We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We weren't at the Resort much but I do want to share some tips for when you visit.

Park on the street. We never paid for parking at all.

Albertson's is a few blocks away,
along with quite a few restaurants.

You can walk out the back of the hotel and there is a huge walking/bike path that leads to restaurants, a little shopping, and lots of bakeries, ice cream shops.

The restaurant we loved was IL Fornaio. It's a CA chain, but fabulous food and views. We sat outside on the open patio with heaters and it was breathtaking to see San Diego lit up at night.
Carlos was our beyond fabulous waiter. You can absolutely walk to there on the path.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BhamJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    479
    140
    48
    25
See reviews for
418
373
32
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We love this hotel. It is in a great location on Coronado - within walking distance to a huge park and the ferry landing. There is also an Albertsons close by - which is cool since our room had a small fridge. Staff is super nice. I highly recommend it!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank WazzMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Upon arrival, the doormen could see we had traveled a long way and immediately offered their help to empty our car and show us to the front desk. Check in was quick and easy. The property was very clean. Compliments to the maid service who made our room look beautiful every day. The hotel was located right off the San Diego-Coronado Bridge and very easy to get to. You can take a 5 minute walk along the water to restaurants and shopping. The pool and gym were very nice as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_Curtis319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, IL
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Family of four in a villa. The villa itself was spacious and offered us plenty of room to spread out. King bed was very comfy. We requested a rollaway, so our boys each had a bed. (pull out couch is in the room). Kitchenette was nice. Bathroom was large and updated. The rug was a little tired.

Location is great. We walked over to Ferry Landing for dinner one night. Coronado is a small island so nothing is really "far".

Called around noon for early check. Our room was "vacant" but hadn't been made up yet. No problem. Arrived at hotel at 3pm (check in is at 4pm). We were told that the room wasn't ready yet -- when I said I called earlier, the front desk woman said that don't rush the room until the party arrives. She also said they were completely booked and behind on the rooms. I had requested the rollaway in advance - she said it would arrive later. Whatever.

Rented bikes from the spa to kill time. This was great - we explored the island, meandered up and down the side streets - rode up to the Hotel Del (didn't go in, though). The woman at the spa was great. Too bad I don't remember her name - she was the most helpful out of everyone. Bikes were $10 per hour - extra for basket and locks. We had the bikes for around 90 minutes and she only charged us for the hour since it was late in the day and we were the last rental. Nice.

Got into the room around 5pm. if we Only two sets of towels in bathroom. Called for more - they never showed. Called two more times - and they said they were very busy - hotel is sold out. We all needed showers - so I just walked over to the spa right next door and grabbed a couple more. (not sure if this is allowed, but no one said anything). Saw a rollaway leaving the room next door and asked the housekeeper if they could just put it in our room. Didn't want to take the chance that it wouldn't show up since they were so "busy". She was very nice and came back within 10 minutes to make it up for us.

The strange thing was, that although the resort was "sold out" - it didn't really seem like there were many people around.

Stopped by the restaurant for a quick drink before dinner. Sat outside - only one table was occupied and waiter never came over to greet us. Decided this wasn't a good sign so we just walked over to Ferry Landing for dinner.

Spent the next day bike riding at Mission Beach. This was great fun. Had breakfast before we left - just OK. Very expensive - but this is to be expected at a resort property. ($25 for the buffet - worth about $15) Ordered a couple of appetizers for dinner (room service). Nothing to write home about - but the food came relatively quickly and the food was hot.

Check out was simple.

Overall a good stay.

I would give 3.5 for the room (was dated - rug needs replacing and outdoor patio needed to be cleaned better). But the size was great for our family of 4.

A 3 for service - it was spotty.

3.5 for food.

5 for location.

We had a package with parking and internet included. However, I would have not been happy at all to pay $25 for self park and $12 for internet per night. That's kind of ridiculous.

Value was good since we had this package - but I would have rated it lower had we paid these extra charges.

Room Tip: Villas great - parking just outside for easy in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

San Diego is one of those perfect vacation cities, and Coronado is a beautiful spot to base your trip. The hotel and villas are very close to the Coronado bridge, and a lovely walking / running path runs right along the edge of the property by the water.

We laughed out loud when we walked into the villa we'd booked -- it was large, comfortable and had a fantastic view of the water, San Diego skyline and bridge. The villas are a perfect size -- nice kitchen with mini-fridge and microwave, dining area, large living room with a pull-out sleeper couch, and a bedroom with two double beds. The bathroom is huge and storage is incorporated into a number of rooms (wall of closets in bedroom, etc.).

This would be a perfect base for a family or group -- quiet, peaceful, spacious and well-appointed. There is a large supermarket and shops nearby as well.

If you're looking for a self-catering location in San Diego / Coronado, give this serious consideration. We were really happy here and are considering coming back to San Diego simply to stay here!

Room Tip: There are two rows of villas separated by a quiet access street; the villas that face the bay have w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 7ContinentsX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have been to Coronado many times, it is one of our favorite places in the summer to get away from the arizona heat. It was our first time to stay at the Marriott. The staff was exceptional in getting us checked in and making us feel at home. We liked the location (but anywhere on coronado is walkable if you enjoy walking which we do). It was less crowded at this end of the island. We thought the hotel was great, the only negative which was slight was the carpet in our room was a little worn out which did not match the rest of the hotel. Please don't misunderstand this, we would and will stay there again, just trying to give an honest review. The grounds were very nice. We did not pay for parking, you can park on the street and if you walk, you won't have to get into it again until you leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach VA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This resort is beautiful, nothing else I can say about that. The staff, especially the coffee ladies were all exceptionally friendly and accommodating. This Marriott resort certainly deserves a rating of 5 which I would have given except for a few things. My biggest issue was the lack of high speed internet unless you wish to pay $13 a day. They have a free system which is very slow and disconnects often. In this day and age, most hotels offer free internet to their guests. Perhaps eliminate the USA Today and Wall Street journal and offer internet instead. I found it very inconvenient to use my iPad and I don't have a smart phone so it was like a disconnect from the world. We have friends and relative in the area so we didn't suffer too much but I'm sure others have. This problem is a common issue at most of the Marriott hotels and something management should certainly address. Yes, I know the like the extra incomes but it would be better to slightly raise rates and include this important feature as it is something that often makes us select other chains. Next is the parking situation which does offer parking on site but at a cost of $30 a day. I understand this is a resort but I have found Marriott does this even in remote areas. Of course we simply parked on the street for free however I doubt this is possible in season.

Finally the lack of complimentary coffee which is something every hotel should provide.

The grounds are fantastic and everything is spotless. The views are amazing of downtown sand Diego and the Coronado bridge. I would certainly stay here again.

The restaurant was really nice however rather expensive. I find $25 for the buffet breakfast to be excessive.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms and both were great. I suppose if you are planning to hang out in t...
See more room tips
Green Features: As is the practice in most hotels, I could see where the Marriott was using as many environmentally friendly options as possible.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vbdenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 2000 Second Street, Coronado, CA 92118-1551 (Formerly Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa)
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views of the San Diego skyline from the balcony of your newly renovated luxury suite. Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa provides a comfortable atmosphere for relaxation and renewal with a variety of luxurious on-site features. Explore our tranquil beach community by renting a bike, basking on sun-filled beaches or taking a day trip into San Diego to see the famous zoo. Guests will discover convenience to beautiful sandy beaches, shopping and fine dining at Ferry Landing. After the day is done, return to our Coronado Island resort to relax in luxury with oversized bath tubs, down comforters and plush beds with cotton-rich linens. Flat-panel TVs, connectivity panels and high-speed Internet access keep guest well-entertained. Dine in for the freshest seafood at our restaurant, Current, offering innovative drinks and breathtaking views. Our San Diego luxury resort also boasts breathtaking indoor/outdoor event spaces with over 26,000 square feet for your dream wedding or conference event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing