We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
La Avenida Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$200
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$254
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Cordova Hotel(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$279
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel del Coronado(Coronado)
$399
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
1906 Lodge(Coronado)
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Capri by the Sea(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$219
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glorietta Bay Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
$215
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
El Rancho Motel(Coronado)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,469)
Filter reviews
1,469 results
Traveler rating
671
552
168
52
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
671
552
168
52
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater taxicoronado islandferry landingsan diegowalking pathbay viewtennis courtsconvention centerseaport villagegaslamp quarterself parkingsofa bedbike rentalssmall fridgerooms are largefire pitnice property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,344 - 1,349 of 1,469 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights pre-cruise last November. We loved our Villa. It was nicely furnished nothing worn or outdated, the bathroom was pristine and the back patio that opened onto the duck pond was cool for watching ducks. The grounds looked great and we almost booked with the spa. The staff seemed friendly and were very helpful. It would be nice to go back to see more of Coronado and actually use the resorts services. (We didn't even use our kitchenette.) The room prices are pretty high, but we had enough Rewards points to pay for our stay. We got a really good deal and that was definitely a reason to love this place.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephaniePea44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2006

My husband and I spent the long 4th of July weekend (4nts) at the Coronado Marriott Resort. This is our first stay at this resort. Granted, the location is excellent and the grounds are immaculate. The other good thing is the food. I thought the food at the resort was excellent if overpriced. We ate a breakfast, lunch and a buffet dinner at the resort and all were very good. Now the bad; we requested a upper floor, non-smoking room. We also payed the premium for a bayview room. What we got was the 1st floor, smoking, with a view facing south towards the bridge and dockyards. Not exactly what I had in mind, but I figured they were probably full for the holiday and this was the best they could do. We are pretty easy going folks. Now the ugly; we had just driven all day from Tucson and I was looking forward to taking a cool shower. There was no cold water in the shower! No matter what my husband and I did, we could not get the shower down to a non-scalding temperature. So we took baths instead (luckily the 2 are seperate) We called maintenance and they said they would send someone to look at it the next morning. They called and woke us up at 8:30am to see if maintenance could look at our shower. We were on vacation and wanted to sleep in a bit so I asked if they could come around noon instead. Ten minutes later the maid knocked on our door twice within 15minutes saying she got a message that we needed more towels (not true) so we figured we better get up and let in maintenance. We took the $5pp 1-way Marriott ferry over into San Diego and toured the Midway aircraft carrier and did some shopping. We returned to our room all hot and sweaty to find the knob removed from our shower. We called maintenance again and they said they had to go get a part for the shower and would fix it the next day. They offered to contact the front desk to see if we could move to another room, but we declined, not wanting the hassle of packing up and moving to another room right then. We took baths again. The next day we got up early anyway and went to the Wild Animal Park all day. We got back late all tired and wanting cool showers. The shower was completely torn up and parts laying everywhere. The bathroom floor had grease and grime all over it and I was pretty upset, but too exhausted to do anything. The next morning I went down to the front desk and explained the problem to them. They immediately told us we could move to a second floor room that was ready. I told them we were on our way out to watch the Coronado 4th of July parade and we would move to another room when we returned. When we returned, they said our 3rd floor room was not ready yet and we would have to wait 2 to 3 hours to move. We went ahead and packed all our stuff, and then went down and had lunch. The front desk said they would call my cell phone (I provided the #) when the room was ready. 2 hours later after no phone call, we checked at the front desk again and a different staff person said that the room was ready and he had already moved our things to the new room. He spun it to sound like it was courtesy, but I didn't appreciate having our things moved without our knowledge! The new room was directly above the old one so we had the same view, but this rooom smelled alot better and gratefully the shower worked! I was finally able to wash my hair on our last night there. Management did reimburse us the $17 a day parking fee which is outrageous anyway. This resort was not worth the price we paid ($355) a night, even for a holiday weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pooh219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2006

Spent a fantastic week in San Diego! We had a great opportunity to visit several Marriott hotels in the area (for other reviews from this trip check out Marina Marriott, Courtyard San Diego Downtown, and Gas Lamp Marriott)

The Coronado Island Marriott is a fine property. Its location is great right on the water facing downtown and near the San Diego – Coronado Island Bridge, excellent views.

It’s also near the Ferry Landing Market place, and has a shuttle stop out in front of the hotel ($1).

The rooms are pretty standard for Marriott, feel a little older, and were mostly clean (some carpet stains). Nice large bathroom and comfy bed.

The lobby area and public spaces were nice, didn’t get a chance to check out the restaurants.

The pool area was very nice, one good sized pool lots of lounge chairs overlooking the water, there was a bar and food service in the pool area as well. However the pool was like bathwater, not very refreshing.

In my opinion this hotel is an ok choice, it needs a good renovation and has the potential to be first class. For what you get the standard rates seem to be too high.

There is a water taxi that runs between the Coronado Island Marriott and the Marina Marriott for $5 each way.

"Above average" rating based on similar type hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EscapeMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2006

My husband surprised me for our anniversary & booked a villa (suite) this past weekend. Unfortunately, we didn't get our room until after 5:30pm!!! Not a good way to start our quick stay. As we walked around we were impressed with the grounds, ponds, streams, pool, etc. They are very well maintained. We decided to wait by the pool as they were finishing our room. The main pool is nice but was very crowded and no chairs were available. We found a smaller & very quiet pool right next to our villa. What a wonderful find!!

Our room was nicely decorated. Bed was very comfortable & cozy. Huge bathroom, great tub too. The shower did have some black stuff (mold) at the bottom which we were surprised to see. The tile was outdated but overall it was very nice. We had a coffee maker, mini frig & mircrowave in the room which were nice but we only used the coffee maker.

We played tennis too. The courts are a bit old but it was still fun. We were very impressed with the fitness center. Modern nice equipment plus free weights, big exercise ball, etc.

The location is awesome! Walking distance to so many things, boardwalk, beach, restaurants, shops, etc. We loved the area by the ferry dock. Friday & Saturdays, musicians/bands play. People would hang out on the grass, listen to the music & relax.

We had dinner at Peohe's. Very nice but spendy. Highly recommend reservations.

We enjoyed brunch at Hotel Del. It was an amazing spread of food. Very very expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ocvbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2006

Great location on Coronado with fantastic views of San Diego across the bay. We liked it better off the beaten path compared to the Del where the crowds made it a zoo. The staff was very accomodating and nice. Concierge could use an upgrade, the default answer was touting a property restaurant rather than being independent. We liked the driving directions cards for almost all SD area attractions.

This is the most un-Marriott property I've seen. It is only three stories tall and the buildings really blend into the surroundings. Nice, but shallow, pool great for younger kids. Plenty of water sports and bike rentals on proerty. Great restaurants at the ferry landing just a few steps away.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JadedDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews