We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value Gem on Beautiful Coronado”
Review of Crown City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown City Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Wonderful stay at Crown City Inn. Very clean, quiet, and comfortable and the updated bathrooms were beautiful. Staff is friendly, accommodating and courteous. Don't know why anyone would pay more to stay at Del, Marriott, or anywhere else on Coronado. Beach is less than a mile away, and one of the best restaurants on Coronado is on the property - Crown City Bistro. Pet friendly made it great for us to have our dog with us, and the rooms don't have any reminders at all (smells, stains) of visits by previous pets. We were very comfortable and very well taken care of by the staff at the Crown City Inn. We HIGHLY recommend it and would love to return there again for another stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_R1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 209 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

CCI has decent prices and is walkable to most locations in Coronado. The rooms are relatively small but have new bathrooms and good showers. Unfortunately, the walls are thin and we could hear the person in the room above us snoring most of the night. Free use of bikes, which is great.

The restaurant is very good, recommended even if you're not staying there.

Room Tip: Away from Orange Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAReviewer--CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thanks so much for reviewing the Crown City Inn. I'm glad you liked most of your stay.... Our building is an older one, so sometimes a louder guest in another room can ruin things, and I'm sorry for that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel receptionist was wonderfully accommodating with my complicated needs and very friendly. Fresh iced tea and cookies in the lobby. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms recently redone very tastefully. The beds were comfortable and there were many pillows. The pool was smaller but very nice and they have bikes you can borrow. The complex is on the smaller side and it is relatively quiet.
The location was great since it was dead middle on the main road and the parking wasn't too inconvenient, even late at night. I would definitely come back again!!

Room Tip: they seem to be similar...we shared a room with 2 double beds on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muffinjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Hi 'muffinjen'
Thanks so much for reviewing the Crown City Inn! All the things you listed that we did well are important, but I'm so glad that our front desk clerk was friendly and helpful. Number one importance is friendly and helpful staff, number two very clean rooms, etc. etc.... Hope to see you again soon! Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This hotel suits you if you are vacationing with your family and dogs or a business traveller, or wanting an affordable get away.Located on the main street of Coronado. Very clean and no indication in any room that they treat dogs as welcome family members unless you have your pet, in which case they get a treat pack and you are provided with a lost of pet sitters to walk your dog and keep it company while you are sightseeing. Very friendly service and an excellent Bistro on premises. Wi-fi available. Outdoor pool No room service. I stayed her many times and love it.

Room Tip: There is No fitness center or Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravlinATVmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you for your review! I'm so glad you noticed that we try very hard to keep ALL rooms very clean, including the pet designated rooms. I noticed you listed in your review that we do not have room service here at Crown City Inn, but we DO have room service! It is available during regular Crown Bistro business hours. I hope you'll try it next time you come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

After staying on business trip at an over- priced hotel across the bay I couldn't wait to stay here! It's such a great place for families! We loved all the extra touches like the internet, parking and laundry facilities. Didn't get to the pool or bikes, but they really add to the charm, as did the cookies, coffee and tea in the lobby. The rooms are clean and quaint. Location is excellent whether you are exploring Coronado or San Diego. Looking forward to next summer!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank geocacheaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

i love staying at this hotel. it has the best breakfast in town (yes the locals come here to eat, along with an occasional celebrity). the hotel is no frills and has the basic necessities but it provides a quiet night's sleep. it is more in the middle of town than near the hotel del but if you have a bike or car to get around town that should not be an issue. family and pet friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdyUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We came down for a long weekend with our dog. Our room was small but with the high ceiling, didn't feel too small. The staff was very helpful when we had little issues (knob missing from a/c, big standing puddle in front of our door) and in spite of the terrible weather, we had a nice time! The restaurant there is really, really good, and even worked with a friend of mine to deliver a nice surprise to our room for my birthday! A great location and a nice, non-conventional, affordable place to stay (with or without your pet!).

Room Tip: We paid a little extra to get a slightly larger room to accomodate the two of us and our medium size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomorebake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.3 mi away
Coronado Inn
Coronado Inn
#14 of 17 in Coronado
144 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
622 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown City Inn

Address: 520 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#5 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $137 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Coronado, CA, just across the San Diego/Coronado Bay Bridge from downtown San Diego. Crown City Inn is your affordable choice to stay close to the beach. We have a swimming pool, beach cruiser bicycles, and surf/boogie boards to borrow to play in the water. All rooms have complimentary Wi-Fi internet access. On-site Crown Bistro is a favorite with the locals and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service daily. Kids and pets are welcome. Both receive a goody bag at check-in. Don't miss our afternoon "tea" with homemade almond shortbread, oatmeal-cranberry cookies, thumbprint cookies and brownies; and coffee and iced tea bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crown City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown City Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing