We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming...but a little too rustic”
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming...but a little too rustic”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place really is cute. You walk into the lobby and are transported back to a less hectic time. The early california tile and decor are lovely and a welcome change from more sterile hotels. The problems?? A bathroom so small you can barely turn around in it, carpet worn and unattractive, peeling paint, odd odors...and generally just a little too rustic to get a higher score. The parking problem is REALLY annoying (you have to find an empty spot in a residential area several blocks away..or feed the parking meter every two hours!). it does have a great location and helpful staff that balance it out a little, but if youre expecting classy, go across the street to hotel Del!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you want any room! also try to be as far away from restaurant as possible for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chivato09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    248
    76
    34
    27
See reviews for
249
236
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lufkin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Best Coronado location... car not needed. Historic boutique hotel with clean, spacious rooms & suites.
Friendly staff with sincere, personalized service.
Best price/value hotel on the island.
"Hats off" to staff mgt... Nathan, Rafael & Mica Jackson (Gen. Mgr.).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had high expectations from what we saw on other reviews. Unfortunately this place did not live up to what we expected- far from it. We booked a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen and living room. We asked for a recently upgraded unit, which we got. First, there is no parking. If you have ever been in Coronado, you know that this spot is very congested. The lobby is a little shabby and needs some TLC. The people checking us in were pleasant and warm. They gave us the key to our room & the rest is downhill from here. We walked through a courtyard between two kitchens from the Mexican restaurant Miguel's to find our room. The entire courtyard stunk like greasy tortillas. It was so bad that it literally turned my stomach. It was loud and there were constantly kitchen workers going from kitchen to kitchen and then eating their food out in the courtyard. We walked into our dark, dingy room and thought "oh no!" I said I can't stay here. It was so dark and smelly. There was mold growing on the wall near the kitchen, the stove was filthy and the bathroom didn't look updated in many, many years. The bed was firm, flimsy. Our unit looked out to the back alley. We said "ok" lets just pretend we are camping. I asked te front desk of we could have another room- the front desk staff was really nice and showed me a couple of other rooms. One wasn't an updated room (wow, I can't believe they actually book those) an the other was right in front of Miguel's (really loud). Needless to stay we got our money back and left as soon as possible. Don't take your chances by staying here, unless of course you don't mind smells from a greasy kitchen, dark and dingy rooms. Pay the money and stay somewhere else. This place needs a major overhaul!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NapaLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for the feedback concerning your stay. It surprises me to learn that the renovated room you were placed in was noisy and smelled of Mexican food. As you may have seen, we have many guests specifically request Courtyard facing rooms, because these rooms are located away from the restaurant. Our regulars love the fact that these rooms are next to the pool and the ability to use the grills to cook meals. I will be personally inspecting this room with my head of Housekeeping for any defects to the bedding and uncleanliness in the kitchen and bathroom.

We have more rooms scheduled for renovations starting early 2014. As with all guests, I invite you to revisit us next summer. I am confident that you will see that the previous stay is not the experience that many enjoy here at the El Cordova Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Group of us stayed August 2013 for a wedding that was held on Coronado Island. Very beautiful hotel with polite staff, comfortable beds with spacious living area. Location was extremely accessible to variety of shops and dining. I would recommend a two thumbs up stay for this property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttemp755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Perfect location, actually has style and character instead of being cookie cutter blah, and for high season & weekend, value was unmatched. Even includes complimentary continental breakfast that was quite a spread.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are small, but perfectly adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at El Cordova for a couple of days in the winter of 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. This time not so much.

The room we'd reserved (#93) was large enough and clean and the bed turned out to be very comfortable. The room's location was probably not the best, at the end of a tiled walkway leading to the Mexican restaurant in the center of the courtyard. A lot of noise echoed along the walkway and into the room. The manager on duty showed us another available room but it lacked the refrigerator we needed. We always carry earplugs so we said we could manage in #93.

My wife's special diet required us to keep some things refrigerated and by the evening we noticed that the fridge was not working. I went online to try to figure out what might be wrong and found that the temperature dial was missing. We called the front desk explained the problem and asked if we could borrow some needle nosed pliers to adjust the temp. The manager arrived with a pair of scissors saying she had no maintenance help and no key to the maintenance room. So I followed the directions I'd found, unplugged the fridge, waited three minutes, plugged it back in and it started. It didn't keep things very cold but it worked.

In addition to the problem with the fridge, the screen in the bathroom had fallen halfway off and the adjuster on the shower head was broken and water poured out rather than sprayed. The sign on the toilet told us to conserve water by re-using our towels. I thought a lot more could be saved by fixing the shower head.

Sometimes and at some places these things wouldn't have added up to much. But we were paying $250/night and for that we expected better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in room 93. Most of our guests enjoy the location of the room and the fact that it has a full kitchen, separated shower and bath tub. I alerted our Maintenance Department concerning the problems with the refrigerator and shower. I have also spoken with the Front Desk Manager to ensure that all desk agents understand how to perform small repairs in rooms when necessary.

I hope that you will give our hotel another chance. If you decide to return to Coronado in the future please give me a call directly. Thanks again for staying at the El Cordova Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California, Usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This little hotel is an eclectic place with a variety of rooms. No two rooms are alike! Each has their own style. We were able to take a tour of some rooms. and liked each one. On the first day we stayed in room 15. Good views, nice little "patio" I would only recommend this for a couple. The kitchen is tiny, microwave could be better. Fridge is small. It had a wonderful table for four in the corner of the room, In the evening there was always a long line for the restaurant, Miguel's. Can be a bit noisy however, nothing a closed window couldn't cure. Living room was roomy. Could use newer furniture as the hide a bed was lumpy and worn out. The curtains had stains on them. Still the most unique room we have ever stayed. Christina was the best!!!!! Mica could be seen throughout the hotel and always asked how we were doing. DO NOT GO INTO THE STORE treasures of the heart!! although a great store with lots of unique gifts. The young man working there was standoffish and a snob. I really believed he judged us by the way we looked. No customer service from him! I went down the street and found same items (more expensive) with good customer service. It makes a huge difference. We fully intend on return in the off season. Great location, we found good parking in the residential area (Free) The Del is across the street. VERY CROWDED and expensive. The beach was beautiful, clean and their bathrooms were fully stocked! Great law enforcement presence. Had a wonderful time. A must go and stay there place.

Room Tip: The rooms on the side of the brigantine restaurant were quiet and had an extra security door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,014 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coronado Beach Resort
Coronado Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Property: El Cordova Hotel
Address: 1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cordova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelClick, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing