We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great last-minute stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown City Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crown City Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great last-minute stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

On our recent Christmas vacation, we just couldn't bear to leave. Fortunately for us, the Crown City Inn happily accommodated us AND our fur kids for the night. Although the rooms are small, they are very clear and comfy with nice extras like a microwave and refrigerator, plus FREE parking! That's a biggie on Coronado. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will happily go back the next chance we have.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cuz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
It was beautiful weather this year over the holidays! I'm so glad you were able to stay longer, and enjoy your holiday. Thanks for the kind review, and I'm hoping to see you sometime soon--maybe when the weather starts heating up in the desert....
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    60
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
61
72
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merrill, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Close to shopping, free parking, free wifi, updated bathrooms, great showers, refrigerator and microwave. Great Bistro attached, easy walk to pubs, shopping and easy to locate on Orange Ave. Free resident bike loaners.

Room Tip: Didn't ask for fitness center or Spa, do not know if they have one. Not needed as the weather al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Manager at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
I appreciate your having taken the time to write a review and a detailed one at that! To answer your question about whether we have a fitness room/spa; unfortunately we do not. However, we have complimentary day passes for our guests to use at the local gym 5 blocks away.
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is more of an roadside Inn, think of motor lodges from the seventies. The rooms are clean , bathrooms remodeled, and the staff is genuinely pleasant and helpful. For the price and the fac it's pet friendly The Crown City is a deal.

There's a park just one block from the hotel, perfect for puppy walks and a Starbucks within walking distance. Our second morning we tried the lobby coffee, a pleasant surprise the lobby coffee was good and complimentary!

Room Tip: I'd pick an upstairs room in the back. The street noise can be loud at times
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JHM757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your very specific review. I'm glad you were happy with our Inn. I'm really glad you mentioned the coffee because bad hotel coffee is one of my biggest pet-peaves when travelling. I don't know if you noticed, but the same coffee is in each room with a small coffee maker. I hope to see you again sometime soon.
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This small hotel is affordable as compared to most accommodation in Coronado. I have stayed there four times in the last year and have always looked forward to dining at there Bistro. Love the homemade preserves! Breakfast there has always been one of my favorites. They have daily specials and that have seafood, which is a favorite of mine. Friendly staff also adds to the experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wmcalister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thanks so much for the kind review and for staying with us repeatedly last year. That's a great compliment that you'd return to us with all the choices in Coronado. And no, having the Bistro here doesn't hurt either. I love the preserved too, and get somewhat addicted to it, so have to stay away from it usually. Hope to see you again soon!
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a nice motel directly on Orange Avenue. This location makes it a bit noisy, with the traffic going by, and you'll probably want to keep the windows closed most of the time. That's the single biggest drawback.

Most of the rooms that I saw are 'average' (I remember seeing one room that was really nice, but the others were more simple), but I don't mean this in a bad way. It's not 'opulent', some of the furniture is dated and the views from the window are not 'scenic'. But there's nothing wrong with anything (other than the noise). And the value (at least during the off season) is excellent. And 'average' rooms at an excellent price were exactly what I was looking for. I meant to spend my time at the beach or walking around Coronado, not in my room.

The pool is, in my opinion, too small to be useful - but why would you use a pool in Coronado?

The most important fact is that it's about a 15 minute walk (3/4 of a mile?) to the beach and an 8 minute walk to the ferry landing. Some people might prefer to be closer to the beach, but I actually liked the idea of having a bit of a walk. Having the option to walk in either direction is a nice feature - I preferred eating closer to the ferry landing side of the island, which was less touristy and quieter. And there's a nice bistro right next to the hotel, which is very convenient.

The people at the desk are incredibly nice. Probably the best I've ever worked with anywhere. They help out with everything, and they were the high point of my stay at the hotel. (Well, of course, the high point was the beach.)

I plan to stay here again on future visits to Coronado.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frimeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. What you said was correct; we are not a fancy hotel. We are clean, simple, affordable. We are constantly updating the property all the time, but cannot do it all at once, and this is one way we are able to keep the prices on the lower side. It sounds like you were happy with what we've done so far, and I too am wishing for that new furniture soon!
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have been staying at the Crown City Inn every time we visit Coronado to escape the heat in Arizona. The rooms have everything we need, as we do not spend much time there, except to shower and sleep. Love having coffee readily available in the morning. We especially appreciate the use of their bicycles. Walking and biking is the best way to experience the island, in our opinion. You must visit "Dog Beach" while you are there. Affordable, welcoming, customer-focused, clean, convenient location...we love it! Looking forward to our yearly visit this weekend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I hope your stay with us ended up being a good one! The weather has been amazing this Fall; I think the best time to come to Coronado is in the Fall/early Winter because it's warm and not crowded. Thanks for taking the time to write your review.
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

we come here every year for the off-leash doggie beach, which is GREAT for our dog but we love it too, since it is the same beach as the HOTEL DEL. and every year we stay at CCInn because it never disappoints. its always clean, it is central to every place you would want to go, the bistro is excellent and the hotel staff is helpful and friendly. it is the only place to stay in coronado for great value and for excellent customer service. and doggy-friendly, too!!! we'll see you next september and we cant wait!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenixdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
It sounds like you (and your dog) had a great time! The dog beach in Coronado is a wonderful thing for pet owners. Many of our customers say that Coronado is the most pet friendly place they've ever visited. Thanks so much for your review, and I hope to see you again soon.
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.7 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.6 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown City Inn

Property: Crown City Inn
Address: 520 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coronado
#4 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#5 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Coronado, CA, just across the San Diego/Coronado Bay Bridge from downtown San Diego. Crown City Inn is your affordable choice to stay close to the beach. We have a swimming pool, beach cruiser bicycles, and surf/boogie boards to borrow to play in the water. All rooms have complimentary Wi-Fi internet access. On-site Crown Bistro is a favorite with the locals and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service daily. Kids and pets are welcome. Both receive a goody bag at check-in. Don't miss our afternoon "tea" with homemade almond shortbread, oatmeal-cranberry cookies, thumbprint cookies and brownies; and coffee and iced tea bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crown City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown City Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing