We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Poorly maintained, dirty, overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Village at The Del

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Village at The Del
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Poorly maintained, dirty, overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We rented a 2 bedroom loft unit with patio "hot tub" and the suite had the following issues: couch cushions were dirty and stained, living room carpet was stained, living room coffee table had "mucus" on it, hardwood floors were badly scratched and worn, kitchen glass was badly scratched, hallway paint was worn and marked.

We love the location of the Dell, but for the money would strongly recommend travellers save the money and stay at 1906, Marriott, Glorietta Bay Inn or Hyatt downtown for considerably less money and walk across to beach.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4familytravels4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We take great pride in delivering first-class guest accommodations and deeply regret you found your villa to be substandard. After learning of your dissatisfaction, the Beach Village team made several attempts to resolve the identified issues. We greatly appreciated the opportunity to work through your concerns while providing appropriate reparations for your inconvenience. Our sole intent was to enhance your experience so that your family could fully enjoy your nine-night stay. We were as disappointed as you that no resolution was satisfactory, and your family departed after the first night. We hope you enjoyed your remaining time in the San Diego area. Again, thank you for sharing your experience. Please contact me if I can further assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    25
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
73
44
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at the Beach Villas at The Del, Coronado in July 2012 for 4 days.
We're going back in July 2013.

not one for going back to the same hotel - simply because its never quite as good as the 1st time.
that said, we really enjoyed the place, the whole trip was excellent. Staff were attentive and very friendly - they couldn't do more for you if they tried!

Room Tip: we took a 2 bedroom ocean view apartment. great views and amazing sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Beach Village at the Del is the more upscale, modern and luxurious section of the Hotel del Coronado. I booked at the Beach Village after looking online at the rather ordinary and small rooms and suites in the main historic building. This is to be forgiven as most historic hotels have very small rooms and suites.

We had a ground floor Beach Village "cottage" directly on the beachfront (separated by a walking path and fence) for approximately $1,500 per night. I have no problem spending $1,500 per night if the room is flawless and has the commiserate service to create value for money spent. Unfortunately in the case of the Beach Village it simply didn't deliver.

The good to bad:

1.) Location is superb if you're looking for an urban beach holiday. Excellent beachfront location in a very pleasant part of San Diego. As a tourist it was wonderful but I wouldn't choose it for business unless the meeting was at the Del.

2.) Our beachfront cottage was bright and sunny but not spacious. The small bedroom was separated from the living room by sliding pocket doors. The living room / dining room were together and very cramped. The sofa and furniture were truly horrible; there wasn't a comfortable chair to sit on in the entire cottage! For $1,500 per night I expect good quality and comfortable furniture!

The only decent chairs were the chaise lounges on the patio. The patio was wonderful with a fire pit. However the ground floor beachfront cottages are not private. Thousands of pedestrians are passing by on the walking path at all hours and many were gawkers. There was NO privacy.

The cottage did not have a work desk which was very irritating. Overall the cottage is far TOO SMALL and not well appointed enough to justify the $1,500 nightly price tag.

3.) Housekeeping was mediocre. The room was very dusty but after making a call they quickly rectified the problems and gave the room a deep clean. However I expect the room to be impeccably cleaned prior to my check-in, not afterwards.

4.) Pool area is separate at the Beach Village. It was pleasant but nothing exceptional. However it was much more peaceful and less crowded than the main Hotel Del pool. Drinks service was quick with friendly servers.

5.) Valet and bell service at the Beach Village were 5 star top quality. Quick, efficient and very friendly.

6.) Dining was horrible. We had a very poor dinner at the historic cottage which also serves as the reception for the Beach Village. Mediocre food and slow service. Understaffing was evident.

7.) The breakfast buffet at the main Hotel Del was a joke. Very long waits and guests being given PAGERS for a breakfast buffet!! And all of this while entire sections of the buffet dining room were closed off due to inadequate staffing levels. When asked why empty tables weren't being seated the hostess blatantly lied and said "there are reservations for those tables".

Excuse me? Reservations for a breakfast buffet? I was there for two hours and never noticed the supposed reservations showing up and occupying those tables. Nor did I see staff to attend the section.

In summary I would never return to the Beach Village at the Del nor the Hotel Del Coronado. There are better places to splurge.

Room Tip: I don't believe there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Ideal for a romantic getaway or to relax and unwind on your own. Most memorable moment: morning yoga on the beach. The beach villas are pricey but wel worth the money. The grounds a re pristine and the food is amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinstylemiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
192 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

pro
- beautiful location right on the beach (we had a cottage guestroom in the first row)
- luxurious guestroom
- big balcony with comfy chairs
- several nicely designed pools right on the beach
- friendly guys at the valet parking (we found they offered the best staff service and were the most friendly)

cons
-service inconsistent (forgot to call uns when room was ready, we waited for 2 hours)
- breakfast is buffet and casual style, but we felt like in a low key self service restaurant (plastic mug for tea).
- windsor cottage is a rather shabby building, chairs are worn out and dirty from the birds. Birds are a big problem (many are around during breakfast)
- staff were having fun together rather than serve you for breakfast, we did not feel welcome
- breakfast selection was ok, but nothing special (espresso costs extra, coffee from the big can was awful)
- dinner at sheerwater (hotel del) was the worst dinner we had during our 3 weeks in the states. The food, the wine, the service, everything was disappointing.
- public space at the beach bar at the del again was low key with sparkling wine in plastic cup, food is self service and delivered on a plastic tray
- room service was inconsistent, sometimes items not replaced, sometimes not cleaned...
- no real privacy on the room balcony (only separated by a small, low wooden "door"

Considering the price for the room, the service, place, food etc. should be top notch. This place is not worth the price at all.
This is a hotel that wants to be 5 stars, but misses for food, service and quality. Would come here for a day trip but not to stay here again.

Room Tip: front row on the beach, corner room (more privacy), upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank luxuryvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have stayed at the Hotel Del many times over the years, but never the Beach Village. We will only stay there from now on, from the moment we arrived, we were treated with such attentiveness! Maria came to get us, the valet parked our car, she showed us around, our room was a junior suite right on the ocean, and we never left the property for 5 days. It was also USD parent weekend, and our son came to stay with us overnight. Room service will remember us as the white cheddar burger family, but for kids who eat cafeteria food all month, the resort and it's amenities were great for him too! The Windsor cottage breakfast staff is wonderful, the are so friendly, and the food is great. We do s'mores on the beach and sheer water, moo time has
excellent gelato. Pricey, expect a large bill at check out, but so worth it compared to other pricey resorts we have been to, you get more than what you paid for.

Room Tip: Ocean front junior suite was roomy, we had 1209
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
351 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Every time we come to San Diego we always stay in Coronado because of the beach. Staying at the beach villas you can't do better for location. The views are magnificent. The villas are beautiful and well equipped but some funny design faults. We had the middle suite with a full kitchen but the closet space is no bigger than a small coat closet. No place to store luggage after you unpack so you have to see it your whole stay. A huge safe takes space in the closet so your dresses cannot hang properly. The rooms are very expensive but I did not get what I ordered or was promised. I asked for a downstairs suite with the fire pit lit each night but when I got there I was put on the upstairs and was told I did not pay for the fire pit. They went to check the notes in my reservation and saw that I had ordered this but they said they could not accommodate me as they were full. They offered to give us a fire on the beach for one night of our stay. I did not think this was good enough. They should of offered the fire pit for free on our next stay or given us some free services or a discount off the room.

Please do not get me wrong. This is a beautiful place. However, when you pay $1400.00 a night for a room you expect to get what you ordered. Checking in just left a bad taste in my mouth.

Making reservations are a bit screwed up because I tried to also book 6 rooms in January and I was told they were completely sold out. Stephanie from concierge called me to see if I would like to make some reservations for dinner and I asked her to check for January to see if any rooms had opened up and they were completely wide open. Stephanie was able to get a entire villa for us and also arranged for a private chef for one night to do a clambake on the beach for us. Stephanie was fantastic but I learned to book directly with Beach Villas and not the hotel.

You cannot beat the location and view but disappointed in service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#2 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#4 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Village at The Del? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Village at The Del

Property: Beach Village at The Del
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118-2918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Village at The Del 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive oceanfront enclave of one, two and three bedroom luxury residential-style cottages and villas within the iconic setting of the legendary Hotel del Coronado. Units feature spacious dining and living great rooms with cozy fireplaces, and gourmet kitchens. All guests receive amenities such as complimentary breakfast at the oceanfront Windsor Cottage, personal concierge service, upgraded in-room dining options and much more. With exceptional accommodations, unmatched amenities and genuine service, this island retreat reinvents the resort's timeless charm for the 21st century and takes the quintessential beach lifestyle to a new level of sophistication and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Beach Village at The Del reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Village At The Del Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing