We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (864)
Filter reviews
864 results
Traveler rating
439
278
81
36
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
439
278
81
36
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mexican restaurant across the street spanish style great location one bedroom suite charming hotel full kitchen within walking distance beautiful courtyard coronado island shops and restaurants old world street parking short walk to the beach orange ave san diego ivy
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 864 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

Sarina was amazing! We stayed in suite 26 last night which was beautiful. We were only staying one night initially but we're so happy with the room we decided to stay another night! We are eating at Miguel's restaurant inside the hotel right now and are working on some tasty margaritas in good company with great service. Highly recommend this amazing Hotel!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Jacob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven M, Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2016

Dear Jacob,

Thank you for taking the time to write this thorough review! We here at El Cordova Hotel appreciate it when our guests take the time to give us good feedback. We’re excited to see that you decided to stay with us an extra night! Our staff works hard to make your experiences as wonderful as possible, and whenever they’re complimented we’re sure to let them know, especially exceptional individuals. We’re so glad you had a delightful stay with us, and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2016

Only stayed a night...walking distance to restaurants and main attractions...the room was great and was cute. It just smelled a little musty....I would recommend it if you are going to this cute town. .

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven M, Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2016

Thank you for your recommendation and sharing that you thought the room was cute and close enough to walk to many great destinations! And we also appreciate the feedback regarding the musty smell and will look in to the matter. Thank you again and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2016

The hotel is extremely charming and in an excellent location in Coronado, with almost everything necessary walking distance, including the beach.
It took me about 20 minutes to get checked because there was no one at the front desk for a while. Several guests and I were there for a wedding celebration and there were a few issues with bookings and repairs going on at the hotel on a holiday weekend. Since there is a restaurant in the middle of the property, the workers there did nothing to take into consideration the guests at the hotel. You could hear noise from the restaurant slamming and moving chairs, moving dishes around, and many others early in the morning. The hotel rooms slam if you don't hold them shut, so thetr was constant noise from other guests slamming doors, which pretty much shook the walls. Definitely not a place to get any good time sleep, but if outside, it was great. My room also did not have functioning AC.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nellie155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2016

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to know you found the hotel charming but disappointed to learn that you were dissatisfied with some things, including the long check in time and noise from the restaurant. We will look in to these concerns and work hard to improve. We would love the opportunity to replace your negative experience with new positive one, so we hope you will consider staying with us again if your travels bring you back to Coronado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2016

Thank you to El Cordova and staff for your charming, old world hospitality. The hotel's staff was more than accommodating - professional and pleasant. We stayed in a two bedroom Suite above Miguel's Cocina. We had friends visit for an evening 50th birthday celebration. Miguel's provided the food - with Gabe and Miguel ensuring that every detail was attended to, including extra napkins, plates, serving utensils,etc. Both of these guys and the servers that assisted were so friendly, helpful, and fun! The food was absolutely delicious. Magnificent stay!

Room tip: Keep in mind that the Suite above Miguel's may come along with a bit of noise from the restaurant in the early morning hours as they bring in produce and prepare for the day - That said, when we asked them to let us sleep in - they all tried to keep it more quiet. Didn't impact our stay overall.
Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wisereve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven M, Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2016

We here at El Cordova thank you for your kind review and appreciation of our staff and "old world hospitality". Our team works hard to make sure every guest gets the special attention they deserve, and it is so good to know we were able to help make the 50th birthday celebration a success! We hope your travels bring you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2016

I've been staying at El Cordova every time I visit Coronado, which began in 1978! While the rooms may be too funky for some travelers, I find the property very charming. An added bonus is Miguel's Cocina is located right on the premises.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hillcountrysupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven M, Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2016

Thank you so much for the kind words and being a loyal customer of El Cordova Hotel for so many years. That truly is an honor. We cannot tell you how wonderful it is to hear that you think we are the "best hotel in Coronado"! We hope that you stay with us again soon and for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews