We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique "Boutique" Hotel”
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the El Cordova hotel on Coronado Island in San Diego a long time ago when our kids were younger. Since the 90’s the place has really burgeoned into a great spot for dining and shopping. Just across the street is the historic Hotel Del Coronado with upscale dining & shops, and the beach and beach walk are right there as well. But back to the El Cordova—an old estate complex that is converted into restaurants and shops on the lower floors, with a center courtyard containing outdoor grill stations, seating, and a small (heated) pool & hot tub. The upstairs accommodate a variety of hotel rooms & suites. We booked a 2-bedroom 2-bath suite to cover 4 adults and a child (on the sofabed in the living area) during our daughter’s wedding. It suited us very well, the outside stairway up to it began from the courtyard, very steep, and our suite was just above a Mexican restaurant, and a French creperie. The suite itself was furnished with very old furniture, not decorated or refurbished recently, I am guessing. But there were 3 flatscreen tvs, one in the living area, one in the queensize bedroom, and one in the 2-double beds room. The kitchen was small but useful, no dishwasher or ice maker, just a sink, small frig, microwave & cabinets with limited dishware.

Bathrooms are old fashioned tub/shower and tiny sink area. No exhaust fans.

Our suite had 2 separate closet areas, with an ironing board & iron.

The beds were comfy, but if your windows are streetside like ours were, be careful dressing—there are no screens, so when you crank open the windows in the bedroom or the bathroom, it’s all right there below you.

Pros: All you need to do is emerge from your room for a variety of activities within walking distance. Park once and you can shop, go to the beach, tour the Del Coronado, traverse the sidewalks to browse lots of eateries, etc.

The restaurants below & surrounding the hotel & courtyard are awesome.

Great for a wedding or reunion, where many different family members can book various accommodations at the same place and congregate

Prices more reasonable than the Del Coronado, and location was excellent

Cons: No elevators but Raphael was very helpful in lugging up our suitcases to the second floor room. If you cannot negotiate stairs well, this may be restrictive for some travelers.

Parking is $8 a day in the public lot, or streetside right outside the hotel for $0.25 an hour, 2 hours max. during the day, free overnight. We just kept quarters in our pockets and every time we walked out, fed the machines, cheaper than the lot option.

Restaurant noise early in the morning just outside, as all the rooms are connected with the courtyard which houses the restaurants. Also street noise with windows open at night as well.

Old, nostalgic Mexico décor, small bathrooms (TINY), and VERY LIMITED ELECTRICAL OUTLETS & MIRRORS—bring your own powerstrip if you want to use a curling iron or lighted makeup mirror while charging your phone or ipod or nook!

Room Tip: The standard hotel room for $99 is so small, our married children couldn’t fit comfortably in just a...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crashchristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
There are newer reviews for El Cordova Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 709 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

The front desk guys need a lesson on etiquette. I came for my wedding and not only did they overdraw my account... they were rude to my incoming family and guests. BUT its a price to pay for such a great location. It really is a nice hotel...just train the desk better.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaManson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction that you experienced with the front desk. I have shared your comments with the department head for a thorough investigation and staff retraining in necessary. We understand that weddings are very special occasions, and the last thing that I want to do is to make it more difficult than it already is.

I do not feel that your experience is typical of the level of service that we strive to provide. My staff is committed to providing excellent service for each and every guest that stays here. I hope that you will give us another chance should your travels bring you to Coronado again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Neat, cozy hotel right across the street from the famous Coronado Hotel. El Cordova is located a block from the Imperial Beach. You can walk the beach coastline or on the paved sidewalk near the beach for a two mile walk, stroll, or jog. If you are not one to exercise sit on the beach and watch the surfers, military jets or helicopters in the air. There are many gift shops on Orange Street to walk in and out of for those who love to shop. El Cordova also includes breakfast with your stay. Breakfast is at a nearby French restaurant. You have a choice of fresh oranges or apples, oatmeal, cereal, muffins, or a breakfast taco. Our room was adequate. Nothing fancy with a queen size bed, big screen TV, coffee any time, small shower but decorated with Spanish tiles. I'd stay here again any day. Pool on site was open 9 until 9 P.M. with warm water and a very comfortable hot tub too.

Room Tip: We had room 116 on the second floor. View-nothing special but nice and quiet at night.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

When we got to the hotel the staff were very friendly. We were assigned room 14 which had a few ants in the tub and 2 on the bed. When we told the front desk, the manager was extremely apologetic and stated that it was not an excuse, but they had been working on the pipes in that room earlier. He immediately upgraded us to a suite (room 47). This room was very nice and very clean. The rooms have high ceilings and lots of storage. It has an old Spanish theme which is very unique.

The location of the hotel is fabulous. Right across from The Del and the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy1234_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Several family members gathered here for a celebration occurring nearby. We liked the convenient location, within easy walking of just about everything Coronado has to offer. We also liked that this isn't a generic hotel, but one with varied rooms and some charm. One can have an unpleasant view (the roof vents of a restaurant) or a good bit of noise from the street or one of the restaurants that share the buildings, but the rooms are reasonably priced and our suite was spacious. We were disappointed that the phone and internet was out for most of our 3-day stay, but the hotel did take a bit off the bill for that inconvenience. Overnight parking is available nearby for a reasonable fee. We wish that the complimentary breakfast was of better quality, but there is plenty of complimentary coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I went to San Diego for a Jason Aldean Concert, Coronado and the El Cordova Hotel were easily accessible locations to the Chula Vista Amphitheatre and enabled me to enjoy my favorite things during my short visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at El Cordova, mostly because of its proximity to everything in Coronado. We were able to park our car, and didn't have to even move it the entire time. The room was comfortable. The bathroom was too small and needed a shelf or basket for belongings. There wasn't even a place to put a brush or toiletries. The internet connection was slow. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay. The restaurants were welcoming and convenient. There was lots to do--shopping, beach, a play, biking. We rode bikes to the ferry landing, crossed the bay, and rode bikes along the harbor. What a great vacation! We will come again, but get one of the suites next time.

Room Tip: Pick one of the suites if you want a bigger bathroom.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getawaygirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I also feel that all of our rooms are comfortable. From your description of the room, it sounds as if you stayed in one of our Standard rooms. This is true that these are the smallest rooms on the property. They are designed to accommodate a party of 1 or 2, who would like to enjoy all the benefits of Coronado while traveling on a tight budget. Our Standard rooms are one of the most budget friendly room types on the island. However, should you want more space in your room, then I would suggest booking a Deluxe room or one of the suites. These rooms cost only slightly more than the Standard, however they afford you more space. Additionally we are always running specials on the suites throughout the year. Feel free to visit our Promotions page of the El Cordova website, to find the latest deals.

Thanks again for the review and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.7 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $172 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cordova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing