We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel!!!”
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband was in SD on business and brought us (me and 21 month old) for a little vacation. We were upgraded to a HUGE, beautiful room (room 41) upon our arrival. We were impressed with the atmosphere (a spanish flair and beautiful little courtyard), the rooms were huge, the beds were the best EVER! The hotel staff were first rate and took care of our every need immediately and professional. Probably our only complaint is that it would be nice if the rooms were insulated enough that you couldn't hear EVERYTHING that is going on in the beautiful courtyard outside the room (although I don't blame people for congregating down there and visiting...it is beautiful)! That would NOT discourage us from coming here again next year when my husband's convention is in town! It was close to some awesome shops, restaurants, and coffee shops. The Mexican food in the restaurant in the complex is FIRST RATE! We had an excellent experience and will recommend El Cordova to anyone who will be visiting SD or Coronado Island!

Room Tip: A room off the courtyard would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxanne Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 732 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

We loves the El Cordova Hotel! From check-in to check-out, it was a pleasurable experience. The on-site and nearby shopping was a huge plus that made a quick run for a honeymoon breakfast in bed possible.

Room Tip: Ours was by the pool and seemed to be the best room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sucatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a great experience for your honeymoon. Hopefully you will think of us again for your 5 or 10 year anniversary! Then you would be able to try out the brand new French creperie on property. The name of the place is Fabrison’s and they specialize in breakfast.

Thanks again for staying with us. Congratulations to the both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My family and I travel to Coronado every summer and have stayed at several different hotels. Our latest stay at the El Cordova was the best so far.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pa226p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at the El Cordova in the Casa Grande suite for my daughter’s wedding in May 2012. I cannot say enough good things about our stay! We stayed for 6 days and it was the perfect place and the perfect wedding! First of all, the suite is perfect for all of the bridal party to get dressed in and for pictures. It’s around 1800 sq ft. My daughter even laid in the antique claw bathtub in her wedding dress for pictures. We had the wedding on the beach at the Del Coronado and promenaded down the street with the bride, walking from the hotel, it was breathtaking. We had the rehearsal dinner at the hotel in the courtyard and everything was perfect and beautiful! Staying in the suite provided a separate private entrance for us to have our privacy and for the bride and family. I suggest renting out the whole floor that has two or three other rooms on the same private floor as the Casa Grande suite. Micah the hotel manager was awesome, as was Christine the front desk attendant. All of the front desk gentlemen that set up the rehearsal dinner went over and beyond and made the night even more special in the courtyard. Christine went over and beyond all of our requests and helped in every possible way to make our stay comfortable. The shops and the restaurants in the hotel make one feel like they are in another country and we felt safe the whole time. One of the workers from the Mexican restaurant even cut up our cantaloupe for us when we had a barbeque in the courtyard one day. The happy hour at the sea food restaurant downstairs is great and reasonably priced as well. We had the wedding reception at the community center on the bay and it was a perfect walk from the hotel. We rented bikes from Lil Sam downstairs for the whole wedding crew every day and went around the island and loved seeing the sites. Just ask him where some of the cool spots are to visit and say Anthony from Arizona and the May wedding sent you! Most all of the rooms are unique and recently renovated with old world charm and antiques. All of the guest stayed at the hotel and had a great time at the beach and walking over to the Del to enjoy all of the concerts on the beach and activities they have daily. Something for everyone to do!! We hope to return for our 30 yr. wedding anniversary. Again, a wonderful pleasant experience!!! Anthony & Cheryl Luttrull

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is a reasonably priced oasis in a high priced desert. If you enjoy staying in a property with character this is the spot. The two bedroom suite with the kitchen is lovely. the one bedroom units might fall in the "funky" category but the PRICE is right.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you are a bathroom snob. Bathrooms are tiny. Stay here if you are tired of to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthevansidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Our family stayed at El Cordova in May of 2012. I would highly recommend this hotel for families. It has a nice courtyard, where you can grab dinner outside, a delicious Mexican restaurant adjacent to the hotel (which is located literally within the courtyard), a pool and a hot tub (great for kids!), and is about 5 min walk from the beach. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at El Cordova very much, and we would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have become accustomed to the "unique" venue of El Cordova. It is a 100 year old hotel, but is well kept. The location is perfect. Directly across the street from the beach. AND, upstairs from our favorite Mexican eatery, Miguel's. Everything on the island is a short walk, so you can leave your car parked in the underground garage for most of your trip.

Room Tip: If you are like us, we spend very little time in the room. All of the rooms are good. Go for the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred_Erickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
209 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
1 mi away
Coronado Inn
Coronado Inn
#14 of 17 in Coronado
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $174 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cordova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing