We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“New Years Eve stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“New Years Eve stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We are local Californians and only live 1 hr 45 min from Coronado Island. This was our first stay at Coronado Marriott and stayed here over New Years Eve. We were not able to get a Bayview room but even so we enjoyed our room and this Marriott very much. We were on the second floor overlooking a pond with fountain and ducks as well as the spa building and lap pool. Sure a Bay view would have been much better but it was still a pleasant view. The service at the front desk was great and the Bell Boy taking us to our room could not have been more helpful and nice. He noticed that we had a ice chest and champagne and after taking us with our luggage to our room he filled our ice chest and the ice bucket in the room with ice. He went the extra mile for sure. We noticed that there was only 1 bathrobe and we wanted some extra shampoo. I called and within 10 minutes the second robe and extra bath items arrived. We love the product they provide. It is the Orange Ginger Aromatherapy line from Bath and Body shop. The room was a good size with with nice modern furniture, very comfortable bed, pillows and linens. It had everything one would expect from a Marriott. The bathroom was nice and the shower was really good. There is also a very comfortable sitting area in the room and we wanted to start our evening with champagne. I called for champagne glasses and they were delivered in 20 minutes. We were very pleased with the service. The grounds of the hotel are very nice with Flamingos, ducks and all sorts of other birds around. Nicely landscaped with lots of ponds and water features and great views of the bay and the San Diego skyline. The pool was heated to 80. The bar and restaurant looked very inviting with nice views of the bay and lots of people were having a good time all around there. There is a nice walkway in front of the hotel along the bay that leads to the ferry and area with little shops and nice restaurants. Right in front of the hotel is a boat dock where the little Marriott boat takes you over to Seaport Village for $6 one way per person charged to the room. It is double the price of the ferry but we had fun going over to SD with it and later took the ferry back to Coronado. From the place where the boat drops you off it is a 15 minute walk to the MSS Midway Aircraft carrier. We took a tour and it was very interesting. I would say a must see when in the area. The sweet Lady at the front desk went the extra mile making our New Years Eve a great one. We asked her for some tips on restaurants and what the best way was to get to the Hotel Del Coronado where we wanted to start our evening at the Babcock & Story Bar (we are Babcock's). She not only recommended an amazing Italian restaurant called Vigilucci but also called and made reservations for us on the spot. Than she called the Marriott Towncar Limo to see if he could squeeze us into his schedule. The towncar took us to Hotel Del for only $10 and we arrived there in style. It looked beautiful with all the lights and it was really crowded. We were glad that we stayed at the Marriott where it was more relaxed and come. We highly recommend Vigilucci for a meal. The food was amazing and authentic Northern Italian. (we know as we spent lots of time in Italy) The restaurant has a very good atmosphere and life music in their big Bar area. We will be back at the Coronado Island Marriott this Spring for sure.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Munichchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    455
    136
    48
    25
See reviews for
397
353
31
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

I stayed at the Marriott Coronado Island Resort on December 18th. I am a local and I have been wanting to stay there for a long time. I chose December to enjoy the holiday lights and decorations and to celebrate my husband's birthday. The hotel did not disappoint. My husband and I stayed in a lovely, bayview room with the most gorgeous view of the Coronado Bay Bridge and looking across the bay to downtown. Awesome!. The room was very large with a comfortable sitting area; flat screen tv and a fantastic bathroom. We enjoyed late night cocktails in the lobby bar which were wonderful and had a great breakfast the next morning with the most attentive staff. The grounds are lovely. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTierman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

I expect more from a Marriott. Beautiful location in Coronado, but needs a makeover.
The rooms smell like dirty, old carpeting. The furniture is dated and there is a counter in the room that kind of awkwardly cuts the room in half.
The glasses in the bathroom were obviously dirty.
All the employees are really nice and the location is wonderful.
Fix the place up Marriott!!!
The place is overpriced and they charge $22.00 for parking and $13.00 for internet.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w0rldtraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Marriott Coronado! We got checked in promptly, and they put us in two adjoining and connected bedrooms. The rooms were spacious (2 double bed, a twin sleeper chair, a bar area, and a work desk) and faced the bay. The bathrooms were also large (almost as large as the room(!)).

We had a great deal which included free internet, free parking and $60 credit per night. We used the credit on room service (yummy breakfast with pancakes, huevos rancheros, waffles, fruits and more) and dinner at the restaurant facing the bay.

The location was very convenient. It was close to the ferry station, restaurants and shops. The grounds were very nicely kept with lots of green lawn, pools, and courtyards filled with birds and koi ponds. Note though this hotel is not adjacent to the Hotel Coronado, it only is a few miles away (aprox. 15 minutes by car).

The kids loved the pools, and the grandparents love walking along the bay, watching the ships sail by, and enjoying the cool crisp air.

All in all, it was a great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed Oct. 20-27 and had a very positive experience. We stayed in a bayview room which was clean, well equipped and comfortable. The views across the bay to downtown San Diego are awesome. We spent more than a few occasions sitting out on our balcony watching the boats on the bay and people watching along the popular waterfront boardwalk that passes in front of the property.
Staff at the hotel from the front desk. restaurant, lounge and housekeeping were all friendly and professional. The concierges gave us great help and tips on what to see in the area and how to get there.

The hotel water taxi only operates on weekends at this time of year but it was a nice convenience. The hotel is within walking distance to the ferry terminal and there is a bus stop in front of the main entrance. We were without a car and used all of these modes of transportation as well as taxis and had no trouble getting around on the island and in the city.

We found the island residents to be very friendly. We had strangers walking up to us to offer help on directions without us asking. The island itself is a scenic, peaceful respite. We are so glad we chose this over the noisy, bustling downtown hotel zone. (yes, we are well beyond the nightclubbing years).

One exception to the peace: the navy choppers flying regular exercises over the bay. They are noisy but impressive to watch along with all the navy ships in the area.

All in all we had a great time and would return to the Coronado Marriott in a flash.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ontariosunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

excellent hotel with large rooms, good service, all what one could need while away from home, lovely pools and hot tub, pretty gardens with even flamingoes and ducks
quiet location with superb views across the bay to downtown, never closed my curtains at night...
yet just a few minutes walk and a ferry ride across from Convention Center and broadway, downtown
for me just perfect!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

I stayed here for work for five days. They gave me a room overlooking the city right on the bay. Everything was great, the customer service, the room was beautiful. Even though I was right next to the boardwalk, it was still quiet for sleeping.
outstanding place! Stay here!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_mom_with_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
1.0 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#70 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,215 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa

Property: Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa
Address: 2000 Second Street, Coronado, CA 92118-1551
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing