We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crown City Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hotel del Coronado(Coronado)
$396
$349
Curio.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $452/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Avenida Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$225
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Cordova Hotel(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$269
$212
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $263/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Loews Coronado Bay Resort(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$237
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $404/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

1906 Lodge(Coronado)
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Capri by the Sea(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$319
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glorietta Bay Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$221
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$2,854
$1,099
Curio.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $1,250/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
129
73
19
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
73
19
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade jamscoronado islandcomplimentary cookiesgift bagrefrigerator and microwavedog beachthe perfect place to staytea and coffeeroad noisewithin walking distancereasonable rateshousekeeping staffironing boardorange aveair conditioningthe san diego areatwo double beds
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 224 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Coronado Island and San Diego. It was very clean and well maintained. Bathroom nicely updated!
The Bistro Cafe was excellent, get the waffle with strawberries..
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyfromBroomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just stayed here on Sunday, Oct. 14th and loved this place. It's an older hotel but very well maintained and the bathrooms are remodeled. The beds could use new comforters to make it look more modern and it had a slightly musty smell as it was older, but those were the only negatives. They have cookies, tea & coffee in the lobby and even had welcome bags for the kids, full of fun toys and activities. Our favorite thing about the hotel was the free use of the beach bikes. We rode all over Coronado and went to the beach. The price was great as it was off-season, but we lucked out because the temperature was perfect! We will definetely go back here.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thanks for your great review of the Crown City Inn. I'm glad you were able to enjoy some of our extras--cookies, kid's bags, and bicycles. Thanks also for your feedback on the idea of updating our comforters. I do happen to agree with you that they need an upgrade. I hope by the next time you visit, you will see that change!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is a great find in a great location! We seldom travel without our two yorkies and have found that while a lot more hotels are allowing our dogs they are also charging an arm and a leg to bring them. I was in desperate need of a “beach break” and can't tell you how pleasantly surprised we were to find a wonderful hotel on Coronado Island that had a great restaurant attached, clean rooms, bikes to use, nice pool, tea and cookies, pet friendly and reasonable rates! The location is perfect, since traffic can be brutal on the island we loved being able to park at the hotel and walk to numerous restaurants as well as the beach. The doggie beach was a bit too far to walk but the fact that there was a beautiful dog beach just a few minutes away by car (or bike) was fantastic to begin with! The staff was great and made all of us feel very welcome and comfortable (although we did have one front desk clerk that was a bit tight on the dog policy...she said we could not leave the dogs in the room unattended to walk the twenty feet to the pool for a swim...but we could take them to the pool area with us just not in the pool…made no sense to us?!?!?) The restaurant next door is also very good and had some great food. It came in very handy after a long day of exploring the island. We are happy to say that we've found another great "special spot" for our long weekend escapes and hope to be able to spend more days next time we venture out of the desert to cooler climates.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MANDM1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Hi MANDM1970:
I'm glad you and your Yorkies had a good time in Coronado, and glad you loved the Crown City Inn. Sorry you had a run-in with the "pet police," but normally, if you're eating at the Bistro or sitting by the pool, leaving your pet in the room is not a problem. We have one new person here, that may be keeping to the rules more than she needs to. I'll have the talk with her, and will make sure you have some flexibility on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

What a great place. The room that we had was clean and modern and the staff bent over backwards to accomodate. Perfect location with easy access to anything in Coranodo. We brought our Yorkie puppy along with us on this trip and the the Crown City Inn made it so special and easy for us by not only providing a cute gift basket containing a squeaky toy and treats but giving us a list of pet friendly restaurants. That saved us so much time and aggrivation trying to find places that we all could enjoy without a hassle.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Hi Gary A:
I'm so glad you and your Yorkie had a good time at the Crown City Inn and in Coronado. I hope to see you on your next trip West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our most enjoyable stay in the San Diego area so far. This is not a fancy place but they pay attention to the right details to make it pleasant. Everything works and is clean. Desk staff are very nice and we enjoyed down time each afternoon at the small but pretty saltwater pool. The location is close to the ocean and to town. Nice toiletries and towels, nice pool towels too. Cookies and iced tea are served in the afternoon and they are good quality, not cheap stuff. The Bistro restaurant is good and enjoyable to eat outside. Would definately stay again. Coronado traffic was surprisingly heavy.

Room Tip: To drown traffic noise at night, shut the window on the street side of your room. The windows are double paned and block the noise very well.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seobr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

"Seobr"
Thanks for your review! I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. My favorite time here in Coronado is September--weather is beautiful, and the summer crowds have gone.
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews