We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very BIG beach”

Silver Strand State Beach
Ranked #5 of 38 things to do in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most beautiful beaches in the San Diego area, the Silver Strand Beach State Park is on the southern coast of Coronado.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very BIG beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The beach was very wide and fun at low tide to walk way out into the ocean. We found sand dollars every day. The beach has some debris (dried weeds or kelp) that would be nice if it got picked up once in a while.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt_in_Minn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    119
    30
    17
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Teenage sons spent the day swimming and body boarding (hired locally) at the beach and had a great time. Local parking was free and only a short walk into town for the shops and restaurants. Patrolled by lifeguards, nice and clean and if you get bored of the views and water you can watch the military aircraft (helicoptors, jets & transporters) flying overhead and across the bay.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PMK6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and far away from crowds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've visited Silver Strand State Beach dozens of times over the past several years and always seem to find something there that's new for me. Sometimes, I find a lot of shells and other times not. Other times, I've been able to watch dolphins play in the waves but that didn't happen today either.

What made today's visit special was the tall thunderclouds in the distant mountains, clearly visible from the sand and I was able to take several pictures of them mirrored in the wet sand left behind by retreating waves. I was also able to snag some decent pictures of snowy plovers, which are an endangered species but are common there.

The sky was clear, the water was warm and it was a great day to be at that beach!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RmChairRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect, away from the crowds...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This beach is perfect for gentler waves and good seashell collecting on the ocean side. Parking was $10 and the beach was not crowded. The sand was unique, very dark gray with specks of shimmering gold, very pretty. Very clean, has the basic bathrooms and outdoor shower. Only flaw is that there are no restaurants, etc at the beach, you need to drive back into town for food. So pack your own if staying there for the day or do the 4 mile drive back into town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Upas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Beautiful Clean Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Someone suggested we try the beachs at Coronado for a cleaner, quieter atmosphere. Read about Silver Strand and decided to give it a try. Does take some time to get over the bridge with traffic. There are no services at the beach - just restrooms, outdoor shower, etc. But everything was very clean - the beach and water were wonderful. There are shells and I happened across a live black sand dollar. The sand sparkles in the sunlight with gold and black fleckes indicative of the lava from ancient volcanos. I would highly recommend this beach if you want a quiet clean atmosphere and take your own snacks. It does cost $10 per car to enter the beach area - but well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank spidersuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Strand State Beach also viewed

 

Been to Silver Strand State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing