We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Cordova Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel del Coronado(Coronado)
$353
$309
Curio.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Loews Coronado Bay Resort(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$229
Loews Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$288
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
El Rancho Motel(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$129
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coronado Inn(Coronado)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown City Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
1906 Lodge(Coronado)
$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Capri by the Sea(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$239
$209
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glorietta Bay Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$215
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveler rating
335
266
79
36
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
266
79
36
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmexican restaurantacross the streetspanish stylegreat locationone bedroom suitesmall kitchencharming hotelfull kitchencoronado islandbeautiful courtyardwithin walking distanceshops and restaurantspool and hot tubthe staff was friendly and helpfulstreet parkingliving areashort walk to the beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
416 - 421 of 743 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nites after the Memorial weekend and had a great time due to the location that allowed us to go to the beach and nearby restaurants without needing to drive.

Our room was upstairs and a 2 bedroom (bathroom with the master room, and there were 2 beds in the second room along with a 2nd bathroom. In addition there was a kitchen and small living area.

Note that there is no parking on the property, but we were able to do so on the surface streets nearby with some good guidance from the staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the busy and lively Mexican restaurant (which is very good)
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonoranDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickCunningham, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

It is always fantastic for us to hear about a guest taking advantage of our ideal location! Thank you for your compliments of our staff and grounds. It was our pleasure to host your family during your summer vacation. We look forward to accommodating you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Can't bet the location! Right across the street from 'the Del' and easy walking distance to beautiful beaches. Beautiful Spanish courtyard. We were able to check in early and it was much appreciated after a 6 hour drive from Arizona. From the front check in clerk, to maintenance personnel and maid service we were always greeted nicely. We were put in room 119, which is in the back area away from the courtyard and pool area. This room location was very quiet as we heard no noise from the pool area or the outside dining area at Miguel's restaurant that is in the common courtyard area. Having no on site parking was a bit odd but there are plenty of meters around the hotel and places to park in the residential areas. We will stay at El Cordova the next time we plan a vacation to Coronado Island.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarleyMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickCunningham, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you for your review of El Cordova Hotel! We are so happy that you were able to take advantage of our grounds, our location near the local beaches, and enjoy a relaxing vacation. Thank you for highlighting some of the parking options we have available to our guests. We hope that between metered, residential, and private parking all of our guests will be able to enjoy easy accessibility to our hotel. We would love the opportunity to host your family in the future. Please reach out to us for the best available rate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I cannot say enough about the price, quality and location of the hotel. We had a wonderful stay in a very charming suite. The Del is right across the street with excellent beach access. Many great restaurants and shops are within walking distance. Breakfast is essentially cold cereal, donuts and pastries, but they give you a coupon for a discount at other breakfast eateries in the area. Parking is somewhat difficult because you must find your own space on the street. Because an alley to several restaurants is right behind the hotel, the mornings can be somewhat noisy. We did not hear any nightly noise from the restaurants and bars in close proximity to hotel. The positives far outweigh any negatives and we plan to stay here each time we visit Coronado, which is about twice a year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground level are larger and more accessible.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 997natalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickCunningham, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you so much for your review of El Cordova Hotel! Coronado Island parking is limited; however our guest services staff is more than happy to direct our guests to the best available options. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at El Cordova Hotel. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had a room that did not have much noise from the places below (we were upstairs in a two room suite with a small kitchen, 2 bedrooms, and a living space. Love the proximity to the ocean and the shops along Orange. We will stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask about location relative to the Mexican restaurant as it could be noisy later in the evening.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanDonison, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. The beach being just a short walk away is quite a luxury here in Coronado that's definitely hard to beat and our centralized location along Orange Avenue is very convenient for all the great local shops and dining.

We look forward to your next stay with us here in the Crown City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Here's the good:

The El Cordova has some charm in it's design and the early 20th Century building it occupies. There are several restaurants in or adjacent to the property, and most conveniently, the Del Coronado (and it's beach access) is directly across the street.

Here's the not-so-good:

Miguel's (Mexican Cuisine) which is located on the property, is average at best. More importantly, you'll read several critical reviews of the rooms that are next to, or above the restaurant. I can see why people complained and I would recommend that you verify which room you'll be in before you arrive.

The continental breakfast could use some work as well. The spread is a mix of out of the box doughnuts, pastries, cereal and (sometimes) apples & bananas. I would not recommend paying any extra for this, you'll be better off getting some breakfast foods at the VONS down the street and keeping it in your room if you want to save some money.

Although some have taken great issue with the lack of parking, I'll admit that its inconvenient, but not a deal killer. Just be aware that you'll have to park temporarily in front of the hotel and then move your car on to one of the neighborhood streets next to the property. We always found a place to park and you won't have to pay if you're two blocks over (everything next to the property is metered).

Here's the bad:

Several hours after checking out and while still on Coronado, we realized that my daughter's iPad had been left on the bed in our room. We contacted the hotel immediately and was told that nothing had been turned in by housekeeping. We went back to the hotel where the girl working the desk was very helpful and took me back to the room, which had been cleaned but NOT occupied by another guest. We double checked the room and verified that the iPad had been removed and that the room was secure prior to and after house keeping cleaned it.

The following day I had a less than helpful contact with another employee, when I called to double check and speak with a manager. I eventually received a call from the General Manager who genuinely seemed concerned and had done some research on his part (prior to his call) to verify if the device was still on the property and who had cleaned the room. I appreciated the effort, but kind words are little conciliation after having a $400 iPad stolen by someone who works at the hotel you just stayed in.

Ultimately, we left the El Cordova with an apology and a bad taste in our mouths (so to speak) about our experience. As of this review, the person who committed the theft is probably still employed there. This is a perfect example of one person who represents the hotel, changing what would've been a mostly positive four star rating, to three with concerns ( and a warning) about the security of belongings to other guests. To be clear, I kept the average rating (in spite of our experience) because of the other employees and the General Manager who assisted us.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above or next to the restaurant. If your room faces the alley, keep your windows closed and air conditioner on at night, as the loading trucks in the morning will wake you up.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews