We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Crown was Cool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown City Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crown City Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Los Banos, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“The Crown was Cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Loads of fun get away at the CCI. We were greeted warmly at the front desk on August 30th for a one night stay. We were able to check in a little early which was nice hot coffee, tea and cookies were in the lobby. They loaned us bikes to cruise around the island for the afternoon, then upon return we were told we could keep them till 7:30 pm so we rode back down to the beach for the sunset, which was awesome. Upon return were then informed by front desk that loads of restaurants were within walking distance. Nice touch. Our room was quaint but very clean, comfortable bed, will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We like a lower level so we do not have to take our bags up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bdbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
"Bdbc"
Thanks for staying at the Crown City Inn. I'm glad you were happy with everything, and so glad you were able to get good use of the bikes. It's the nicest way to get around town! Hope to see you on your next visit to Coronado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    60
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
61
72
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family and I have been staying at CCI for the last 7 or eight years. We love the quaintness, friendliness and the perfect location - equal distance between the Bay side and Ocean side of the Island. There are many other hotels we would consider staying at, but just love CCI to much to try anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcingilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi "gcingilbert"
Thanks for your nice response. I'm so happy you've returned time and again to the Crown City Inn. We have so many repeat customers. I hope you'll ask for me the next time you come, so I can meet you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

So, when you stay at this quaint hotel, you are a bit out of the mayhem of crowded Coronado streets. You are still on the main drag, however, you are far enough away from the city center that you dont get caught up in the traffic.
Our room was quite clean, bathroom was newly remodeled and pretty.Both the room and bath were small, but certainly adequate. The hotel offers beach cruisers (check the seats first to make sure you get one that stays put!), as walking to the beach would be a bit of a haul.
There is courtyard parking, which is great. However, it fills up fast, and then you have to park in the back, which is no biggie.
The place is dog-friendly. We had no issues with any noise from the canines. We loved the cookies, good coffee and iced tea that is complimentary to the guests.
Crown City was $70 less per night than our usual hotel. We will certainly return, as the difference in price makes up for the distance from the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi Rebecca J:
Thanks for taking the time to write a response for us. I'm sorry you had trouble with the bike seats--hopefully someone remedied that for you. We do strive to keep our rates low enough as an affordable option in Coronado, and hope we make up for being a bit farther from the beach with the fun "extras" we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband planned a wonderful trip for our 30th anniversary in May. Started in Vegas and drove to San Diego and stayed on Coronado Island at the Crown City Inn. What a beautiful island. The Inn was perfect. Our room was clean and comfortable. It's walking distance to restaurants and ferry service to the city. Everyone was so friendly! Making plans for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Paulette K:
We can't wait for you to come back! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and when you return to the West coast, I hope you'll choose us as one of your destinations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Perfect, afforable option if your looking for an alternative to larger Coronado hotels with resort fees or mid-size Coronado hotels with parking fees. Walking distance to restaurants on the main drag of Orange St. Rooms a bit small but clean and ours had a remodeled bathroom that was like a mini lux bathroom that you would find in an upscale hotel. Wonder if all the bathrooms are like this?

The attached restaurant is tiny, with a super patio and the breakfast was awesome and the place was packed Sat and Sun mornings.

Only problem was that the air conditioner in our room wasn't working and our room was sweltering when we checked in. Marcia, at the front desk was so apologetic, even trying to get us another room at another property because the room wasn't "...up to their standards for their guests comfort". Wow, this was impressive! Unfortunately, the island was booked so she made a few generous concessions for us and, she completely won us over. This will be our home-base hotel for future visits. Thank you Marcia. Looking forward to coming back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scarpullagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi "Scarpullagirl"
Thanks for your nice response. I appreciate that you noticed that we don't charge extra fees for many things as other hotels do. We strive to be friendly, clean, and simple with a few nice extras. I'm sorry your air conditioner unit wasn't working properly...sometimes they don't "catch up" with the heat, and it should have been on and cool when you arrived--I apologize for that not being the case. Hope to meet you on your next trip to Coronado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Been here twice now and love it! Such a simple, quaint, comfortable place. We love riding the beach cruisers around the island. The food is amazing and the staff is friendly and accommodating! Cannot wait to be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Crown City Inn & Bistro has been around for a while. It sits on the main drag (Orange Ave) on Coronado Island at about mid point. The property is well cared for on the outside. The staff are friendly and welcoming. They can answer any question on the area you might have. This helps because Coronado itself can be confusing to navigate in some areas. Though parking is tight through the front, there is ample parking behind the hotel. You can walk to just about any place you need to on the island or the hotel offers free loaner beach cruisers for its guests if you don't want to rent in the village proper. Bathrooms have recently been remodeled in stone, tile and glass and they did a great job of it. Some people squawk about the price, but try to find anywhere on Coronado cheaper and during the busiest of one of it's summer weekends for the San Diego (The Comic Con). Hotels in the San Diego area off the island were costing upwards of 100 dollars more per night than CCI. The housekeeping staff do a great job, though i wish they would get rid of those bedspreads and go to blankets or more fashionable covers. You have everything you need in the room and they do offer free Wi-Fi though weak in spots. I have stayed in several places on Coronado over the years and this one beat them all, especially for the price. Everything on Coronado is more expensive. You are paying for the village lifestyle in addition to the room. If it's too high, then just drive over the bridge and stay in San Diego proper. The Bistro which also is part of the property has excellent meals for dinner. I did not try any of the other meals at the Inn. It leans toward Italian dishes, but seafood is popular, as it is everywhere else in the area. The only complaint I really had was at checkout. The man checking me out was playing his PS3 or Xbox on a separate monitor while working. Not too professional, but he was polite. Stay here, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Maybe see if you can get a room away from the pool. That will help with some of the noise, but you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.7 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.6 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown City Inn

Property: Crown City Inn
Address: 520 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coronado
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#4 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#5 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Coronado, CA, just across the San Diego/Coronado Bay Bridge from downtown San Diego. Crown City Inn is your affordable choice to stay close to the beach. We have a swimming pool, beach cruiser bicycles, and surf/boogie boards to borrow to play in the water. All rooms have complimentary Wi-Fi internet access. On-site Crown Bistro is a favorite with the locals and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service daily. Kids and pets are welcome. Both receive a goody bag at check-in. Don't miss our afternoon "tea" with homemade almond shortbread, oatmeal-cranberry cookies, thumbprint cookies and brownies; and coffee and iced tea bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Crown City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown City Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing