We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July Fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
La Mesa, California
1 review
“4th of July Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

great, family place to stay!! we had wonderful, spacious accommodations with a view of the bay. wonderfully patriotic place to spend the 4th of July weekend!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tightt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    481
    142
    48
    25
See reviews for
419
382
32
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

My sister and I just stayed at the Marriott Resort in Coronado July 16-18. We stayed in one of the 3-story towers that is closer to coronado bridge (so southernmost). We stayed on the 3rd floor and I would highligh recommend staying on the 3rd floor, and in the southernmost tower, which give you a view of the Coronado Bridge and an unobstructed view of the San Diego Skyline. We were in room 381 and Loved It. Being on the 3rd floor is the most private... but if you have a family and you don't get privacy anyways, staying on the first floor might be fun because you can just walk out tyour slider and into the grass and onto the bay path... but beware there is some pretty heavy traffic if you're in the towers surrounding the pool.

One thing to keep in mind is that the Silver Strand beach is over a mile away, and walking really isn't an option. We rented bikes both days were there and it was a perfect way to travel... tehre is a great path that runs right under the Coronado bridge.. but it doesn't take you right to the beach... you do have to cross the road at the end, otherwise you'll be on an 18 mile loop. I'm kind of an impatient person, so take this advice with a grain of salt, but I owuld not rent one of the covered surrey's bikes that hold 4 people and a small dog. They move so slow, for safety reasons, that it looked like it would take a hundred years to get down to the beach. I guess it would be fun for just a short pedal down to the ferry landing.

All in all, we totally loved it!!!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TakingAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

My husband had to attend to a conference in San Diego at the end of June and I was looking for a hotel both well-located to visit the city and suited to spend some relaxing days. This hotel fully satisfied my expectations. It is a resort located on Coronado Island just in front of the San Diego Convention Centre. There is an efficient water taxi service arranged by the hotel that brings to the San Diego Seaport Village in few minutes. From the very nice pool you can enjoy an outstanding view of the San Diego skyline. Moreover there are many nice restaurants on the water’s edge walking distance from the hotel . The rooms and the service are what you expect for an hotel of this category and the rates are definitely convenient compared to similar hotels located on San Diego bayside.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CiccioSkeggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

My wife and I will stay at the Coronado Marriott whenever we visit the San Diego area. The rates are very reasonable, the view is wonderful, nice heated pool - I could go on and on. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. Tip - use the street parking and avoid the $22 per day self-parking or $29 per day valet parking. Wonderful place!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rr1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

We started our 6 week road trip through California with a 5 day stay at Coronado. What an excellent way to start our trip! We got a room at the end of the South Wing on the first floor (Room 194). The room was clean, updated, spacious and the balcony was huge (more like a patio!) with a beautiful view of the downtown San Diego skyline and only steps away from the boardwalk to the Ferry Landing. Our room had two queen beds with a twin sleeper sofa. Even with the sleeper sofa opened for our 10 year old we had plenty of room for a roll-away bed for our 12 year old. We each had our own bed and were very comfortable. The seperate soaker tub in the bathroom was great! The only cons were a very small fridge and no microwave plus the room only came with one robe. What can I say, we fell in love with Marriott Coronado! It is worth getting a room with a view of the San Diego bay. The balconies on the first floor are bigger than the ones on the second floor and the smallest ones are on the third floor. The first night we took the ferry to downtown and saw a Padres game at the Petco Park. They had a special ferry rate of only $3.75 on game night. We took a bicycle taxi from the harbor to the ball park and felt safe walking back to the harbor at 11:00 PM. The second day we rented bikes and biked around and across the "island". We enjoyed visiting the Pacific beach by the Hotel Del Coronado but prefered the view from our hotel at Marriott.

The hotel pool was great. The pool is heated and the kids played in it for hours each day. There was a pool basket ball net and pool volleyball net in the pool and our kids quickly found other kids to play games with. The pool area has a great restaurant, a ping pong table, a chess table, and a relaxing and spacious steamy hot hot tub.

The hotel exceeded our expectations. Self-parking was $22 per day but it was easy to park in the basement with plenty of parking and only a short elevator ride from the room. Here are the only cons we found:
- fitness room and lap pool was only for adults (18 yrs and older); our kids are 10 and 12 and our 12 year old needed to do cardio and weights for his football summer workout schedule. We jogged on the boardwalk and used the nereby picnic and baseball park instead.
- not able to print tickets from our room where we were charged $13/day for internet access. For an additional $13 we could have used the business center instead but didn't want to have to pay for both.
- concierge did not have the best deals; offered tickets to Legoland for 4 for $328 - that is the posted online rate. Stopped by Carl's Jr. and got a coupon and got the kids tickets for free (paid $158 instead of $328). Legoland is not worth over $300 for any family!

Tip:
Go sailing in the bay! We sailed with www.sailusa11.com for $100/adult and $50/child. The best spent money during our stay in Coronado. An experience for a lifetime!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katym0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed on Coronado Island at the Marriott for three days in February this year. Although somewhat pricey, it was a great experience, from start to finish. We were upgraded from a standard room to a bay view -- our patio overlooked the Bay Bridge and city skyline. The room was well-maintained, clean and spacious. The walking and biking trail runs just outside the hotel and we enjoyed renting bikes and exploring. The bike rental was through the spa, and their staff was particularly helpful and friendly. All of the staff was courteous and accomodating. We saved high parking fees by finding a spot on the street with no problem. One disappointment was that the water taxi we had read about didn't seem to be operating, perhaps due to the time of year. Coronado is just delightful. We enjoyed Coronado Brewing Company brewpub. Amazing breakfast at Crown City Bistro (small, chaotic but wonderful food!). Dinner at Boat House was just ok. Highly recommend the Marriott as a good base for enjoying all the Coronado offers!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wherenext01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

We just completed our stay at the Marriott Coronado Island resort. I have stayed with Marriott many many times and I have to say that this property does not measure up to a Marriott Property. While the location and the Staff are superb, the rest of the property was lacking. It was not extremely obvious, however, its the little things that add up over the entire stay. The health club was very much in need of attention. It costs $25.00 to use the health club and it is aweful. The carpet needed to be replaced 10 years ago and the Sauna in the mens locker room was out of service.
Again the staff and location was great, but it does not measure up to a Marriott resort property.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 2000 Second Street, Coronado, CA 92118-1551 (Formerly Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa)
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views of the San Diego skyline from the balcony of your newly renovated luxury suite. Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa provides a comfortable atmosphere for relaxation and renewal with a variety of luxurious on-site features. Explore our tranquil beach community by renting a bike, basking on sun-filled beaches or taking a day trip into San Diego to see the famous zoo. Guests will discover convenience to beautiful sandy beaches, shopping and fine dining at Ferry Landing. After the day is done, return to our Coronado Island resort to relax in luxury with oversized bath tubs, down comforters and plush beds with cotton-rich linens. Flat-panel TVs, connectivity panels and high-speed Internet access keep guest well-entertained. Dine in for the freshest seafood at our restaurant, Current, offering innovative drinks and breathtaking views. Our San Diego luxury resort also boasts breathtaking indoor/outdoor event spaces with over 26,000 square feet for your dream wedding or conference event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing