We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Del, not the weather”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Returned to the Del for the first time in several years and it's still a jewel. Got a terrific room on the beach, close to the pool. Unfortunately, we had 3 days of torrential rains. Big secret: there's not as much to do at the Del when it rains!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gmrossiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

Thank you for your comments about your stay at The Del. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your view! Despite the weather, we hope you were able to take advantage of the Shops at The Del and the various restaurants and bars located inside! We encourage you to return again in the summer to really take advantage of that Southern California sunshine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,208 - 4,214 of 5,480 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2011

I was so consumed with my work that I didn't even realize Spring Break was the next week until the kids asked if we had any plans. I'm a single dad who loves his kids more than anyone in the history of loving....I have them full time. We live in Vegas but love the west coast and consider this island first every time we plan a trip. I made the call and not only got a room last minute but was able to upgrade to a ocean view at the desk the day of our arrival. The staff at the Del was better than ever....meaning it get better every stay. From the staff working the pool, bellhops, valet desk and gift shops....everyone is so wanting to make every effort to make us feel welcome and at home. Anyone we asked was so willing to offer suggestions and any help. I love making my kids smile and the Del makes my job as a single dad very easy. THANK YOU AND ALL YOUR EMPLOYEES....FAMILY for making me a hero to my best friends....again. Hope we all have a great year.....

Thank rnr1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

Thank you for all of the kind words you had to say about The Del. We appreciate you recognizing our staff for their excellent service and we are thrilled you and your children had an enjoyable Spring Break! We look forward to welcoming you all back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

My husband and I decided to runaway for the weekend and wanted to stay somewhere on the beach that would be relaxing and beautiful. The view from our room was AMAZING! We stayed on the 2nd floor of the Ocean Towers and had a full ocean view room. We kept the sliding door open almost always when we were in the room to enjoy the breeze and ocean sounds but the room seemed to always have a faint odor smell. On the last day as we were packing and checking all nooks and crannies to make sure we didn't leave anything behind we discovered about 6 half eaten moldy strawberries and some other garbage behind the couch. We did not have any strawberried on this visit. Also, my husband had left his sleeping shorts in the bed when we left for breakfast, after returning to the room the maid had already been there and made up the bed and cleaned up. That night when going to bed we discovered his shorts still in the bed.. this was our 3rd and final night there but got us to thinking that they don't check these sheets before making the bed. eww!

The parts we were most impressed by was the Sun Deck Bar & Grill, the complimentary beach chairs & umbrellas, and the easy beach access.

We also attended the Easter Brunch, the food was great but our waitress was rude. We had first ordered a mimosa each and after we finished the one my husband asked what else was available she laughed at him and asked what else he wanted. We expected some sort of verbal list; types of juices, sodas, alcohol that they had available. After that we didn't want to bother her and she ended up never coming back after the first 20 min we were there. There was a nice waiter who was helping the table across from us that did help us when we stopped him.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiaKina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Del. We are glad you enjoyed the beautiful views of the Pacific from your room in the Ocean Towers and from the Sun Deck Bar & Grill. We apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced and will be sharing your review with the appropriate managers so this issue may be addressed and improved upon. We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Our five night stay at the Del exceeded our expectations. My husband and our two children (8 and 10 y.o.) did not want to leave. There was no reason for us to leave the Del and its wonderful facilities during our stay. We were hard pressed to convince our kids to walk to the marina just down the hill, they did not want to leave the pool, jacuzzi, grounds and of course, the beach. Thank you to all of the staff at the Del for creating memories that will last a lifetime for our family. We can not wait to return.

Thank dksteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

We appreciate your wonderful comments about your recent stay at the Hotel del Coronado! We are thrilled to hear your whole family enjoyed their experience, especially all the fun in the sun! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and becoming a tradition in your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I've wanted to stay at this hotel for years and was delighted when my family's Spring Break plans allowed us to be here for a few days at the week leading up to Easter. Our room, which was a 2-room Resort Suite in the Ocean Tower building, was spacious, clean and well-appointed. We enjoyed a very nice, albeit expensive, dinner at Sheerwater. The staff was helpful and courteous. However, the public areas of the hotel (the pool, the Sun Deck, etc) were crowded, noisy and littered with empty cups, plates and other trash. I felt like I was at a Disney World hotel as I searched high and low for a solitary chair at the pool. Next time, I would opt to stay at a hotel with a little less traffic and a bit more refinement.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMcCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

Thank you for your comments about your stay at The Del during your Spring Break. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room in Ocean Towers and that your family had a delicious dinner at Sheerwater. For your next visit we recommend staying at The Del in the fall, when the crowds are gone and the weather is gorgeous!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We checked out after the first night, and gladly paid the $75 penalty to do so. The room was musty, and I am being nice. We just wanted a higher end experience for my money. The hotel is beautiful from a distance, has a great location on the beach, with a nice pool, lots of shops below, and a Hertz Rentacar on the property that bent over backwards to reserve a specific car for us. For the last 3 days, we moved up to the Hotel del Mar, 20 minutes north near La Jolla and Legoland. No biggie to drive back to SD to the Zoo or into the Gaslamp district the following days, which we did with ease. This is a convention type of hotel, and if someone else is paying, I guess it can't be beat, but for the luxury traveler, go north (and thank me later).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moondogrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2011

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at The Del. We are glad to hear you enjoyed both the service and the beach during your stay. However, we sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered with your room. We hope you will consider staying with us again and encourage you to try the contemporary Ocean Towers or California Cabanas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

My family (2 boys 8 & 5) had a great time at the Beach Village. While pricey, with a $25.00 resort fee that we thought was excessive, we had a great time. Service was very good. Food was so-so on the resort but there are great restaurants all over the island at every price range. If you have little ones, the Beach Village is the place to stay. Calmer and less hectic than the hotel and vey nice rooms with lovely balcony, large bathroom and fireplace. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
Thank meand3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2011

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Beach Village. We are delighted your family had a wonderful vacation with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and will have the fitpit ready!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,051 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $330 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing