We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach VA
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Top notch resort”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This resort is beautiful, nothing else I can say about that. The staff, especially the coffee ladies were all exceptionally friendly and accommodating. This Marriott resort certainly deserves a rating of 5 which I would have given except for a few things. My biggest issue was the lack of high speed internet unless you wish to pay $13 a day. They have a free system which is very slow and disconnects often. In this day and age, most hotels offer free internet to their guests. Perhaps eliminate the USA Today and Wall Street journal and offer internet instead. I found it very inconvenient to use my iPad and I don't have a smart phone so it was like a disconnect from the world. We have friends and relative in the area so we didn't suffer too much but I'm sure others have. This problem is a common issue at most of the Marriott hotels and something management should certainly address. Yes, I know the like the extra incomes but it would be better to slightly raise rates and include this important feature as it is something that often makes us select other chains. Next is the parking situation which does offer parking on site but at a cost of $30 a day. I understand this is a resort but I have found Marriott does this even in remote areas. Of course we simply parked on the street for free however I doubt this is possible in season.

Finally the lack of complimentary coffee which is something every hotel should provide.

The grounds are fantastic and everything is spotless. The views are amazing of downtown sand Diego and the Coronado bridge. I would certainly stay here again.

The restaurant was really nice however rather expensive. I find $25 for the buffet breakfast to be excessive.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms and both were great. I suppose if you are planning to hang out in t...
See more room tips
Green Features: As is the practice in most hotels, I could see where the Marriott was using as many environmentally friendly options as possible.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbdenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    508
    154
    50
    25
See reviews for
457
401
33
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Third time at the property over a few year span. We just returned from a 6 day stay. Yes the parking fee is high and the hotel has some age on it but you cannot beat the large rooms, the great service by all members of the staff, and the views. We had a Bayview room and it is just incredible for day and night views. We sat on the patio balcony every chance we could, which was alot, because we had great weather during the whole stay. This property has great landscaping with ponds and flamingos. The location makes it easy to get anywhere on Coronado and to downtown San Diego. The water taxi's are a big time saver. From the pool area, spa and workout center, they have it all. The price was a bargin for a property with all they have to offer. Outside noise does travel into the room but it is to be expected with the outside corridors. This hotel has charm and service that far outweighs the few flaws that can be found. Cannot wait to get back.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay View you will not be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We spent 5 nights here after a cruise down the west coast of america. We really loved coronado island and enjoyed the stay at the marriot - lovely pool area and nice spacious room - we has a resort view room which looked onto a duck pond and had the sun on the balcony for most of the day - i actually preferred this to the bay view or pool view options. Good facilities - several tennis courts, a small but well equipped gym and comfortable sun loungers with free towels. The hotel was quiet the first couple of days but was busy near the end of our stay as there was a wedding and a conference on. The pool bar wasnt open on the quiet days, but opened when the resort was busier.

It was a good location for the ferry over to san diego downtown and there were a number of restaurants within easy walking distance.

Only downside was that wifi wasnt free which i thought was unusual in a hotel of this standard. The bar prices were a bit steep in the hotel, but overall we really liked it and would stay here again if we returned to this area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I traveled to visit family in San Diego....and when our primary location was not available to us, I chose this hotel. It was very nice, both inside and out. Staff were responsive and attentive. The room was upgraded to a bay view upon our arrival and for that I upgraded the review from 3 to 4 bubbles. The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable and there was both a very deep bathtub and a separate shower. The shower door took a bit of muscle to open, and the noise generated as it was opened could wake the dead. The toilet was extremely low and small. The patio needed a bit of love and kindness as it was dirty......and the flower/potting areas had nothing in them.....

For those that use internet, you could get internet on a free basis, but it was not easy to navigate to open and it was very slow. There was a pay option but the stay was already expensive as it was. The next bone of contention: the $25 per night parking.

In all, I would not stay there again. But the staff and service rated the better rating.

Room Tip: The nightly view of the bay was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ski W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

just came back from an overnight stay - we live in san diego and my boyfriend's holiday party was here - the rooms were so pretty and we had an amazing view of the bay. very quiet too which we really enjoyed and fabulous rooms. we'd definitely go back. only thing - there's no starbucks on the property which the marriotts i've stayed at before have had - the mochas said $5 each on the room service menu so we ordered 2 - they tasted terrible, no chocolate! and with the delivery fee the 2 mochas were $18. other than that the room was amazing, romantic, and definitely a place i'd want to go back to! (my boyfriend's holiday party was fun, too :) )

Room Tip: rooms on the north side are quiet and have beautiful views of the bay - we were in room 245 and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omgmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed overnight for a business-related event. The room was large and comfortably appointed with a private patio, and a stunning view across San Diego Bay. A separate shower and deep bathtub were nice amenities, plus a low granite topped bar in the main room was a handy drop point for bags, packages, room keys, and as a dressing/makeup area. Room details were well thought out and plenty of electrical power points provided. Staff was pleasant and efficient. Coronado is always charming, but even more so at Christmas when the neighborhood's electic homes are decorated with Holiday greens and lights. The central traffic island down Orange Ave (main street) leading to the Hotel del Coronado features year-round live fir trees which are decorated and lit for the season. Weather was rainy, but not so much as to dampen our spirits. Overall, our short stay was a welcome respite from the clamor and bustle of the holidays. As Southern Californians, we much prefer the coast during off-season/winter breaks that allow us to feel renewed and refreshed to the predictably crowded summer season. Ideally located on the quieter east side of the island, the resort is a little way from the village center, but still convenient for restaurants, shops, etc. Bike rentals, trolley and ferry rides provide additional transportation options.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnImpette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The rating would have been lower except the view is beautiful; on the water looking across at San Diego (not an ocean view.) The location is right on a walkway along the water which we loved. The room was older with a tiny dorm size fridge that didn't work. The tile in the bath was very cracked and needed to be replaced. The air conditioner did not cool adequately. The hotel needs a face lift. The staff was very helpful and friendly and assisted us with dinner reservations that gave us very special attention at the restaurant. Unfortunately, there was an undisclosed ahead of time $25 fee for self-parking.

Room Tip: Request a third floor room along the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 278 in San Diego
4,834 reviews
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
5,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 2000 Second Street, Coronado, CA 92118-1551 (Formerly Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views of the San Diego skyline from the balcony of your newly renovated luxury suite. Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa provides a comfortable atmosphere for relaxation and renewal with a variety of luxurious on-site features. Explore our tranquil beach community by renting a bike, basking on sun-filled beaches or taking a day trip into San Diego to see the famous zoo. Guests will discover convenience to beautiful sandy beaches, shopping and fine dining at Ferry Landing. After the day is done, return to our Coronado Island resort to relax in luxury with oversized bath tubs, down comforters and plush beds with cotton-rich linens. Flat-panel TVs, connectivity panels and high-speed Internet access keep guest well-entertained. Dine in for the freshest seafood at our restaurant, Current, offering innovative drinks and breathtaking views. Our San Diego luxury resort also boasts breathtaking indoor/outdoor event spaces with over 26,000 square feet for your dream wedding or conference event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing