We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and relaxing home away from home!”
Review of Crown City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown City Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stayed here for a family wedding on Coronado Island, and was pleasantly suprised at how spotlessly clean and nice the rooms are at such a reasonable price. The ladies at the front desk and the maids are all very helpful, and there is free coffee in the mornings, delicious cookies and brownies plus iced tea in the afternoons. Wonderful bistro on the premises (highlight - homemade jams for your breakfast toast), with attentive waitstaff. Easy walk to anywhere on the island you want to go, or borrow one of the inn's beachcruiser bikes. What a lovely place to relax at a terrific price!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesupian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 209 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2011

My wife and I decided to spend three nights here and are now talking about returning to Coronado next winter and possibly staying a month here (they have special weekly and monthly rates, btw). I can't say enough about the people who work here and the quality of everything we saw here. You can walk to any part of the city from the Ferry Terminal to the Hotel Del Coronado.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank country4man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

I first stayed here because I just needed a room at short notice on the island. Long story short I think I fell on my feet, it's a bargain - clean, excellent location, friendly staff.

Like some of the reviewers say, it's not 5* living but it punches way above it's weight. This is no typical motel/b&b.


No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank telnutkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Quite simply--it was beyond our expectations. Very enjoyable- CLEAN- and relaxing. For the person looking for a 5 star establishment -pass this by. But for the person looking for a great location, clean place to relax in between adventures-ENJOY. The price was very reasonable and the nice, personal touches add so much. Bistro attached was excellent. Ownership does a nice job of looking at things from the guest point of view. We will definitely be back when we come back to San Diego area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RefreshTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Crown City Inn appears to have been built in the 1940s, but it has been renovated (many times?) and at this point is a very pleasant and reasonable place to stay on a very pricey island. We stayed there recently (Nov, 2010) for 2 weekend nights and the price was $118/night. The room was clean & roomy enough and everything worked. The bed was fine (we have bad backs and pay special attention to that) and all the linens were very clean and displayed nicely. The TV had some minor problems which I reported and was told that they had had difficulty lately and would report it for repair.
Each afternoon they have iced tea and cookies in the lobby and there is coffee available 24/7.
The Bistro which adjoins the lobby is a real find. We had an excellent breakfast with some friends on the patio -- it was a nice sunny day -- and all of us were quite satisfied.
The pool, while not very big, was heated, clean and adequate for us to get some exercise and some sun.
We plan on returning to this Inn in the future as my son, wife & new baby live in neighboring Imperial Beach in a small apartment and we will be visiting them regularly.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilveryFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

what a gem of a place to stay!!! ITS AS CLEAN AS I HAVE EVER SEEN and the staff is very accomadating and pleasant.. parking is free and the grounds are lush and green and very well kept. we walked everywhere, as Vons grocery store and many good restaurants are within a few blocks from the hotel. we have a dog and he was welcomed with open arms, even given a doggie treat bag and his own bowls!! nice touch......cant wait to return someday soon to such a great little place to stay and to a beautiful island. we are convinced that coronado is far more beautiful and affordable than san diego.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoenixdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Awesome hotel on Coronado that's affordable! Here's what we liked: convenient to EVERYTHING, warm pool, helpful staff, great housekeeping service, cheap laundry rates, the kids loved the bathroom! The pool is small, but we had a great time nonetheless, no complimentary breakfast (though we knew that ahead of time), the bistro is good, but a bit spendy, the rooms are a bit small and we longed for our queen sized bed! Very comfy and clean though. Parking is very limited in the actual parking lot, but they have plenty of spaces in front on the street and in the back, we never had trouble parking. The bathroom was beautiful, sounds weird right? They have bikes available for you to ride, though we never had time to take advantage of that. Laundry was the cheapest I've seen....loved that! Overall a fantastic time! Loved walking down to the beach and all the great restaurants. Vonn's grocery store is close by and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank earnhardt8carfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.7 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coronado Inn
Coronado Inn
#14 of 17 in Coronado
144 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coronado Island Inn
Coronado Island Inn
#16 of 17 in Coronado
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown City Inn

Address: 520 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#5 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $137 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Coronado, CA, just across the San Diego/Coronado Bay Bridge from downtown San Diego. Crown City Inn is your affordable choice to stay close to the beach. We have a swimming pool, beach cruiser bicycles, and surf/boogie boards to borrow to play in the water. All rooms have complimentary Wi-Fi internet access. On-site Crown Bistro is a favorite with the locals and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service daily. Kids and pets are welcome. Both receive a goody bag at check-in. Don't miss our afternoon "tea" with homemade almond shortbread, oatmeal-cranberry cookies, thumbprint cookies and brownies; and coffee and iced tea bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crown City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown City Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing