We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changed for the Better”

Silver Strand State Beach
Ranked #4 of 40 things to do in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most beautiful beaches in the San Diego area, the Silver Strand Beach State Park is on the southern coast of Coronado.
Alpine, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Changed for the Better”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We recently enjoyed the long Veteran's Day weekend at Silver Strand State Beach. We REALLY enjoyed our time there. The first night there was a rowdy bunch partying down, but the noise cops came by and it got reasonably quiet after that. They lock the gates at 8:00 PM, so be in and be ready to stay in unless you have a bicycle.

The restrooms are located in the campgrounds and they keep them nice and clean and well stocked. The showers are a bit of a hike across Hwy 75 through an underground tunnel. There is also a pretty cool aquatic center on the same side as the showers. Showers take quarter, and like the nice lady at the booth said, it takes about three quarters for a "ladies' shower." I wouldn't know. I'm good with a quarter.

Walking on the beach is nice and if you like sand dollars, I can almost guarantee you will find some if you go out after dark with a flashlight. The live ones still have green cilia on them and we threw those back. Just collect the white ones.

You have your choice of places to eat: Imperial Beach is one direction and Coronado is the other.

The only reason I didn't go with that fifth star is the location of the showers and the fact that there is only one RV dump station. It would really cut down the wait time to clear out if they installed one more at a different place near one of the other restrooms.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    128
    30
    18
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax, bike skate, whatever.”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Good place to hang out, even people watch, while enjoying the beautiful scenery. The beach is part of a park with an activity trail traversing through it. Bring your bikes, skates or walking running shoes and enjoy the area. I am very fond of a walk to the nearby ferry landing.
Cheers!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

It doesn't seem possible that a beach in San Diego could be a well kept secret yet this beach is relatively unknown. I've only seen the beach crowded on the fourth of July, there are days when you have the entire area to yourself, especially on the south side. It's a little bit of a drive to get here, the beach is halfway between Imperial Beach and Coronado beach.

Warning, the Silver Strand is a natural beach, it isn't manicured daily like the big Coronado beaches. Seaweed often lines the sand at low tide. You can walk for ever and find seashells galore and you often see sea animals both alive and departed. On any given day you can see kite surfers, dolphins, Navy ships, surfers, fishermen and glorious sunsets.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank desederata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Our favorite beach anywhere”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have been to many of the San Diego beaches and this is the best one with white sand and a long stretch of it. The people watching is fun as there are lots of people from the military base training and lots of weddings too. If you need a beach wheelchair, as I did, you can get it from the lifeguard. It makes a walk on the beach very pleasant and is fairly easy to operate. It took me a while but I got the hang of it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Consultanttraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Free Therapy!!! :)”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

What a gorgeous beach. First time to west coast and glad this was my first beach! Can walk forever it seems. Kite boarders fun to watch. Going back today armed with water for longer walk.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjlsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Strand State Beach also viewed

 

Been to Silver Strand State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing