We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't beat it for the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
“Can't beat it for the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Perfect location, actually has style and character instead of being cookie cutter blah, and for high season & weekend, value was unmatched. Even includes complimentary continental breakfast that was quite a spread.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are small, but perfectly adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    239
    76
    34
    27
See reviews for
242
230
21
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at El Cordova for a couple of days in the winter of 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. This time not so much.

The room we'd reserved (#93) was large enough and clean and the bed turned out to be very comfortable. The room's location was probably not the best, at the end of a tiled walkway leading to the Mexican restaurant in the center of the courtyard. A lot of noise echoed along the walkway and into the room. The manager on duty showed us another available room but it lacked the refrigerator we needed. We always carry earplugs so we said we could manage in #93.

My wife's special diet required us to keep some things refrigerated and by the evening we noticed that the fridge was not working. I went online to try to figure out what might be wrong and found that the temperature dial was missing. We called the front desk explained the problem and asked if we could borrow some needle nosed pliers to adjust the temp. The manager arrived with a pair of scissors saying she had no maintenance help and no key to the maintenance room. So I followed the directions I'd found, unplugged the fridge, waited three minutes, plugged it back in and it started. It didn't keep things very cold but it worked.

In addition to the problem with the fridge, the screen in the bathroom had fallen halfway off and the adjuster on the shower head was broken and water poured out rather than sprayed. The sign on the toilet told us to conserve water by re-using our towels. I thought a lot more could be saved by fixing the shower head.

Sometimes and at some places these things wouldn't have added up to much. But we were paying $250/night and for that we expected better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in room 93. Most of our guests enjoy the location of the room and the fact that it has a full kitchen, separated shower and bath tub. I alerted our Maintenance Department concerning the problems with the refrigerator and shower. I have also spoken with the Front Desk Manager to ensure that all desk agents understand how to perform small repairs in rooms when necessary.

I hope that you will give our hotel another chance. If you decide to return to Coronado in the future please give me a call directly. Thanks again for staying at the El Cordova Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California, Usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This little hotel is an eclectic place with a variety of rooms. No two rooms are alike! Each has their own style. We were able to take a tour of some rooms. and liked each one. On the first day we stayed in room 15. Good views, nice little "patio" I would only recommend this for a couple. The kitchen is tiny, microwave could be better. Fridge is small. It had a wonderful table for four in the corner of the room, In the evening there was always a long line for the restaurant, Miguel's. Can be a bit noisy however, nothing a closed window couldn't cure. Living room was roomy. Could use newer furniture as the hide a bed was lumpy and worn out. The curtains had stains on them. Still the most unique room we have ever stayed. Christina was the best!!!!! Mica could be seen throughout the hotel and always asked how we were doing. DO NOT GO INTO THE STORE treasures of the heart!! although a great store with lots of unique gifts. The young man working there was standoffish and a snob. I really believed he judged us by the way we looked. No customer service from him! I went down the street and found same items (more expensive) with good customer service. It makes a huge difference. We fully intend on return in the off season. Great location, we found good parking in the residential area (Free) The Del is across the street. VERY CROWDED and expensive. The beach was beautiful, clean and their bathrooms were fully stocked! Great law enforcement presence. Had a wonderful time. A must go and stay there place.

Room Tip: The rooms on the side of the brigantine restaurant were quiet and had an extra security door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The El Cordova is a must stay for anyone who doesn't want to deal with the high energy and cost of the Del. The location is prime... just a short stroll to the beautiful combed and manicured beach, restaurants and shops that line Orange. We stayed here for 4 nights the last week of July and it was perfect!! The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was charming and had everything we needed including a full kitchen. The windows looked out onto the enchanted courtyards with brick walkways with flowers everywhere. There was free coffee and tea in the lobby all day and night for guests. They have a nice continental breakfast (cereal, pastries, milk, OJ, coffee, apple & oranges) till 10am which is nice for us travelers who like to sleep in a bit. OR... if you choose you can use your vouchers for $4 off at the french crepe place on the property. Our room was quite close to fabulous Miguels so we were able to put our names in and go back to our room to relax for a few minutes before our name was called:)) Everything was so close, we walked and biked everywhere and never left Coronado Island at all. The room was quiet, the bed and linens were comfortable, and the windows were double pained and had great black out curtains. The only only thing I should forewarn of was the parking. There is none for the hotel per say. We checked in at 5pm after having driven from AZ, so we parked in front of the hotel and fed the meter (which are VERY cheap!! but can only be used for 2 hours) til 6pm when the parking is free and you can stay there till 8am the next morning. We actually waited till that night and re-parked down a residential street about a block and a half from the hotel (per hotel staff recommendation) and left our car there for the next 4 days and nights and it was just fine. The walk from the car was short and great for house drooling... so many lovely homes on this island!! When we left, we pulled our car up to the curb, fed the meter, loaded up our stuff and pulled away... easy as pie :)) We stayed mid week though... so... a weekend stay could be a different story. I loved this little hotel, We will definitely be back to the El Cordova.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toonsets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel was extremely clean and well cared for. The grounds were gorgeous. The restaurants in the hotel (Miguel's Mexican) were off the hook. I loved how close it is (walking distance) to everything! The staff was very helpful and nice.

A couple of reasons they didn't get perfect rating is the continental breakfast was all cold pastries and cereal. I would have preferred something warm along with the basic Danish and pastry bites. ALSO, they are trying to improve it, but sometimes our showers went all HOT or all COLD.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Conviently located to all that's to see in Coronado. Room was okay; a bit tired looking. Had a musty smell. Good enough for one night. No parking; at all. Unsat. Good enough for short stays of 1-3 days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our stay at the El Cordova was quite enjoyable. The rooms are a bit dated but clean and comfortable. We booked the 2 bedroom family suite for the 3 adults in our party and found it to be very spacious. The bathroom was small but adequate, the shower did need some playing with to get the right temperature but, once you got the hang of it there was no problem. Everyone associated with the hotel was wonderful and so friendly. The continental breakfast is a plus and if you don't want that you can use the vouchers for a discount at the crepe restaurant at the hotel. This hotel is located in a great place and we had a wonderful time. We would definitely go back the next time we visit Coronado!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jersey206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,954 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coronado Beach Resort
Coronado Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Property: El Cordova Hotel
Address: 1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cordova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing