We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chula Vista to Coronado”

Silver Strand State Beach
Ranked #5 of 38 things to do in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most beautiful beaches in the San Diego area, the Silver Strand Beach State Park is on the southern coast of Coronado.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chula Vista to Coronado”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great bike path to enjoy hours of riding. Never crowded and the State Park is a great place to play in the surf.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    120
    30
    18
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Private beach”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We came to this beach for a couple of hours. The resort provides a shuttle to take you across the road to the beach. They provide ou and the family with everything ou need--towels, chairs, boogie boards and sand toys. It was a very quiet part of the beach, only thing missing was somewhere to get food, but we were told that in advance so we brought our own snacks and drinks. The waves were massive that day so we had a blast! I am sure this was much quieter than the main Coronado beach and all the same sand!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventure_Seeker500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
233 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very quiet...easy access from the Loew's”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Loew's and took several walks over to Silver Strand. There is under-street tunnel access. Not at all busy, clean...nice place to stroll, enjoy the sunset, take pictures

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eugene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
333 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Lots of parking and not many people!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This beach is between Coronado and Imperial Beach. There is ample parking (you have to pay using the honor code as there's no guard at the entry). You can also park right at the entry for quick sunset pictures! The beach is wide and like many on the CA coast, there's lots of kelp. Great sunset views, and if you're staying at the Loews Coronado, there's a walkway and tunnel that lead you to the beach. The restrooms are clean and there are outside showers for your use.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SharonB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First time for us”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Basically a paved parking lot for self contained only Rv's on a sandy beach next to a restricted military beach. Was a unique experience to be able to step out directly on to a sandy beach. Sunset views were awesome and during the day we saw military battleships leaving San Diego on training exercises. You are not permitted to walk north on the beach-even saw patrols to stop people. Bring your bike as we road a nice level path to visit Coronado Island and it's historic 1800's hotel about 4 miles away. Opposite to this campground is a rental place for paddle boards, kayaks, sail boats, etc.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 04Honda599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Strand State Beach also viewed

 

Been to Silver Strand State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing