, strollers,dogs etc. Getting from point A to point B in the hotel was a nightmare....every avenue choked with people!
All staff that we encounterd were very well trained and very pleasant even as we were being bled monetarily...some were even apologetic! It was Christmas but that shouldn't matter.

Room Tip: full ocean view or nothing! It was our visits lone redeeming feature
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Thank you for your comments on your recent experience at The Del. We are truly sorry that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and understand your frustrations. We hope to welcome you back to dine in one of our oceanfront restaurants in the future. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Beautiful location, VERY warm & friendly staff & breath taking views. I attended a medical conference at this hotel, so was able to take advantage of a discounted room rate, rather than the usual $500+/night regular rates that some of the rooms go for in season. Although the primary reason for the visit was business, there were plenty of on site activities for family members, including ice skating, beach & spa activities & multiple dining locations on property. It is also very walkable to eateries & shops nearby, but off property, including staples such as Starbucks, Panera, etc. Would love to be able to return to this property in the future.

The hotel was decorated beautifully for the holidays with many photo ops.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Long K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful accolades and we are thrilled that you had the opportunity to experience The Del in all of its holiday splendor. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and becoming a holiday tradition for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We took our mom there for her 80th birthday. While it was a nice get-away, the prices are way too high. We only stayed a few days, but went through too much money for the value.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

We are so glad that you chose to celebrate your mom's 80th birthday at The Del. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews